We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Blanc, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our 15th Wedding Anniversary at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn. We had an amazing time. This was our first Bed & Breakfast experience so we were not sure what to expect. We were checked in promptly at 4:00 p.m. by Ruth and was given an overview of the inn as well as the local area. We stayed in the Kingdom room and were both amazed at how large and charming the room was. The king size bed was very comfortable and the fireplace was beautiful. On Saturday morning we enjoyed a couple's massage at the Inn and ate a wonderful cheese basket filled with wine, cheese, bread, etc. The town of Allegan is located where it was very easy for us to go explore Saugatuck and Holland. We ate two delicious dinners - one in Fennville and the other in Kalamazoo. The scenery was very serene and private. It is truly a romantic destination. We will definitely be back!! Thanks Ruth and Herb!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
You're Fabulous and thank you for sharing with our Trip Advisor readers about your amazing anniversary visit in the Kingdom suite. When our guests are celebrating something as special as an anniversary, we're thrilled when they pick a suite that's the right fit for them! We think this original master bedroom of the castle has all the necessary bells and whistles to celebrate in total comfort and luxurious surroundings and we're glad you enjoyed all 600 square feet of the space. We find that our guests who book our Royal Treatment package, like you did, get the most of our their visit with the side by side couple's massage and the picnic basket to follow right in their guest room. So glad you shared your experience with us and with our future guests, and hope you won't wait for another 15 years to go by before you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    29
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
215
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a get away to relax and enjoy the fall scenery. We have never stayed in a B&B before, and weren't quite sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised at the peaceful atmosphere, and beautiful room. We loved the fresh baked cookies and fabulous breakfast that greeted us in the morning. We stayed in the Camelot Suite, and loved the immense bathroom with all the amenities. We will surely come back to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guests,
We love to have first time B&B goers at our Inn. We're always thrilled when our guests take the plunge to try something new and book a getaway at our Inn. We're glad we exceeded your expectations and are happy that you found our property to be "Relaxing, accommodating and beautiful grounds" With a ." beautiful room and fabulous breakfasts". We're looking forward to seeing you soon now that you're no longer newbies to the B&B world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Castle in the Country and we will never forget it. We had the Romeo and Juliet suite and it was so romantic and cozy in there. The scenery was so beautiful, relaxing, and peaceful. If you're looking for a romantic vacation away from the city, this is it. The side by side massages was amazing and the staff gave you space to make you feel at home and comfortable. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Noemy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guests,
We loved hosting your honeymoon as a getaway from the city. We agree with you that beautiful, relaxing and peaceful scenery creates the most romantic setting and we're hoping the wonderful memories made at Castle in the Country will make you want to come back soon. Thank you for sharing such sweet comments with us and our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I are always looking for bed and breakfast locations on any great lakes coast. So when our anniversary rolled around we were a little apprehensive selecting a place so far inland. We were much surprised by the beauty of castle in the country.

Everything from the room , to the location on beautiful property, to the staff. All was extremely well done while not feeling over the top. Breakfast was top notch and arriving Friday afternoon we were surprised with home made pastry appetizer which was the best thing I ate that entire weekend.

It is a drive to any of the major attraction cities, however on a relaxing weekend, it wasn't bad at all, really enjoyable to tell the truth. Especially since it is fall and the changing of the seasons is amazing this time of the year in western Michigan.

Very well done Herb and Ruth, you will definitely be seeing my wife and I in years to come!

Room Tip: The jewel box is a great cozy room but very small. If you are looking for space choose another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We're so glad you took a chance on us at Castle in the Country and took the ride 30 minutes in-land from Lake Michigan. It's great when our guests appreciate the beauty of our 65 acre property and our surrounding countryside here in Southwest Michigan. We always try our best to welcome our guests with great food, great rooms, even greater (and larger) suites and friendly advise about the best ways to enjoy their well deserved getaway. Thanks for noticing that we want everything to be just right for you and we hope you can make it back for a winter wonderland visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I came up to Michigan to enjoy the wineries and scenery offered by the beautiful country setting with Fall just gearing up. We stayed in the Golden Tower, a cute/cozy room with plenty of space for two and kept impeccably clean/decorated. The grounds were beautiful and it was lovely getting to walk through the wooded area on our way to the lake. Everything was extremely picturesque (I rarely take photographs and even I couldn't help myself!). The innkeepers (my principal interaction was with Ruth) maintain a very well-kept and smoothly running operation. Breakfast each morning was delicious!! Furthermore, Ruth offered terrific recommendations for activities to do in the area. We enjoyed going to the wine tour at Fenn Valley (the owner himself did the tour!) and having an incredibly delicious lunch at "Salt of the Earth" (highly recommended!). Overall, the two nights we spent out in the country were exactly what we were looking for and Castle in the Country provided top-notch accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We're tickled pink that you enjoyed your Fall getaway with us at Castle in the Country! Our innkeepers work really hard to keep everything sparkling clean and picture-perfect so it is so gratifying when our guests notice our efforts. We completely enjoyed every interaction with you and we're so glad you had a great time at Fenn Valley and Salt of the Earth. Since we love these nearby businesses, we love it when our guests follow our suggestions and get to know them too. We're already gearing up for winter and have lots of suggestions for fun and relaxing activities like a sleigh ride in the woods, a sled-ride down the hill, or, sipping a glass of wine in front of a fireplace. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My fiancee and I couldnt have found a better place to have a Romantic getway. Everything about Castle in the country was outstanding! From the rooms to the fantastic breakfest we had each morning. Ruth and her staff made our stay perfect. We will be planning another trip in the near future here again. "Castle in the country" is the perfect name for this B&B as they made us feel like KIngs and Queens for the weeknd. The staff is very personable and friendly and goes that extra mile so you can enjoy your stay. The rooms, grounds, service and food are all outstanding!! Highly Recommened, Thanks to Castle in the country for a great weekend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for your amazing review! It made us feel so great to know that you felt like King and Queen of the Castle during your romantic getaway. The Lady Guinevere Suite is a charming whirlpool/fireplace suite and we loved hearing that it was perfect for you. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I were planning a weekend getaway to the west side of the state to visit a local apple orchard. This Inn truly exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Camelot Suite and it was even more amazing than what the website photos do it justice. Totally awesome bathroom! It is truly a wonderful bed and breakfast. It is a little bit of drive but if you are looking for things to do it is worth the trip into Holland, Saugatuck or St Joseph MI to shop or visit local wineries and breweries. We have already recommended the Inn to our friends. Definitely a gorgeous place to stay if you are looking forward to a get away in a rural area nestled into the rolling hills.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Loved your Awesome review and we're so glad we exceeded your expectations. We know how hard it is for guests to find exactly what they are looking for in a bed and breakfast experience, so we packed everything we wanted into the Camelot Suite. To us, giving it an incredible bathroom, two person shower, whirlpool tub, two fireplaces and two flat screen TVs would make it a suite that guests would never want to leave...and it sounds like it met that mark for you. We'll look forward to welcoming your friends based on your referral and hope to have you back soon as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegan
20.4 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
17.9 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
22.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
17.8 mi away
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
17.0 mi away
Henderson Castle Inn
Henderson Castle Inn
#6 of 6 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 340 M 40 S, Allegan, MI 49010-9609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on 65 secluded acres at our Southwest Michigan bed and breakfast, with private lake and walking trails. Book romantic rooms and suites at our Michigan inn and spa with comfy King or Queen beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and Wi-Fi. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast, indulge in our on-site spa and enjoy delicious dinners at our romantic Michigan getaway. If you are looking for an inn in Saugatuck area or a romantic Allegan hotel, escape to Castle in the Country B&B Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Country Hotel Allegan
Castle In The Country Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing