We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and dirty”
Review of Hostal Koala Den

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Koala Den
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Potosi
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The dorm is really old, disgusting carpet on the flor, old iron-bed, dirty bathroum without soap, you have to ask for toilet paper, bathroom cannt be locked. Blankets are good, breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 334 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were met off the bus from Uyuni at 11.30pm by Wilbur and driven to the hostel annex and a double room for Bol100/night (US$ 15) with breakfast, basic but good.
The annex was much quieter than the main hostel so being older backpackers (60 & 61) we appreciated the peace.
Staff were all very friendly and the place was well run with comfortable beds and good hot water showers, we stayed 2 nights. Koala tours organized our taxi to Sucre Bol 200 for up to 4 passengers And hence cheaper and quicker than the bus at Bol 70 each, plus you are delivered hostel/hotel door to door.
Tours to the silver mine were run from here at Bol 100 each.

Room Tip: If you want a bit of peace and quiet the annex 100 m away is the go, if your a party animal go for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely Hostel, very friendly - great place to meet people. Our room was really good quality, with ensuite bathroom. Hot showers only at certain times. Internet was slow and only usable up until 10pm and after 8am. TV room had a great DVD collection. Breakfast was the highlight - fruit, scrambled eggs, endless food and drink. The Koala Mine tour was also brilliant - had a great guide. Only downside to this hostel is that it can get slightly noisy when people are chatting away in the main area where all the rooms overlook. Would definitley recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Spreagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed for two nights with a friend at this hostel (dorm 2, where you can have a hot shower while watching sunset on the mountains by the window). Staff is very kind, rooms are heated, beds are comfy, breakfeast is awesome! Kitchen, computers with Internet and Wifi available. I highly recommend that place.
We also booked a mine tour with Koala, at the hostal, we were with Ronald who speaks english and we really enjoyed the tour.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexBlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was staying in the dorm room shared by 4. To me at 50 Bolivian $, it is value for money as there was a heater in the room and an attached bath / toilet to be shared only by 4 of us in the same room . The breakfast was great to me and the staff there was very helpful and friendly.

The only "bad" thing was possibly the noise from those tenants partying or cooking or drinking during the wee hours. Apart from there I am generally ok with this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonChongYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Koala Den is great if you want to meet other young travelers and don't mind parties that last into the wee hours of the morning (ignore their sign about no noise past midnight). The breakfast was large and very good - - eggs, fruit, bread, coffee. The owners are very nice and helpful. The view from the rooftop is very cool. It's a nice location fairly close to the Plaza. However, staying there as a family was a mistake. The black mold growing up the corner of our room and the state of the bathrooms didn't go over great with our kids (ages 12 & 14). The noise on the last night was what really sent them over the edge though. So it depends on what you are looking for in an inexpensive hostal. I just wouldn't recommend it for a family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Koala den is a typical backpacker hostel. Unfortunately it had quite a run down feel to it. The room we had was a bit shabby and the bathroom needed some reparinig. It can get quite noisy at night and in the morning since the walls are quite thin. The room had a heater, which was a nice touch. The breakfast is really nothing to get too excited about. The pancakes are cold and the eggs were a bit runny. But there were pancakes and eggs, more than you get in other hostels.
All in all an Ok place to stay but nothing to get really excited about.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tj-exploringtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potosi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal La Casona Potosi
1.1 mi away
Serma Hotel
Serma Hotel
#1 of 9 in Potosi
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Colonial
Hostal Colonial
#2 of 9 in Potosi
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Blanca
Hostel Casa Blanca
#2 of 21 in Potosi
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Eucalyptus
Hostal Eucalyptus
#3 of 21 in Potosi
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Tukos la Casa Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Koala Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Koala Den

Address: Calle Junin # 56, Potosi, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Potosi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Potosi
Price Range: $12 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Koala Den reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Koala Den Hotel Potosi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing