We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Allegan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our third time to this particular B & B. The first two times were fourteen and twelve years ago when it was called The Inn at Froggy's Pond. We had the same room, King Arthur's, but I don't think they had the "castlely" names back then.
The bed was like a cloud, the two person jacuzzi awesome and the view from the window breathtaking. I had paid for a picnic basket as an extra add-on so our second night there was spent drinking wine and eating cheese, fruit, crackers. That was nice since there really is nowhere at all to eat anywhere for miles and miles.
The people who worked there were always friendly and helpful.
If I had one con it would be the lack of light in the room. There were lamps on either side of the bed and a couple scounces but they had no more than 20 watt bulbs. Once nighttime set in, you were pretty much in the dark. If you wanted to read, forget it. Fortunately, there is a sitting room downstairs next to the dining room with a lamp.
In summary, if you want to unwind and just do nothing, this is a great place. If you need a little more entertainment, go to Saugatuck.

Room Tip: If you get a room in the "castle keep" which is the old "Inn at Froggy's Pond&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thanks for your great review of our Inn and we're so glad you enjoyed the "cloud-like" bed, the "awesome jacuzzi" and the "breath-taking view". Thanks also for mentioning the lighting issues that you experienced. Since we have the bed-side lamps with bulbs on 3-way switches and the wall sconces on dimmer switches, we might need to advise future guests ahead of time about how to get the higher wattage lighting out of each of these fixtures when they want it and that way we can hopefully avoid the only con that you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    29
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
219
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have been two times and plan on staying again. Superb retreat for a couple. It's this side of heaven! The service and amenities were amazing ! The crisp air and Michigan colors in November were beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llndaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Wow! It's such an honor when our guests return several times and we just love to give you all the service and amenities you love. Can't wait to see you back again and we'll do our best to make the third time just as charming as your previous visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I just got back from the Castle in the Country. We stayed in the King Arthur suite and it was nothing shy of amazing. The moment we go there it was instant relaxation. The was both modern and rustic at the same time and it was incredibly inviting. The view from this room is breathtaking and I believe it hosts the biggest window in the castle keep building. The inn keepers and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and did everything to make our stay wonderful.

We purchased a couple of add-ons, including the Isn't it Romantic package, and the Picnic Lunch. Both were high quality. The food was delectable our entire stay and the restaurant we received a voucher to, Salt of the Earth, was beyond words. I am already craving the fried risotto and hanger steak we had there.

The grounds were beautiful and this was in late fall. They have a nice trail for walking/biking, The pond is beautifully situated and there is a nice deck and Gazebo to sit and take it all in from. Everything was clean and so well kept up. It truly makes you feel like a home away from home...well a much more comfortable and less stressful home. ; ) We can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you like a room with a view, go for the King Arthur Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Megan,
We're so glad you had a "perfect MI getaway" at our Inn. We just love meeting the expectations of our guests in all the details of the guest rooms, property and every element we put into our add-on packages. Your words of encouragement make it all worthwhile and we really appreciate you taking the time to post so many great photos and your review showcasing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in the King Arthur Suite. The bright room was well decorated and comfortable. The huge window looked out over the pond and fields with a barn in the background. We walked to the lake to enjoy the paddle boat. Nice to be in a luxury place out in the country.

Room Tip: King Arthur Suite was on the second floor in the Castle Keep which is where you eat breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for your review of your experience at our Inn. So glad you enjoyed the view from the suite as we do. I think the country views surrounding both of our buildings are just the best because you can't beat the relaxing power of mother nature! Great to hear the paddle boat provided such a simple pleasure that you could enjoy together. Ready to try our complimentary Snow shoes? Hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I had never been to a B&B before. I was a little nervous going to one for my 1 year anniversary. I was in for a treat! It was nothing less than fantastic. The rooms were clean, staff was very nice and went above and beyond for our satisfaction. The massages were very relaxing! I plan on going back in the near future and highly recommend this place for anyone who mentions a nice getaway! Not to mention the food was fantastic as well! Thanks guys for treating us like royalty!

Chris M.

Room Tip: Camelot was the room we stayed in and honestly it was the best choice. You pretty much have your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Chris,
Thanks for being willing to take a risk and staying at a B&B for your first anniversary. We're so glad you chose us and that you felt it was a fantastic decision. How about a great Birthday or a "Just because we need a break" celebration this winter? We'll do our best to be the best place for your next romantic getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very Disappointed...Very Overpriced. Staff not honest about travel times to Holland, Saugatuck, South Haven and such. Plan on 45 - 50 minutes to get anywhere! Not the 20 - 30 minutes they will tell you. The SPA packages are way overpriced...go to the Four Season if you want a 'real SPA.' The room was clean but needs updating...the rooms should be priced about $125-$149 not anywhere close to where they are marked. Best advise is Buyer beware...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladyofthecastle, Owner at Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry that you were "disappointed" in the location of our Inn. We indicate that we are in the country and within a 30 Mile radius of Saugatuck/Douglas, Holland and South Haven. We do realize when guests are trying to locate restaurants, parking, etc. in unfamiliar areas that it may add some additional driving time so we will work to explain this more carefully in the future. Just to set the record straight though, we do have a very popular Grill Your Own Steak House and a full menu Pub (including Take Out) just 5 minutes away from us; a great Local & Organic Eatery and an Italian restaurant just 20 minutes from us; and an Authentic Mexican restaurant just 5 minutes away. Many of our guests choose to add "Dinner at the Inn" or our "Picnic Lunch" if they prefer not to go off-site after driving to get to our Inn.

Our prices for both our lodging and our packages are based on the comparable accommodations or services guests would receive at other neighboring properties. We encourage those who book with us to compare our prices with comparable places with comparable amenities; such as 2 person whirlpool tubs, larger than average size rooms/suites, full gourmet breakfast daily and on-site spa services if you wish to add this service. By the way, an Urban Spa such as the Four Seasons is definitely a lovely experience but also priced about 33% higher for spa services.

Many of our guests choose us BECAUSE of our rural location, and their desire to get away from all the other tourists who fill the resort towns in our area but they also choose us because of the quality of our property with much-larger-than-average whirlpool suites,exclusive use of our 65 acre grounds with complimentary use of kayaks & paddleboat on our private lake and walking trails on our spacious property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I surprised my husband with this weekend getaway for our anniversary. We were both very impressed!
We stayed in the Lady Guinevere Suite, it was beautiful. Very spacious and romantic. The gourmet breakfast and picnic lunch was also amazing. We actually took our lunch to a nearby park and had our own little picnic. I would highly recommend the couples massage, it rounded off the whole weekend. The entire staff was professional and helpful. This was one of the most relaxing and romantic weekends we've ever had. I look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegan
20.4 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
455 reviews
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Plainwell
88 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
DeLano Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
17.8 mi away
Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Allegan Budget Host Inn
Allegan Budget Host Inn
#1 of 1 in Allegan
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 340 M 40 S, Allegan, MI 49010-9609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Allegan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on 65 secluded acres at our Southwest Michigan bed and breakfast, with private lake and walking trails. Book romantic rooms and suites at our Michigan inn and spa with comfy King or Queen beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and Wi-Fi. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast, indulge in our on-site spa and enjoy delicious dinners at our romantic Michigan getaway. If you are looking for an inn in Saugatuck area or a romantic Allegan hotel, escape to Castle in the Country B&B Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle in the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Country Hotel Allegan
Castle In The Country Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing