We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Tukos la Casa Real
Ranked #2 of 8 Potosi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy place”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Breakfast is not that great (cold scrambled egg, bread and fruit mix), but my room was very nice and reasonably priced for how fancy it was by Bolivian standards.
There are cheaper options around, but the style of the room was definitely hotel quality.
The heating worked really well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pretzelface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    56
    49
    15
    7
See reviews for
16
64
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilcara, Argentina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Tukos Hostal

We stayed here for 3 nights. Overall pretty good. We were both sick and were looking for a room with heating, so we didn't mind paying some extra money. The rooms have a reasonable size and also the bathroom. It had a shower cabin which was awesome! Lately we had a lot of cold rooms and wet bathrooms in Bolivia, this room was great. Also hot water 24hr. Breakfast was better then in most other hotels. Only thing, they served it from 7.45-9am which I thought was not long enough. Wifi was average. Sometimes good, othertimes bad. Hotel staff was friendly. They even brought us tea as we were feeling unwell. However, I had to fight for room cleaning. Not sure why? Had to ask them several times to clean our room which I didn't like. After all, 280bs a night is quite expensive. This annoyed me the most. They also offer tours to the mines through Big Deal adventure. Overall for Bolivian standard, this is a good hotel but be prepared for some challenges (eg. Room cleaning).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viajando4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Serena, Chile
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nice comfortable rooms with heating and reasonably clean. Really not a friendly place to stay though, we felt like we were the only ones there - it is really not a hostel but more of a motel. Breakfast was better than the average in Bolivia. Value for money and good for a quiet nights sleep. Good location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Reasonably clean. Our shower took a long time to heat up and was low pressure. Toilet had no seat. Room was spacious and had cupboard space. Breakfast was better than most hostels in Bolivia. Staff speak a bit of English. All in all, this hostel is just ok.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hostel with good staff, friendly welcome. Private room was great, good size, very clean and looked much more like hotel than hostel. Bathroom good size. Shower was amazing!! Hot and powerful in wet room type set up in bathroom. Breakfast included and had good variety, slow in refilling it but very decent. Wifi very good. Top choice, mainly for great room with amazing shower!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveler
Level Contributor
221 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

In a word, disappointing. I spent four nights there. Though the breakfast was to be run 7:30 - 10.00 each morning, two of my four mornings it was served late, my last day when I had to catch a bus it was not ready until 7:45. There was no one staying at the hotel — that should have tipped me off — so it is not like the staff was busy attending to other guests.

The hotel was very cold though it was summer. Staff often wore coats around. Breakfast was good but its cavernous breakfast room was heated by a single wood stove and I could see my breath every morning. The tiled walkway to the breakfast room was treacherous because the rain came dripping through the roof and several mornings the tile steps were entirely covered with water.

Though my two VISA credit cards worked everywhere else in Latin America, they would not work at Tukos Hotel and I had to pay my bill in cash. The WiFi generally sucked, none to slow and unreliable. Staff was generally friendly, but my room was cleaned only one day. The room itself was spacious and the shower hot, but the mattress needed to be replaced, it was badly saggy and lumpy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Potosi hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
523 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed two nights, had hot water, nice view from the room, ok bed which was more like a box spring than a matters but all in all ok. Felt safe, staff was friendly and even arranged off site parking for our Jeep as it didn't fit through the door (smaller cars can park on site). Breakfast was good, more than the average bun and jam… The Apple cake is really good! Close to good restaurants, cathedral and main square. High up in town so you get a good overlook of the area. Was probably the best room we stayed in while in Bolivia if that's being positive about it! Hope this review was helpful!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view, we got a pretty good one from our room looking out West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potosi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Casona Potosi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coloso
Hotel Coloso
#3 of 9 in Potosi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Blanca
Hostel Casa Blanca
#2 of 21 in Potosi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Eucalyptus
Hostal Eucalyptus
#3 of 21 in Potosi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Patrimonio
Hostal Patrimonio
#4 of 8 in Potosi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cima Argentum
Cima Argentum
#3 of 8 in Potosi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tukos la Casa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tukos la Casa Real

Property: Hostal Tukos la Casa Real
Address: Hoyos 29, Potosi 591, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Potosi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Tukos la Casa Real 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
una hermosa casa colonial a solo dos cuadras de la plaza principal con balcones interiores y exteriores , una terraza mirador donde el atardecer de la ciudad con los monumentos historicos y el cerro rico es simplemente fascinante , si quieres ser un rey en la ciudad de los reyes visitanos ...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hostal Tukos la Casa Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing