We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, good room for Bolivia standards...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Tukos la Casa Real
Ranked #2 of 9 Potosi B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
522 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Well located, good room for Bolivia standards...”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed two nights, had hot water, nice view from the room, ok bed which was more like a box spring than a matters but all in all ok. Felt safe, staff was friendly and even arranged off site parking for our Jeep as it didn't fit through the door (smaller cars can park on site). Breakfast was good, more than the average bun and jam… The Apple cake is really good! Close to good restaurants, cathedral and main square. High up in town so you get a good overlook of the area. Was probably the best room we stayed in while in Bolivia if that's being positive about it! Hope this review was helpful!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view, we got a pretty good one from our room looking out West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    57
    49
    15
    7
See reviews for
16
64
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were shown a room first of all which smelt damp and the staff must have realised as straightaway offered another one (which had a strong perfume smell which was mercifully better). Enjoyed the stay here although get to breakfast early as once the food and drink goes they don't really replace it. Not everyone speaks English (to be expected) but they are generally very easy to deal with. No problems with WIFI on 2nd floor.
Location is fine, short walk to a central square with a few restaurants and shops. Quite a long way from the bus station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potosi, Bolivia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel is well situated, clean and somewhat renovated although many things are broken. But it is very poorly managed. I am a solo traveler and reserved a single room. When I arrived they gave me a room with 2 large beds. Then at 10pm (!), they knock on my door and ask me to change rooms, they give me a room with 2 somewhat smaller beds in a corner of the hotel where the WIFI is very poor. In the morning, around 10:30am, they come again and ask me to switch rooms and they give me a closet room that they had barely been cleaned, probably not even changed the sheets... Moral of the story, they don't care about solo travelers, you will need to arrange for other people's needs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjbrun2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Potosi hotels

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Large room, hot and cold taps in both shower and sink, nice atmosphere, very helpful staff. Breakfast was good but buffet style and therefore the eggs were cold. No safe in the room. Great views from the roof top terrace and our top floor room. Also quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabrown65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent position, that's it.
When we arrived The room wasnt clean. Next morning we left at 9 and came back at 17 and The room hadn't been done still.
Internet doesn't work well other than on The ground floor.
Personnel is easy going, but not truly responsive.
Pity.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This grandeur hotel is located in the heart of Potosi and walking distance from the main square. Most of the sights in Potosi are located around Calle Ayacucho and Tuko’s La Casa Real is located on Calle Hoyos, which is an extension to Calle Ayacucho. We call it grandeur because of its huge courtyard which is open three levels up. Located about 15 minutes by taxi from the Nuevo bus station (located at northern corner of the city), this is a great, cheap and peaceful place for accommodation.

This hotel is family-run and one of the front-desk “attendants” speaks English, which is very helpful for booking mine tours. The rooms are cozy, large enough to move around and come with bathroom that has hot water. I stayed in room #2 which had working power-sockets right next to the bed, which is not the case in most hostels across Bolivia. Single bedroom with bathroom costs about $30 a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelOnTheDollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there two nights before a tour on the Salar and one night after - what a relief it was to come back to a heated and comfy room!
The heating was an actual one, hot water was not as sporadic as I've seen it in other places and the wifi and TV worked perfectly.
Staff was also very arranging (they prepared me an early breakfast on a day I had to leave particularly early, called me a taxi and gave me all the info I asked for), which made the stay particularly enjoyable.

However, it's true that the breakfast room is freezing; a bit of soundproofing in the rooms wouldn't hurt either, but on the whole I really recommend this place!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beluga21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potosi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Casona Potosi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coloso
Hotel Coloso
#3 of 9 in Potosi
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Serma Hotel
Serma Hotel
#1 of 9 in Potosi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Eucalyptus
Hostal Eucalyptus
#3 of 21 in Potosi
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Blanca
Hostel Casa Blanca
#2 of 21 in Potosi
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Patrimonio
Hostal Patrimonio
#5 of 9 in Potosi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tukos la Casa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tukos la Casa Real

Property: Hostal Tukos la Casa Real
Address: Hoyos 29, Potosi 591, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Potosi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Tukos la Casa Real 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
una hermosa casa colonial a solo dos cuadras de la plaza principal con balcones interiores y exteriores , una terraza mirador donde el atardecer de la ciudad con los monumentos historicos y el cerro rico es simplemente fascinante , si quieres ser un rey en la ciudad de los reyes visitanos ...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hostal Tukos la Casa Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing