We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just money”

Casa Nacional de la Moneda
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Potosi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At one time a mint that converted mined silver into coins, this comprehensive museum houses 20 galleries that cover everything in Potosi’s history, from Bolivian weapons to archaeology and, of course, the minting process.
Loreto, Baja California Sur, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than just money”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Mint in potosi
The Mint shows the history of Potosi, which is based around the silver mining which the mint then refined and made into coins and ingots.
The cost is $b40 for tourists, while our 10 year old was free. There is an extra charge to take photos or videos, of 20 and 40 $b.
The price includes a guide, in Spanish, English or French. Our guide was very good and answered all our questions knowledgeably.
The museum contains all the original equipment in situe that was used through the ages to make coins. However it also contains many original locally produced historic paintings and a very large mineral collection.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    162
    63
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Te Puke, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Would have liked to have seen more!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I only had limited time here as the blockades prevented us staying in Potosi and we had to quickly get to Sucre before we were blocked. I had a very articulate English speaking guide who was enthusiastic about all showed us. He kept getting more and more english speaking tourists, which must have been annoying but he never showed it. One swedish tourist told me he was the best guide he had had in Peru yet. The paintings were enjoyable especially the Pacha mama and the virgin in the mountain. I found the mint itself extremely interesting and different to other museums. I would have loved to have taken photos but didn't pay at reception beforehand.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and educational”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had an unexpectedly good visit to this museum.

Our tour guide (obligatory), spoke good english, went at a good pace and was very knowledgeable. He was happy, and able, to answer all questions that we had.

Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PorthosLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILMER
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visit by a Texas Numismatist”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The experience at the old mint in Potosi was quite an exciting time for a basic coin collector. The displays throughout the structure were educational and spoke of the culture of Potosi including the challenges of producing coins at such a high altitude. Seeing the old mint equipment, examples of machines used from the 18th until the mid 20th centuries, and exploring the collection of coins and medals was quite an experience. Our tour guide was well versed in the structure, its history, and about the city of Potosi. One of the more fascinating aspects was the chapel which our guide assured us was part of the mint from the earliest of times. The guide gave us time for questions and even moments to explore. To our advantage we made the trek early in the day and were in a group of only four people. The trip to the top of the facility via a multi-century old set of stone steps gave a first class view of the mountains and the city of Potosi. This were made possible courtesy of a slower pace and the cup of coca tea consumed at the hotel that morning. The 13,000 feet altitude is quite different, needless to say, from the upper Texas coast.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RICHARD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great guided tour and interesting museum”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Ask at the reception to get a guide (english and spanish) and somebody will accompain you during the tour at no extra price..

Great place.. The only bad thing is the extra charge if you want to take photos... I never understand it..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicbono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Nacional de la Moneda also viewed

 
Potosi, Potosi Department
Potosi, Potosi Department
 

Been to Casa Nacional de la Moneda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing