We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hearing and hot water”
Review of Cima Argentum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cima Argentum
Ranked #3 of 9 Potosi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Central hearing and hot water”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Best thing about this place is that is is warm, centrally heated, and has good hot water. Rooms are a little bit cell-like with no external windows, but they are spacious enough. Perhaps a little tired in decor. The hotel is a 5 minute taxi ride from the centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
142 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

What I enjoyed about this hotel was the overall design. Quite stylish and modern hotel with some historical aspects. The room was of medium size. Cable-tv, wi-fi, ref and good size bathroom. Comfortable bed and rest. The restuarant was pretty basic. The food was ok. Breakfast was a la carte with eggs, juice, coffee and bread. The service was friendly.

What I didn´t like so much was the location. It was quite a walk from the historical centre. Nearby I was not able to find any nice restaurants. The hotel had a bit bit sleepy feeling, like very few staff - as well clients.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We only stayed in Potosi for one night and the Cima Argentum was fine for our purposes (as a base for our visit to the silver mine). In its hay-day, it must have been a lovely hotel, but sadly that day has passed and it is now tired. Staff very friendly, room clean (althugh bathroom needs updating/worn out), restaurant OK (not much else around).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank originalgroucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is like most of the city: a lot of potential, but a lack of basic maintenance. Cleaning is basic: Curtains are dusty, bathroom not fully cleaned, walls are far to be clean. After this first looks on your room, your are not sure the sheets are clean... You just have to guess they are! We stayed there for 2 nights. The breakfast was normal, but with a smile and more reactivity from the man attending there, it would be better. After 10 min of asking him butter, I finally went myself to the kitchen to have some... It was probably a 4-star, but now, 2 will be the maximum limit it should have. With some more cleanliness, some painting works, and some smiles from the team, it would regain the missing stars! Not a big deal, but just do it please!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstor_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Potosi hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel claims to be four-star. To be realistic, two-star is probably about right (even generous): carpets in our rooms were dirty, and so were the walls alongside one of the beds. Rooms are a decent size and beds were clean, and a nice outlook over the internal courtyard. Bathrooms desperately need replacing - the bath bottom was cracked and humped so presumably water leaked into the room below. The shower unit fell off the wall and hit me on the head !

The central courtyard, potentially really quite nice, has wall tiles missing and an ancient calendar pinned up. That really sums up this place.

The staff could not have been more helpful: on asking for instructions to use the room safe, and asking for a hairdryer, someone appeared virtually instantly. Similarly laundry was very efficient and not expensive, and it all came back exactly at the promised time.

We did not have dinner. One breakfast, when there were few guests, food was just doled out with no choice. A second day when the place was more full warranted a reasonable, though unexciting, buffet.

All-in-all, a shame that the place has not been maintained properly as it could be very pleasant. As it is, it's perfectl;y adequate. I have no experience of other hotels in Potosi, so it may well rank highly amongst them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nicely laid out hotel. Internal courtyard covered with a glass roof. Evening meal and breakfast were good. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was cosy and comfortable, but smelly, . Suspect this "dirty drain smell" was coming up from the many cracks in the bath that they had attempted to seal. Would have liked to have seen the ceiling of the room below! Definitely stay here, perhaps check your room our first. We thought it was close enough to the things you would want to see in the town. Naturally you need a ride up to the mine area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazza059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Spent one night here on our way through - quite nice, quiet, comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diverman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potosi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coloso
Hotel Coloso
#3 of 9 in Potosi
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal La Casona Potosi
0.6 mi away
Serma Hotel
Serma Hotel
#1 of 9 in Potosi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Patrimonio
Hostal Patrimonio
#5 of 9 in Potosi
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Tukos la Casa Real
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#4 of 9 in Potosi
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cima Argentum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cima Argentum

Property: Cima Argentum
Address: Av. Villazon No. 239, Potosi, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > Potosi Department > Potosi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Potosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cima Argentum 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cima Argentum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing