We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable hostel, value for money.”
Review of HI Sucre

HI Sucre
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI Sucre
Ranked #43 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in this hostel and was very impressed with the large comfortable beds and cosy duvets. Hot showers were available but it was hit and miss whether hot water would be there. Breakfast wasn't included but you could order it seperate for reasonable and it was nice and filling. Location is out a bit out if centre but still only a 15 min walk. Staff didn't have English but were extremely helpful. Would definitely stay again as is a lovely building

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahfwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 28 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

As I live here while doing voluntary work I don't actually count as normal tourist, but a couple of things I can say:
+
close to bus terminal, only 5 min walk
with about 40 BS quite cheap
shower with hot water
beautiful garden with palm trees

-
personal depending on day and person between unfriendly and incompetent (not everyone of course, but still)
depending on shower you can only turn the water up a bit before it starts getting cold
cockroaches in the kitchen, everywhere
ants in the rest of the buildung, especially bathromms
do not nuy breakfast, too expensive for what you get

Walk to the center, about 15 minutes fast walking, oder 10 minutes taking a micro, leaving one block from here.
close to the campesino (MUST SEE), the farmers market starting a couple of cuadras downhill from the hostal.

Room Tip: The dorm is cheapest but you won't be able to sleep on weekdays after 6:30/7 AM, the voluntary w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenaW95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Decent location. Hostel had problem identifying online booking from hostel world, check in therefore not smooth. Had private room that was ok size, not huge but perfectly adequate. Bathroom had good shower. Breakfast not included, have to pay extra. Reception staff not great at serving people in order of queuing and serving people who push in. Wifi good. Ok for short stay. 3

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Pros

1. It´s close to the bus terminal so when you land at 7am from La Paz and are tired it´s very easy to get to and not too far from the centre if you´re ok with walking.
2. Daytime staff were helpful and helped with speaking English when my spanish was poor.
3. Owner was friendly and willing to help you with organising tours etc (although more expensive than other avenues)
4. Nice building and courtyard and common area was tidy
5. Internet worked well during my time there. Computers were in good condition but no sound available even with my headphones for some reason.

Cons

1. Got a single room for 50Bs which would be ok if it was bigger. Was basically a box room with a table and bed although.
2. Room was located next to the bathroom which was ok when the fumes coming out of the room were of shower gel etc....at other times a strong smell of urine.
3. Discovered room to have many ants along with the bathroom next door.
4. Worst bathroom I have encountered in South America....not a problem that it was small but the floor was quite dirty when I arrived in the morning which I thought was ok at first but clearly wasn´t cleaned during the day.
5. Shower was very small and didn´t drain properly
6. I put a book on top of the mirror cupboard and the door flung open to leave a view of old mouldy toothbrushes (clearly there for a long time) and general dirtiness in the cupboard.

Next time I´ll definitely try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOS851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I spent a night in Hostal San Francisco with a friend before switching to a dorm at HI Sucre, which I had checked out when booking my friends bus ticket for the following day. It is 2 minutes from the terminal, just around the corner, which is a plus when arriving or leaving all packed up like a mule.

Being honest, if you want a place with a good traveller vibe where you can have a drink and/or get back easily after a drink in town, don't stay here...its about a 15-20 minute walk from downtown and there is nothing in the area other than the bus terminal, car part shops and greasy street food vendors. I would probably suggest checking out the German place, ICBA Wasi two blocks from the main plaza.

However, I just wanted to chill after a manic previous week and I don't mind walking to town. For this purpose, the hostel was ideal and cheaper than its more central alternatives. The manager Arturo, is incredibly friendly as is the Englishman, Barry. Both will be more than happy to help and provide useful information. I found the hostel clean and incredibly spacious, there are some huge rooms that I have no idea what they do with...when it gets busy, I imagine they could through a decent party should they so desire. The bed was comfy and each had a big locker to big your backpack, and there is a decent sized kitchen downstairs should you wish to cook your own food.

It really is quite an interesting building, with quite odd interior design for the location. If it was more central, it would likely be busier, and thus used to its full potential, in which case, I have no doubt it would be worthy of a full 5 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Owner was kind and helpful, most staff were helpful.
Location was close to the bus terminal.
Wifi didn't always work and staff wasn't always willing to fix it.
Room was quite good, but kitchen was sometimes dirty.
Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunTravelersFromVanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just stayed 5 nights at this hostel.
Our large room was like a hotel - actually better than many hotels I have stayed in.
We had our quilt and linen and fresh embroidered towels on the 3rd day, lovely soaps, and shampoo.
The manager was incredible with my son.
After a bad experience at Hosteling Int. in Arequipa, this was refreshing to stay here.
There is a mini-mart on the corner, and it is so close to the bus terminal.
A couple of local restaurants nearby.
Lovely courtyard and garden.
Easy downhill walk to the city - in fact most days we did this two times there and back.
Markets 5 blocks away.
Bed has incredible mattress and comfy quilts.
I feel like we were at a classy hotel.
Thanks for a lovely time.
We will recommend to our friends.
Note these pics are not photoshopped like I was falsely accused of by HI Arequipa. This hostel is this lovely !!

Room Tip: We loved room 12 Huge room, with fluffy quilts and a great mattress, and a huge en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curleyistops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
1.0 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#8 of 59 in Sucre
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Hotel de Su Merced
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sucre
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.2 mi away
Homestay Jorge Sucre
Homestay Jorge Sucre
#14 of 59 in Sucre
7 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Sucre

Address: Calle Guillermo Loayza 119, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your HI Sucre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing