We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel in Potosi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Eucalyptus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Eucalyptus
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Potosi
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best Hostel in Potosi”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

After walking around Potosi for 4 days and poking my head in other hostels, im convinced that this is the best. But dont forget, this isnt Paris, its Potosi, a small dirty mining town. Keep your expectations in check. This hostel is clean, safe and simple. The location is great and the staff is friendly. The breakfast is nothing extravagant but its included. The beds are comfy and there is plenty of hot water. I will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    75
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
9
84
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great Hostel with generously sized, clean rooms. Good bathrooms with hot water and all for a reasonable price. Excellent view from the rooftop terrace and decent breakfast. The staff were fantastic and went out of there way to help find a taxi to take us to Sucre when our booked ones didn't show up. One of the guys actually got on his motorcycle and went down to the bus terminal to bring two taxis back to the hostel! They really made our stay in Potosi a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHMM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I booked this hostal after reading all the great reviews and was disappointed. It was an ok place but only ok. The staff were really nice and the included breakfast was good but thats it. Check out is at 10.30 and we couldnt get into our room till 12.30, fair enough, except when we got into our room it was still dirty with bits of food all over the floor and also it smelt really bad. As well as this the rooms face a central courtyard which means they are noisy, there are wires across the stairs - a trip hazzard, the communal areas are really dirty and the book exchange is padlocked and costs money - thats not a book exhange!! We were due to stay 2 nights but left after 1.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMaudP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Nice, clean hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful- one gentleman spoke English fluently and gave us recommendations to a nice cafe nearby. Location was great- walking distance to everything we wanted to see and we felt very safe in the neighbourhood. Not many people staying at the time we were here so we didn't meet many other travellers.
Our room was on the top floor facing the road. It was spacious and clean, however it was a little chilly, even with the heater on (I don't think the heater was very effective). Internet was sporadic on the top floor and cut out during bad weather. Hot showers were fantastic to warm up after a day at the mines. Breakfast was a nice little buffet with eggs made to order- a real treat!
We booked our bus ticket to Sucre through the hostel- it seemed that the company they used had overbooked the bus and we ended up quite delayed (arrived 2 hrs after our friend who left potosi at the same time) getting to Sucre as we had to change buses. I would advise you to book earlier than we did, or book directly with the bus to company to ensure you get a seat.
Overall a good choice in Potosi!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teambrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Spacious room, beds had cleverly designed safe deposits at the end of the bed. Good breakfast, laundry service, book exchange, computers & wifi that worked, even in our room.

For my husband and I, the staff made this stay for us. My husband was quite ill whilst we were there & we received incredible help and kindness, which was extremely reassuring during a rather stressful and worrying time. They fetched the English speaking owner to help establish the problem (basic Spanish wasn't getting us very far!), located a travelling paramedic in another room, got a doctor to our room & translated the entire consultation before collecting the prescription of medication required from the pharmacy. Thank you Hostel Eucalyptus, we very much appreciate everything you did for us.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

stayed 2 nights in the last week. Staff were nice and friendly. Room was spacious and clean. Hot shower was great. You can go to the rooftop for a view of Cerro Rico too. Unluckily during my stay the weather was not good so couldn't have enjoyed a lot.
Location is good, closed to the main plazas/ tourist spots.

Some drawbacks: Heater seems not powerful enough for such a big room. Doors are hard to lock, kind of a fight each time i needed to open and close (even locking from the inside of room). But these are minor and my overall experience in the place was very fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank immrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Just a quick note to say thank you to you and the team for looking after us at hostal eucalyptus on Thursday. We really appreciated your beautiful, clean, warm hostel and all the care and attention you and you staff provided.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FlickandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potosi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Casona Potosi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coloso
Hotel Coloso
#1 of 8 in Potosi
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Blanca
Hostel Casa Blanca
#2 of 21 in Potosi
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Tukos la Casa Real
1.2 mi away
Apart Hotel Turquesa
Apart Hotel Turquesa
#7 of 21 in Potosi
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal San Pedro Velmont
Hostal San Pedro Velmont
#15 of 21 in Potosi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Eucalyptus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Eucalyptus

Property: Hostal Eucalyptus
Address: Linares Street 88A | Frias, Potosi, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Potosi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Eucalyptus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing