We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Eucalyptus(Potosi)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostal Koala Den(Potosi)(Great Value!)
$23
$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$23
$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
$75
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$40
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Eucalyptus(Potosi)(Great Value!)
$34
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
23
97
112
68
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
97
112
68
87
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 387 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The building is colonial and looks quite nice but it is incredibly cold and the bathrooms are horrible: they are very dirty and there are not enough for that amount of people. The staff is very unfriendly.
The worst thing was the mine tour we booked at the hostel. It was very unsafe and the guide didn't care about us. At one time we lost the group and where all alone in the middle of the mountain. They don't prepare you for what you have to endure during the tour. You have to crawl through narrow spaces, you can throw your clothes away after the tour (despite the protection clothes they give you!), if you have even a little bit of claustrophobia it is the wrong tour to join. Also if you are afraid of heights. There is only one guide for a group of 8 people which is very unsafe. The guide is in the front and never knows how the people in the back are.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Easyfish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Me and my friend we choosed this hostal, bcs it was in Lonely Planet, it sounded good enough and we were too tired to look more places, after a night bus.
We really are wondering, why its almost all the time fully booked?! I cant recommend it to no one.
First the service is bad, the showers and toilets are in the same room so there is line all the time, bcs if someone is in the shower, someone else cant go to the toilet. Plus bcs of the showers, the toilets were really wet all the time. I think in whole hostal was 4showers/toilets!!..but not sure, those were only what we saw.
Then the wifi is only working at the recepcion, where is no plugs. Only 2plugs outside in the patio. And at the dorm room with 10 people, there where 1!!!!!! plug.
We used their laundry service, not good neither. Well, yes, laundry was clean. But we left our laundry in two plastic bags to them, and we got them back without any bags. They kept the laundry in a dirty shells, where everybody can leave their backbags.
When my friend asked the reception staff why they do this and this...the answer was likely: its clean place + its not my problem if there is no plugs etc..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zanni8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The worst hostel we have seen in south america.

Staff: unfriendly, unhelpful, they lost two pairs of socks at the laundry service and did not care about it. (for backpackers 2 pairs are a lot!!!!)

Bathroom: never clean, shower and toilet always wet because there are still no shower curtains. You can not use the toilet paper because it is wet from the shower. You can't lock many doors.

Room: we had a matrimonial, the bed was like a hole. No safe electricity but warm

Kitchen: everything is locked, you have to go for everything to the reception and there they have hardly anything. The staff was very very unfriendly. We were not allowed to eat in the "comedor" because the receptionist was too lazy to open it.

We really don't care about a superb hostel but they are promising so many things and almost nothing is true.

We never would recommend this hostel!!!!!

Ps: and they still have my socks! ;-)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Staff was completely apathetic and unfriendly.

Our room smelled, there was mold on the walls and naked electric wires sticking out.

You can't use the kitchen, except in the evening - but you have to go and ask for all the utensils.

Bathrooms (including the toilet and toilet paper) are flooded most of the time, as there's no shower curtains.

The whole place is a construction zone at the moment, so it's dusty and noisy. This is a temporary thing I suppose, but it's still annoying.

Would definitely not recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room near the back, so there wasn't much street or guest noise. But the place is currently under renovation, so we were woken up anyway...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2GoSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room was very pleasant. We were quite afraid after reading some reviews on TA but we ended up getting a very nice sleeping experience in Potosi.

The heating was very effective, we did not have any problems with the hot water and the internet was ok.

The only issue was regarding the laundry service (which must have consisted on solely rinsing with water) and the staff was not the most friendly ever.

If you want a good room at reasonably good prices and do not need anything else, than this is certainly a smart choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are the best, as you do not hear the noise coming out of the central atrium
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernardodomingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews