We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! STAFF STEAL!!!!!”
Review of Amigo Hostel

Amigo Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amigo Hostel
Ranked #42 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! STAFF STEAL!!!!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hostel has ruined our trip to Bolivia. I will state the most obvious first. Filthy and never cleaned in the thee days we were there, the staff were very rude and did not communicate, show you to your room or help at any time. I will get to the worst we went to breakfast and had 1500bs stolen from our private locked room which only the staff had keys to! When we confronted the manager he said Did you see anything which is all he said then laughed about it and shrugged it off! A day before a girls bag was stolen from the toilet and cleaner was found in the toilet minutes later and bag was gone. We had to call the police to file a report and when we did we mere informed that they had been called to hostel amigo on three previous occasions to deal with matters regarding theft from rooms by staff! The manager tried to bribe me not to call police and I was not amused! They are now on there final warning and will be shut down in due cause because of this! I'm being honest here for the sake of other travelers there are lots of beautiful family run honest hostels all over sucre! Good luck on your travels people. Stay safe and have fun!

Room Tip: Choose a different hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    15
    12
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
15
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I hadn't seen the reviews, before I came but some of it rings true. On the plus side, there is a nice courtyard, a big kitchen and when I was there it was relatively quite. I know because of the thin walls.. It's very close to the center and the center is very nice. The WiFi works. Good fast flowing hot showers. Breakfast is OK. The other bonus will only be for people who like to see things needlessly running badly.

It's a great old building with plenty of character in a great location in a great city. With minimal interventwww.tripadvisor.co.ukostel. Please will some one buy it and implement these changes:
Remove building material from breakfast room.
Remove derelict bath/washing machine from courtyard.
Remove the rule that if youwww.tripadvisor.co.ukyou have to pay for the privilege by handing over the disk for ever.
If the reception staff are to have total control over the TV channel and volume, then is it a good idea to have the reception staff on one side of the common room and the TV on the other.
Fire the reception staff.
Put a lock on the left luggage room/implement some sort of security.
Same could be said for the front door.
Paint the beautiful walls.
Allow breakfast without a strange ticketing system.
If you are going to have diced fruit for breakfast, then allow people to have forks (there was a line of three people) without a struggle.

All these things are pretty harmless and don't detract from the stay, but why?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We went to this place because it was advised by the Lonely planet.

It is well located, has a free wifi.
The room was very large, but noisy because of the road nearby.
The place was dusty because of ongoing renovation in the building.

Out of this, the room was not cleaned from the previous people. Moreover, the mattress was out of date, even in Bolivian standards.
The breakfast was quite ok.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mamouchkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Okay location and a good hostel to meet people.

But most rooms face a courtyard that carries the noise and walls are thin.
Rooms and bathrooms were dirty, stairwells lacked any lighting so we needed our torch in the building, and the kitchen was overused with no cutlery available.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sucre hotels

Wexford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I went to Sucre. the first Nicht stay in Charcas hostal, Hardly recomended it was so so poor, dirty so much noise. and the security is the worst. A couple told me that in the door a thief try to steal his pack. and they will change to the hostel. He also move to another hostel. Amigo Hostel was the Choice, Great Choce, Breakfast incluided, sunny terrace, the Security it was better, Big Rooms and have several bath, Really hot showers. Also they have a tour guide. Cheap Tours.High Reomended Ever. Today a Travel to La Paz, I hope to still enjoyed Bolivia

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

For Hostel Amigo, I have never some across a more unamigoly place in my life. The manager barely spoke to me, and when I asked for a key to see a room he handed it to me abrubtly and didn't tell me where to go. This place is like a rat race, with stairs and rooms hidden in very dark corridors, so the room was extremely hard to find. The place itself is unclean and not worth a single Boliviano. If you want unfriendly service, a near death experience everytime you need to walk down the stairs and no value for your money, than stay here, if not find any number of better options in town.

Room Tip: There are none
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elle_elyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Before i had even opened my mouth a felt hostitiy from the receptionist. Not one smile no eye contact. When we had a problem with the room he was incredibly unhelpful and rude. Would only give us half of our money back and if we wanted to change rooms we had to pay an additional 50 bolivianos meaning that We only got 10 bolivianos change from 130 bolivianos. When we talked to other Guests they were also unhappy with the service. WIFI was free but they had bolcked skype and facebook so that you would use their computer that you had to pay for. Breakfast was 2 bits rolls with not enough butter or jam to cover one.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milz_noz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 mi away
El Hostal de Su Merced
0.4 mi away
Traveler's Guesthouse
Traveler's Guesthouse
#6 of 55 in Sucre
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal CasArte Takubamba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mi Pueblo Samary
0.0 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#15 of 18 in Sucre
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigo Hostel

Property: Amigo Hostel
Address: Colon 125, Sucre, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Sucre
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amigo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing