We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”
Review of Hotel San Martin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Martin
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
givatayim, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We spent four nights in this hotel. It is very well kept, everything in immaculate condition, starting with the carpet in the halls and the room.We had a double room with a very small balcony overlooking the beach.Its a shame to see the quantity of very tall buildings that are erected in the sea front. Vina used to be one of the most charming cities in the world, but it's not the San Martin hotel to blame.Another sad view is the quantity of stray dogs. I was even a little afraid to walk the sea side. but, again. its not the hotel's fault.
Ok, about the hotel. Everything is nice in it, breakfast was average, like in all the other Chilean hotels we have stayed.
The room is very cheery and well furnished, but very small for a 4 stars hotel. We were bumping into each other all the time. We expected more for the high price.
There isn't a proper sitting room in the lobby, just some sofas in the breakfast room, and the bar was crowded most of the time. Again, for a 4 stars hotel it is not enough.
What makes the hotel a winner are 3 factors: location, location and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelmeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    251
    96
    17
    9
See reviews for
103
182
13
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel San Martin is located a block from the ocean. My room faced the sea (slightly higher price) and had a balcony with two chairs and a small table. The view was quite beautiful and I love hearing the sea at night. Comfortably furnished and arranged, room average size. Efficient and modern bathroom with a fine shower. Tall people might find the shower head a bit low, but could use the shower hand held as well. TV offers Spanish and English language programming. Staff is pleasant. Breakfast buffet has an ample selection of fruits, cheese, sliced meats, scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage, breads. Fresh bread daily, but it goes fast. The eggs are fine if you get there early; after that they seem squishy, wet, and unappetizing.

Room Tip: go for the ocean view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viageira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Rooms, although a little outdated and on the small side are very comfortable and clean. The view is great from the ocean side rooms which are much quieter. The restaurant is very good with a varied buffet breakfast menu. The hotel is close to many restaurants and a short walk to the supermarket or banks.
We walked along the waterfront to Vina central and enjoyed the views and coffee shops along the way. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. Lovely view and much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was there on business and all the hotels were full, so I was able to book this one @$180.00 which is grossly overpirced, but I guess it's a tourist spot. Vina as a whole is just pretty, but nothing amazing. The hotel was way past it's prime, but very clean. The one thing that upset me was that I booked the taxi with them and they charged me double what a regular taxi costs eventhough it's the same service. So I tried to cancel and they said that I was obligated to take it...ah no sorry I'm the guest. So I declined and had a very lengthy and unpleasant encounter with their staff. Good short term hotel, clean, and great location - just go to the cab stand a half a block away (towards the ocean) for friendly cab service. Cheers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Flores, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Fabulous place to stay. Great location - many many restaurants within a few blocks, ocean view rooms that are very modern, essentially on the beach. Their restaurant is excellent as well - good buffet breakfast, and high quality dinners. Nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Book early - it's a popular hotel in a beautiful city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEDeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, MN
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The price is a little stiff, but the rooms are nice. If you get an oceanside room, you'll hear the surf all night long. The staff is wonderfully accomodating, and the beach is right out the door. It's a bit of a haul to get to the main part of town where the action is though. Plenty of nearby restaurants including a fantastic steak place next door, a row of pizza places across the street, and many other choices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It is in a nice location in the tourist district. The resturants in the local area and in the hotel are very good. The only complaint would be we bboked an ocaen view room for 3 and the room was on the corner and didn't have a view of the ocean! Otherwise, very nice place to stay before a cruise!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Hotel & Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Mar - Enjoy Vina del Mar - Casino & Resort
0.8 mi away
Best Western Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey
#11 of 49 in Vina del Mar
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
#4 of 49 in Vina del Mar
160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Oceanic
Hotel Oceanic
#1 of 2 in Renaca
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ankara
Hotel Ankara
#14 of 49 in Vina del Mar
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Martin

Property: Hotel San Martin
Address: Avenida San Martin 667, Vina del Mar 2520096, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vina del Mar
#2 Family Hotel in Vina del Mar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vina del Mar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vina del Mar
#4 Business Hotel in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Martin, across the street from the beach, near the Casino, the best night clubs and nestled in the gastronomic heart of the City, San Martin Hotel is the best located hotel in Vina del Mar.Its rooms and suites are fully equipped to provide the guest with the maximum comfort. From the balcony in your room or from anywhere in the bulding you cant connect with Internet Wi-Fi.Everyhting is designed for the welfare of its guests: enjoy a drink at the bar or varied menu at the restaurant; continue with yout routine at the gym and follow it with a relaxing sauna; have a private office or book a meeting room.Your Restaurant and Bar "Don Joaquin" has varied cuisine created from a fusion of international and traditional Chilean ingredients, all accompanied by soothing live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing