We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and Convenient”
Review of Mediterraneo B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mediterraneo B&B
Ranked #6 of 77 Vina del Mar B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A few more words to elaborate what I summarized in the title.

The B&B is clean and so are the rooms. It is not an upscale place but we felt it was well maintained. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom just about convenient.

Breakfast was good - there was cereal, bread, juice, milk and fruits (we are vegetarians so we skipped the meat slices).

The location is extremely convenient. The beach is an easy walk away so are restaurants and shops (grocery and otherwise). The Fonck museum is just a couple of blocks by walk as also the Ave. Libertad (to get a quick bus to Valpo).

Antonella and her husband are very friendly with quick suggestions on attractions mainstream and off-the-beaten track. We were traveling with two kids (10 and 4) and I followed his suggestion to go to the Caletas Portales to watch the pelicans and the sea lions. Was that a hit! That was the highlight of Vina del Mar for our kids (until we went to play at the beach).

We will certainly stay there on our next visit and highly recommend it for those of you who don't mind an affordable, convenient and quiet place to spend the night(s).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasudhachara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 98 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel was great for a budget hotel, but I didn't feel price reflected quality of rooms and common parts. But there was not a lot of choice when I booked and I was not unhappy with the room we were given. The furnishings and decorations were tired and the whole place could do with a complete renovation but it was lovely and clean and the staff were helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and we found a couple of excellent local restaurants (from TripAdvisor) less than 4 blocks away. It is in a lovely residential neighbourhood - not easily walkable fro the centre with luggage - but taxis are cheap and we were able to get a bus back from Valparaiso that dropped us off just one block away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenga22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very good and very clean B and B. 10 minutes walk to beach and in a good area easily accessed from Ave Libertad. Very helpful and nice young couple as hosts. Good value especially with private off street parking in this busy seaside resort. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Antonella was extremely helpful after we arrived in Vina del Mar. The B&B, a large converted house in a good neighborhood is basic, clean, quiet and economical. There is a supermarket for water and basic food and a pharmacy, both take charge cards, half a block away as well as a variety of restaurants (Must try empanadas), I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Walls are very thin on first floor and you hear the comings and goings in lobby; might be quieter up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdiana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Charming house off the main strip a few blocks from the beach, our stay was enjoyable and quiet. Antonella is very sweet and always ready with a call for a taxi, restaurant recommendation, etc. The house is very nice from the outside and still needs alot of work inside. That said, I would repeat that it was quiet and relaxing. As someone else said (and you can´t really blame the owners for this, but it may be something they want to look at improving?), the plumbing pipe noise is pretty loud, but again this is a very minor detail and shouldn´t stand in the way of choosing this place for a good bargain. Vina and Valparaiso are neat little cities, well worth a day or two each.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffandsalimalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

This b&b is clean, relaxed, and right near the beach and many restaurants and other attractions in vina. The owners are friendly and for $65/night, I felt like it was okay value. Our room wasn't luxurious but it was big and very clean. It felt a little like staying over at someone's house, not much like a hotel at all. The breakfast has good coffee, toast, granola, yogurt, ham and cheese, juice, and lots of fresh fruit. I got the feeling that some rooms were more fancily appointed that others. They have parking and can store your luggage pre-departure. Not a bad choice at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I lived in Chile for 2 years, so I am very familiar with living conditions in this country. Because of this experience, I had a little trepidation about staying in a house (turned into a B&B) rather than a hotel. My wife and I stayed at the Mediterraneo B&B for 4 nights in May 2012. We couldn't be happier with our experience. The staff was extremely hospitable and the breakfast each morning was great. The accommodations were very comfortable, with nice amenities like heaters and hot showers (we were there during the winter...). It is in a very good location; it is one block away from a main road through which many buses pass and a few more blocks away from the beach and shopping centers. The icing on the cake was that we only paid something like $70 per night, which is fantastic for such a nice place. Overall, I would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Vina del Mar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brady H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel 3poniente
Hotel 3poniente
#20 of 49 in Vina del Mar
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gala Hotel & Centro de Eventos
Gala Hotel & Centro de Eventos
#39 of 49 in Vina del Mar
193 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Camino del Alto
Hotel Camino del Alto
#25 of 49 in Vina del Mar
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Bahia Bonita Apart Hotel
Bahia Bonita Apart Hotel
#12 of 49 in Vina del Mar
66 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Nilahue
Hotel Nilahue
#26 of 49 in Vina del Mar
51 reviews
1.3 mi away
B&B CasaMoro Hostel
B&B CasaMoro Hostel
#5 of 77 in Vina del Mar
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo B&B

Address: Uno Oriente 760, Vina del Mar 2521003, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Vina del Mar
Price Range: $60 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterraneo B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mediterraneo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing