We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can get better”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chifa New Hong Kong
Ranked #84 of 121 Restaurants in Sucre
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can get better”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Was here at 7:30PM on week night, no one else was here. Not an uncommon feature of some of Lonely Planet's picks, unfortunately. We received menus and then were ignored for 15 minutes. The menu was uninspired for sure. Combined with the lack of patrons and the lack of service, we decided not to risk it and left (no one seemed to care). The next night we went to Restaurant Shanghai, which was awesome and full of locals, so go there instead if you are looking for a chifa.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leafrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    13
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sucre
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's Chinese alright”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

After reading some of the comments posted I think you don't know Bolivia. Bolivia is a country that has nothing, nothing. There are at least three chinese places in town. This one is far the better. I don't want to miss represent by saying the best because I've had good chinese back in the US. However, yes his menu is basic, but what do expect Pekin Duck! Remember...Bolivia. This is one place I like eating when I'm jonesing chinese. Again let me make this clear again...Bolivian's are not know for there service. Oh yeah, place is nothing to wright home about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flores_cinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Chinese Bolivian Style”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

To be honest it was typical chinese food, there was plenty of it and I enjoyed it, but it wasn't anything special. One of our party ordered the fish, but we were all pretty sure that it was a chicken substitute!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank King_of_America_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashby de la zouch
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

choice was good and food was also good and exceptional value for approx $10 per person including drinks

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Price high, quality low.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I see other reviews enthusiastically endorsing this place as "just like home", but if that's the quality of Chinese food that you have at home I feel very sorry for you indeed. You can eat better Chinese food for less money in Melbourne!

The fried dumplings came out luke warm, as did the tea. No green tea available. No Chinese vegetables (e.g. bok choi, choi sum) or, indeed, any purely vegetarian dish (we're not vegetarian, but it's nice to have some variety) was available. Meat dishes came out with that terrible, rubbery over tenderised meat (both beef and chicken) that is, admittedly, common in cheap Chinese places the world over. There were only three tables dining but it was very difficult to get any service anyway.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ElYobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chifa New Hong Kong also viewed

Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
Sucre, Chuquisaca Department
 

Been to Chifa New Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing