We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardened back packers only”
Review of Hostal Koala Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Potosi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Koala Den
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Potosi
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hardened back packers only”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

A real flea pit! Filthy tatty room & bed linen you would put in the dog bssket!

Checked out as soon as we saw the state of the room!!

Inefficient but friendly staff also photogenic. We picked it based on relatively positive write ups

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagesmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    142
    58
    24
    6
See reviews for
6
111
74
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were only passing through Potosi so stayed one night. The owner of the hostel was incredibly friendly and helpful. Good clean rooms, good value. The breakfeast was one of the best I have had on the road in the last 16 months at a hostel. We all sat down together like a dinner meal, as they brought out fresh fruit like watermelon, bananas and pawpaw. They served bread, eggs and hot drinks and orange juice. They can help organise tours to the mines and around but arent pushy about it. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was surprised by what you get for the money that you pay! For 60 B we had a triple with private bathroom, shampoo, towels and one of the best breakfasts I ever had in an hostel.
We also booked the trip to the mines with Koala tours in the hostel. The price is fixed, even though I tried to bargain. In the end, a percentage of what you pay goes to the miners, which makes it a lot less annoying to pay! The trip to the mines was very impressive and I would strongly recommend it as something you have to see during your stay in Potosí. Our guide Julio, better known as Chapu, was amazing! He made the tour very interesting and at times we were touched by the way he spoke about working in the mines. Later that day he took us to Bolivian families to see what Todos Santos (1st of November) was all about. A whole day of unforgettable experiences, thank you so much Chapu!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jascha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in a 6 persons dorm and we liked it! the hsotel has a nice atmostfere, it's cheap and the staff was very nice to us. The breakfast is a-ma-zing: fruit, juice, eggs, crepes, etc! I recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chavds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Central location, good communal areas and kitchen for guest use. Nice and warm with a heater in the communal areas and in each of the bedrooms. Hot showers and hot water from the taps. Really friendly staff but you'll need a bit of Spanish as most staff don't speak English.
We did the mine tour through the hostel and it was really good with all equipment provided and English speaking guides.
One improvement that the hostel could make- most rooms have internal windows apart from dorm 2 which have 3 large external Windows and really thin curtains which let all the sunlight through at about 7am. Thicker curtains would work much better for this dorm.
All in all a great hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSION: When we arrived, it was dark and dingy. We were "welcomed" by an elderly gentleman or should i say mumbled at. He continually mumbled spanish at my younger sister, despite being told that she spoke no spanish and even though it was myself who was talking to him. There were a group of 5 of us and all of us found him very odd.
STAFF: Other than the previously mentioned man, there was also an older lady who worked there who was lovely.
DORMS: .We were placed in room number 1, a double private (the bed was the biggest ive ever seen!). We had a few issues with the room and was later told that the elderly guy should never have put us in the room as it was closed for restoration. The man who spoke to me (a younger man, not quite sure of him role in the business) was very lovely, extremely sorry and consequently gave us the room for free as an apology, which I thought was very nice of him.
BREAKFAST: The breakfast here is great, with scrambled eggs, fruit, pancakes and bread, with spreads etc. Hot drinks and orange juice are offered too.
FACILITIES; My boyfriend went on the Mining trip and loved it. I couldnt face it but he said it was amazing.
INTERNET: Internet was great up until about 09.30. There are computers offered but they are dire.
OTHER; Close to all amenities, great TV room with DVDs and a terrace on top to relax on.
Would you stay again? I would like to try its sister hostel first but yes, I probably would (just not in room 1!!)

Room Tip: make sure the double room has been fixed etc before sleeping in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The only reason we stayed here is because our reservation for hostal eucalyptus was not acknowledged after having booked through hostel bookers. So they sent us to their sister hostel koala den. This place was smelly, dirty,noisy. There was such a strong smell coming from the toilet that we had to cover the drain holes. The rooms are dated. During the night the noise from rooms above up was so loud that we had to get up and ask them to keep it down.. There was nobody in reception to do this.
On the plus side, the showers are hot, good tv room, good tour to mines, decent breakfast and friendly staff. But I would not stay here again. You leave feeling slightly dirty.. Worst place we've stayed in South America so far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potosi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal La Casona Potosi
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coloso
Hotel Coloso
#3 of 9 in Potosi
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Blanca
Hostel Casa Blanca
#2 of 21 in Potosi
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Eucalyptus
Hostal Eucalyptus
#3 of 21 in Potosi
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Tukos la Casa Real
0.1 mi away
Hostal Patrimonio
Hostal Patrimonio
#5 of 9 in Potosi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Koala Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Koala Den

Property: Hostal Koala Den
Address: Calle Junin # 56, Potosi, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Potosi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Potosi
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hostal Koala Den Hotel Potosi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing