We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ankara Hotel-great little find for Vina del Mar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ankara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ankara
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ankara Hotel-great little find for Vina del Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ankara is very well located in a very safe area and close to everything. The bed was very comfy, shower was good with great water pressure and the staff very helpful. We booked a standard room and the only reason I gave it a 4 was because it was a bit small for the price although adequate for the two of us. The staff were terrific and all spoke English well. Great point for this Hotel is that there is free valet parking in the underground garage which is a huge plus in Vina because parking is at a premium and difficult! The Hotel is located on St. Martin the main road so it can be noisy but it is only a one block walk to the gorgeous beach walk for sunset and is surrounded by some good restaurants. The Restaurant in the Hotel is called "Ha" and is great. Staff here too were very good, particularly the Barman, Nacho!

Room Tip: Rooms located on St. Martin are noisy. Might ask for something on the side which would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    59
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
21
66
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is well located and has friendly helpful staff. The wifi is a bit unstable but it's free. The suite we booked was spacious and clean and fairly well equipped
Breakfast is limited and if not included it may be worth going out lots of cafes nearby

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
513 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Nice hotel, nice staff, excellent place, but internet doesn't work properly, specially in the rooms, bath throws water all over, and waiters in breakfast room are slow and unefficient - it takes 20 minutes to bring you a cup of coffee.Anyway, I would come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelinho64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontrealCanada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were there in march 2012 for 3 nights what a nice hotel, very clean, well renovated, nice staff at the reception and at the restaurant. Very good breakfast and very very good capucino in the morning, The hotel offer free internet. Very close to the beach and restaurants.We will be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MmeRobillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is close to the beach as the advertisement says but not the beach for swimming which is a 15 minute walk not complaining about the walk but there is a difference between a beach for swimming and one for view.
The hotel rooms are quite small so do not bring too many suitcases and other than that the rooms are kept very clean by the staff.
The front desk will go out of their way to help you and are there for you. There was one hic up on a tour we did as we got a Spanish speaking guide but the guide we had was a very hospitable individual who went out of his way to show us Valparaíso and Vina del Mar. If you have a good grasp of Spanish ask for Senor Luis to be your guide as he was wonderful.
A big plus is the free internet.
Only thing that I can say was annoying was breakfast staff of three who tend to hide and it takes a long time to get juice and coffee. This can be easily solved by management through training.
I would still come back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel is a nice property and well-run hotel. It is also very well located and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Also, the hotel is quiet, even though there is quite a bit of traffic on the road in front of it.

The breakfast is very nice, too, but for a European like myself, it can be a bit confusing. There is a buffet part, but the selection is a bit limited. However, you can ask the waiter for many things that are not on the buffet, like omelets and they´ll make it for you and bring it to your table. But, if you are not used to this service, it might take you until the 2nd or 3rd morning until you understand how this works. Also, while the service at breakfast is very friendly, it could be a bit better, because the waiters seem to forget orders at times.

The rooms are nice and modern, but they are small. Especially, if you are on a business trip, there really is no other space but your bed to sit on and work.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

It appears to be over 2 years since the last review of the Ankara Hotel, but it is still "under construction" in 2009. At $115 US, I found this hotel to be overpriced and unworthy of its self-proclaimed 4* rating.

The rooms are on the small side, but generally well appointed. My main issues came with the service and amenities beyond the room. The hotel has only one small elevator, making it almost impossible for 2 people and their bags to make the trip at the same time. And the lobby, which still appears to be about 6 months away from completion, is not much more than a hallway. After checking out, when I asked to use the bathroom, they directed me to the Esso gas station down the street. No public restroom in the hotel?

A few other small issues that I found odd during my stay:
1. No corkscrew available at the front desk
2. Being charged for the chocolates they put on your pillow.

For the right price, this hotel may be worth a shot, but I would highly advise looking elsewhere in Vina del Mar.

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TallTexan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vina del Mar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Oceanic
Hotel Oceanic
#7 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Hotel & Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
#6 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marina Del Rey
BEST WESTERN Marina Del Rey
#9 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Blanca Hotel
La Blanca Hotel
#1 of 49 in Vina del Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Mar - Enjoy Vina del Mar - Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ankara

Property: Hotel Ankara
Address: Avenida San Martin 476, Vina del Mar 2520149, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ankara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ankara is located in the beautiful city of Viña del Mar, from here is extended to all latitudes. Hotel services are arranged and designed in order to attend visitors, giving them warmth, quality and reliability. Our Restaurant with a modern and contemporary vision that aims to become a design icon, reference of good taste and elegance supported in the known quality of our services. A suitable meeting place for enjoy a wide range of gourmet cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing