We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This now is our 3rd trip to Castle in the Country this summer, 4th in the last year. We have fallen in love with this place. Everything is perfect with Castle! The rooms, the staff, the grounds, and delicious breakfast each morning. Their are no words to express how much we enjoy coming here, and can't say enough of how much Castle is a the best place we have ever stayed at. I strongly suggest this place if you want the perfect getaway with no worries about how your room will be, or how your stay will be, everything will be PERFECT like it has for us the last 4 times (going on 5 soon). Thanks again to Ruth and staff for another wonderful and stress free getaway. Cant wait to see all of you again soon.

Room Tip: This stay we stayed in the King Arthur which had a great view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Dear Guests,
You two have been our "perfect" guests! We just love seeing the two of you together and hosting your visits at the Inn. We can't wait to welcome you back and we'll do our best to help you relax and enjoy your time in the country. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

The 65 acres are simply beautiful. We were able to take walks through the wooded areas and feel that we were truly away from it all. However, that means you are far from everything. At first we wondered how we were going to feel having to drive a minimum of 30 minutes for dinner every night, or for activities during the day. The drives were so gorgeous that after that first day we didn't mind. It does not encourage multiple trips in one day, so you will want to do some planning. The rooms are very nice and although we didn't understand the jacuzzi in the actual room, we tried it the 3rd night. It was very loud (thus no jets after 11pm) and the water (well-sourced?) smells like sulfur and you can't use any scented oils or gels to offset that. The view from our room (King Arthur) was unreal. There were plenty of outdoor seating places to relax. The property is very well maintained and manicured. Screened in areas, a fire pit, kayaks and a paddle boat were there for our convenience. Coffee, tea and snacks are available 24/7 so you don't have to ask or look for someone to assist. I cannot stress the beauty of the grounds. Ruth was terrific at recommending places to visit and eat. The Salt of the Earth and the Lost Raven were both superb. Herb's gourmet breakfasts were scrumptious. The baked goods were better than I've found at many bakeries. The tables at breakfast were for two, which is great. We've stayed at B&Bs before where you have to sit with other parties. Sometimes it is nice to eat with others, but sometimes you're not up for that. The seating allowed for either. All of the rooms are very nice and comfortable. We were there for five days and one more night would have been good.
We enjoyed Holland Mi and Saugatuck (a little more touristy). We went to Fennville to visit a winery and have dinner at Salt of the Earth (a must) and Plainwell to eat at The Lost Raven - twice.
Other than the smell of the bathing water (which I don't believe can be fixed), I would change the somber breakfast music.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the King Arthur, but saw the Lancelot room and would choose that one as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sushel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Castle in the Country! Coming from the busyness of Chicago, we're thrilled that you found the property so relaxing and the drive through the surrounding area "so gorgeous" that you didn't mind the trip to all of our most popular farm to table restaurants, wineries and small towns. Although many of our guests love to visit the Grill House (which is just five minutes away from us) we also love to help guests plan their entire visit to us so that they may experience all the other amazing local restaurants in the surrounding area. We're so glad you found them all as satisfying in Food quality and atmosphere as we do. We also love hearing that you really enjoyed the gourmet breakfast (and baked goods) that Herb prepares for our guests every day and we want to remind you that many of his recipes are found on our website blog post just in case you want to try some at home. :-)
We're so sorry that we didn't know about the water problem you experienced until another guest mentioned it to us just after your visit, but we wanted you to know that it has been corrected. It was simply a filter that needed to be changed. We were able to make the change immediately and "Whola" no sulfur smell, so we want you (and other readers) to know that you can enjoy the whirlpool tub for two with our bath crystals and you should never have to experience a negative odor in the future.
We'd love to welcome you back and hope that you can stay even longer, 6 or more nights next time before returning to the city. We promise to do our best to go above and beyond your expectations for a perfect romantic getaway away from it all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary and then again for 10th, it was just as nice as before if not better. We enjoyed the gourment breakfast each morning. Ruth and Herb were very careful to adjust our our menus due to my husbands diary and beef allergy. She was also very helpful with locations to go and eat, shops, site seeing . . . Salt of the Earth in Allegan is amazing. There isn't much in Allegan, but there are nice towns within a 20 min drive, which is the drive is just as beautiful. There are lots of things to do at The Castle as well, walks, massages (which was truely relaxing), mani-pedi's, fire pit. They have thought of everything to make your stay what you want it to be. I highly recommend this place to anyone that wants to get away and forgot about everyday life for a few days.

Room Tip: I like the rooms at The Castle Keep because that is where everything is, plus most of these rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katrina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Katrina,
We were so glad you made it back to Castle in the Country to celebrate your 10th anniversary. We are truly grateful for our repeat guests who come back to enjoy their special occasions at our B&B and when they share their experience with TripAdvisor readers...well that's just bonus!
So many of our guests find the property to be a great way to relax in nature and to just find some space for just the two of them to reconnect and I agree with you that it's very necessary to plan some time away from the busyness of our lives in order to do that. We were happy to accommodate your husbands' allergy requirements and glad to hear that you enjoyed the side by side couple's massage so much.
Since the Grill House is just five minutes away from us and has both a Steak menu and a Pub menu we often refer our guests who don't want to drive too far from the Inn to that nearby restaurant. With the amazing " Farm to Table restaurant", Salt of the Earth in Fennville, MI just a 20 minute drive away, it's an obvious choice for many of our guests as well, and we're glad you enjoyed your experience there.
Again, we were so happy to welcome you back for your 10th anniversary and it was our pleasure to be able to catch up with you about your life. We wish you many more years ahead. I know that you are currently building a house so it may be awhile before we see you again, but I promise we will do our best to make your next visit just as magical (or more) than the first two!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I am torn with this review because this place appears polished but lacked a little for us. When we drove up, we were very impressed with how beautiful the property was, including the grounds. It really is out in the middle of nowhere, but it was on our way to Grand Rapids. When we checked in, we were given a map of the property and a lot of information. Emily was very nice, but the other woman was a bit stiff. Our room was big and comfortable, and we enjoyed it; however, in the morning, when we were trying to get ready for breakfast, we had no hairdryer in the room, and no one was in the inn to ask because they were all down the road in the Castle Keep dealing with breakfast. I tried to call the inn to ask but just got a recording. We ended up having to borrow a hair dryer from another guest (luckily we found one), and we were late for breakfast. Breakfast was good but there were lots of peppers after they specifically asked us if we had any allergies or dislikes, and we said peppers. Hmmm. Later we found out about a service area that had hair dryers, but it was too late. We found it amusing that we were given so much info and that was not mentioned. This is a great place for a romantic weekend, but if you want to be near any places to eat or do anything else, just know that this place pretty isolated.

Room Tip: We had the Kingdom Suite, and it was large and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your review and are happy to hear that you felt it was a beautiful place and that you enjoyed your guest room, the Kingdom Suite during your one night visit. We realized after your review that some guests don't use the closet in the room since it is such a large space and that probably is why you didn't see the hair dryer in the closet of your suite. We are truly sorry that this caused such a frustrating experience for you.
Breakfast is an important component of our guests' stay and we always ask about allergies or "major dislikes" during the checkin process so we can accommodate to the best of our ability. Our innkeeper asked if red peppers were acceptable but we should have instead eliminated the peppers altogether to be safe and to avoid the green pepper dislike. We appreciate you pointing this out to us.
Again, we

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This cozy B&B is worth every penny! EVERY available room we saw was decorated most beautifully and matches their web site. The gourmet breakfast was absolutely delicious, service was impeccable, and our suite (Romeo & Juliet) was quiet, very romantic and very clean. We found the property well maintained, grounds manicured and no detail left undone. The view from the breakfast area is so gorgeous and stress relieving. Lake Michigan coastal towns such as Holland, Saugatuk and Douglas are all within a 30 minute drive through beautiful farm country. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are so grateful to you for taking your time to write about your experience here at Castle in the Country and your encouragement to other guests to come and see for themselves. I love your confidence that others will find it "worth every penny", exactly as our photos represent, and never disappointing.
It's so exciting to us that we hit all the right buttons with you for delicious food, impeccable service and stress-relieving views.
Can't wait for you to come back and we promise to do our best to impress you all over again, but especially to offer all the stress-relieving comfort that our Country Gem can provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Wow, I am not even sure where to begin here. As soon as we saw the main house, our jaws dropped and we looked at each other and said, "this must be it!". We followed along the drive past the main house only to find that it just kept becoming more picturesque The grounds were absolutely pristine. Our room (Camelot) doesn't miss a beat. The king bed is so cozy with a cool ornate headboard, remote for the fireplace and giant flat screen. The bathroom had this magnificent jetted tub with a walk in shower equipped with multiple shower heads and rain shower head mounted to a high sealing with yet another fireplace. Ruth and the staff were super helpful and offered up some suggestions for dinner in the area. The Salt of the Earth was superb and something we would have never discovered on our own. Breakfast was delicious and the icing on the cake was a leisurely paddle boat ride around the lake. I feel confident saying that in all my travels, this was the most enjoyable place I have every stayed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatyouremissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guests,
We are so grateful for your five star review! We love it when everything comes together for couples to get away and just knowing that we get to be a part of a great experience makes every effort we make so worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having travelled from the UK we needed a few days to ourselves between hectic visits to friends in Chicago and Detroit. CitC was the perfect place to unwind. We were impressed with the attention to detail that ensured our stay was restful and relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for the Kingdom Suite - great to have all that room - made it feel like home from home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guests,
Sitting on the lawn overlooking the pond, walking hand in hand down the country lane on your way to breakfast, sharing a glass of wine in the gazebo, we were thrilled to see that you knew what you needed to recharge and refresh. Our country setting is within 2 1/2 hours from both Chicago and Detroit and we often find that our guests who are escaping the Big Cities are the most appreciative of how much the Green space all around us and the spacious and comfortable space of our Kingdom suite provides just the right environment to coax them into relaxing and recentering
. We really enjoyed hosting your visit "between friends" and from across the pond and hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegan
20.4 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
480 reviews
16.2 mi away
Kingsley House Bed and Breakfast Inn
17.8 mi away
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
6.2 mi away
Allegan Budget Host Inn
Allegan Budget Host Inn
#1 of 1 in Allegan
30 reviews
5.9 mi away
DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 340 M 40 S, Allegan, MI 49010-9609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price Range: $144 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on 65 secluded acres at our Southwest Michigan bed and breakfast, located near Saugatuck area and with private lake and walking trails. Book today in our romantic rooms and suites with comfy King or Queen beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and Wi-Fi. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast, at your own individual table for two, indulge in our on-site spa and enjoy delicious dinners at our romantic getaway. If you are looking for an inn in Saugatuck area or a romantic Allegan hotel, escape to Castle in the Country B&B Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Country Hotel Allegan
Castle In The Country Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing