We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in central potosi...”

Hotel Gran Libertador
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gran Libertador
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Potosi
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“good hotel in central potosi...”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

attractions around potosi walkable from hotel -- ask for map illustrating places of interest from mostly cordial staff (some employees have limited English, but assist as best they can). Rooms are pleasant and clean. video room has access to dvd player: if you can find disc of "devil's mine" before you tour the mines, it could prove helpful in decision as to whether or not you stamina to do the tour!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    24
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
3
13
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in a nice, clean and spacious room. The hotel is in a good location a few minutes walk from the main squares in Potosi. The communal seating areas are a nice touch and the breakfast is decent enough. We stayed as part of a wider tour with Tucan Travel, so can't really comment on how good value it was in isolation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Nederland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Pros:
- Clean
- Laundry service

Cons:
- Small rooms
- Shower with fluctuating warm and cold water
- No WiFi in room
- No elevator to carry you to the top floor
- Very limited breakfast buffet
- Most of staff does not speak English

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamielC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Potosi hotels

Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A few blocks from town center. Caters to 'adventure' tour groups. Mid-20th century décor. Big rooms with good heat at night and plenty of light. Tiny table in room for wi-fi. The wi-fi crawls when many guests are on. Responsive service. Bathroom OK. So-so breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nworbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A decent hotel within walking distance of the main square,restaurants, and the sights of Potosi.

Room size was adequate and was clean and heated. Breakfast was better than average--the scrambled eggs had ham mixed in but they happily made some without when we asked.

Internet was pretty slow--both on the hotel's computers and using wi-fi.

Nothing special but no complaints either.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. The hotel itself was okay, though there was no secure baggage storage. We were made to leave our luggage in the living room area before rooms were ready and after we checked out.

The hotel was humid and cold. A strange maze of half flights of stairs to the rooms. My room had a window to the back entrance and was quite loud early in the morning. I believe this was as employees came to work. The hall and my room was also freezing as the back door was wide open!

I was quite chilly at night - bring your thermals!

There was good water pressure and hot water along with large clean towels. Unexpected for Bolivia but much appreciated.

There is free WiFi and an included breakfast. Hotel is just a block or two from the supermarket - a long enough walk in the elevation. Its a couple blocks off the main square, downhill. Coming home can be strenuous if you aren't acclimated. Take it slow.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PrincessGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Only stayed here for one night as part of GAdventures trip. Fairly well located for central square etc. Room was ok although nothing special. Very noisy at night as had a team of young sportmen staying who seemed to think that corridors were there for a party. Surprised that hotel management did not deal with this as no sound proofing in the hotel. Breakfast was ok

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckybearriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potosi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal La Casona Potosi
1.4 mi away
Serma Hotel
Serma Hotel
#1 of 9 in Potosi
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Patrimonio
Hostal Patrimonio
#5 of 10 in Potosi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Casa Blanca
Hostel Casa Blanca
#2 of 21 in Potosi
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cima Argentum
Cima Argentum
#3 of 10 in Potosi
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#4 of 10 in Potosi
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Libertador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Libertador

Property: Hotel Gran Libertador
Address: Millares street No. 58, Potosi, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Potosi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Libertador 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gran Libertador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing