We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth It.”

Hotel Gran Libertador
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gran Libertador
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Potosi
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I went to this hotel with a couple of friends to participate in a programming competition which took place in Potosí. The outside fachade of the hotel gives you impression is just going to be an average place to stay in for the night (we stayed there for 3 days, and that place was way below average).

The hotel is always closed during the nights and early mornings: If you want to go inside, you have to ring a bell and wait a while for someone to open the door: If you want to go out early in the morning or late at night, well you are screwed.

We arrived to Potosí at around 6 AM and a cold guy opened us the door. No "Hello", "Welcome", "Good morning", or anything at all. He just made us go inside and he made us wait 3 hours for the check-in time. Till then, we walked around town for a while and we had to hide our baggage in some living-like room (They were quite visible and we were worrying someone would steal something - luckily it didn't happen).

I asked for a room for myself and the room was terrible. Aesthetic wise, it was average: Nothing ugly but nothing beautiful, either. They look filthy at first but you get used to that quite fast. The bathroom was the WORST thing that ever happened to me: It was filthy, in my 3-day stay I never had hot water (which is essential in a town like Potosí), and sometimes I had no water at all! Taking a shower to stay clean was actually painful with the cold water, specially since the rooms aren´t as warm as the lobby (in fact, the rooms are just a little bit warmer than the outside temperature of the town). Finally the doors use traditional keys; I guess that´s to be expected since Bolivia is not really a technology-friendly country. Oh, did I mention you have to leave your key at the reception when you get out? If for some reason you decide to stay at this hotel, don´t ever have valuables with you! I have been living in this country long enough to know people will steal from you when you least expect it.

Sleep quality was average, the beds weren´t the best thing in the whole universe.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonnears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gran Libertador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 71 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed here with friends when we traveled through Bolivia. Maybe it was just the fact that the whole town has a sort of sadness attached to it or maybe it was just the hotel but I never felt comfortable in Potosí. The hotel was very unremarkable and basic. In general not an uplifting place to be, but that said probably one of the more fascinating places I've ever been.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

I think that the owner should invest in his hotel if if wants to keep customers.
- No welcoming service
- Rooms are old and dirty
- The hotel looks old and very different from its own website
- the breakfast is not valuable
- the restaurant is closed

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank default404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank Alejandro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kein Zimmer in Richtung Straße nehmen, durch den ständigen Busverkehr sind diese sehr laut.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sherly35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabian Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potosi
1.3 mi away
Serma Hotel
Serma Hotel
#1 of 9 in Potosi
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal La Casona Potosi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Coloso
Hotel Coloso
#4 of 9 in Potosi
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Tukos la Casa Real
0.0 mi away
Tambo Coquesa Ecolodge
Tambo Coquesa Ecolodge
#1 of 1 in Coquesa
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#4 of 11 in Potosi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Libertador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Libertador

Address: Millares street No. 58, Potosi, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Potosi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Potosi
Price Range: $40 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Libertador 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gran Libertador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing