We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of Hostal Eucalyptus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Eucalyptus
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Potosi
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Nice, clean hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful- one gentleman spoke English fluently and gave us recommendations to a nice cafe nearby. Location was great- walking distance to everything we wanted to see and we felt very safe in the neighbourhood. Not many people staying at the time we were here so we didn't meet many other travellers.
Our room was on the top floor facing the road. It was spacious and clean, however it was a little chilly, even with the heater on (I don't think the heater was very effective). Internet was sporadic on the top floor and cut out during bad weather. Hot showers were fantastic to warm up after a day at the mines. Breakfast was a nice little buffet with eggs made to order- a real treat!
We booked our bus ticket to Sucre through the hostel- it seemed that the company they used had overbooked the bus and we ended up quite delayed (arrived 2 hrs after our friend who left potosi at the same time) getting to Sucre as we had to change buses. I would advise you to book earlier than we did, or book directly with the bus to company to ensure you get a seat.
Overall a good choice in Potosi!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teambrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 178 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Spacious room, beds had cleverly designed safe deposits at the end of the bed. Good breakfast, laundry service, book exchange, computers & wifi that worked, even in our room.

For my husband and I, the staff made this stay for us. My husband was quite ill whilst we were there & we received incredible help and kindness, which was extremely reassuring during a rather stressful and worrying time. They fetched the English speaking owner to help establish the problem (basic Spanish wasn't getting us very far!), located a travelling paramedic in another room, got a doctor to our room & translated the entire consultation before collecting the prescription of medication required from the pharmacy. Thank you Hostel Eucalyptus, we very much appreciate everything you did for us.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

stayed 2 nights in the last week. Staff were nice and friendly. Room was spacious and clean. Hot shower was great. You can go to the rooftop for a view of Cerro Rico too. Unluckily during my stay the weather was not good so couldn't have enjoyed a lot.
Location is good, closed to the main plazas/ tourist spots.

Some drawbacks: Heater seems not powerful enough for such a big room. Doors are hard to lock, kind of a fight each time i needed to open and close (even locking from the inside of room). But these are minor and my overall experience in the place was very fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank immrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just a quick note to say thank you to you and the team for looking after us at hostal eucalyptus on Thursday. We really appreciated your beautiful, clean, warm hostel and all the care and attention you and you staff provided.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank FlickandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spacious rooms, good service, nice breakfast, friendly staff and very good heating system. The view from the terrace is amazing and there is good wifi all over the place! And you can cook your own meal :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room inside, to avoid noise and polution from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkamphuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

For the price we were impressed with this hostel. The place is airy with lots of light. Our room was simple but quite clean. The bathrooms had hot water and there was heater as well. It is in a good location close to many restaurants and the center of town. The staff were very friendly and they were able to recommend different activities for us to do around town. We made our reservation for the underground mine tour at the hostel. The breakfast was simple but it is what you would expect for the price. The lady even made us both a sandwhich when we had to leave in a hurry to catch a bus to Uyuni. Overall a good place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We were at this hostel for a night before heading south to Tupiza. It was nice and they had good computers and a kitchen to use, but our bedroom was a little dirty, as well as the bathroom. Other than that, it was fine and was reasonably priced for a night in Potosi!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potosi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Casona Potosi
1.3 mi away
Serma Hotel
Serma Hotel
#1 of 9 in Potosi
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Koala Den
Hostal Koala Den
#1 of 21 in Potosi
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Blanca
Hostel Casa Blanca
#2 of 21 in Potosi
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Tukos la Casa Real
1.2 mi away
Apart Hotel Turquesa
Apart Hotel Turquesa
#7 of 21 in Potosi
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Eucalyptus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Eucalyptus

Address: Linares Street 88A | Frias, Potosi, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Potosi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Potosi
Price Range: $28 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Eucalyptus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing