We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaguar Hostel + Living

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jaguar Hostel + Living
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Comfortable room, great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in the single room (which can easily house two). Only thing to improve comfort would be to have carpets in the room, however I went during the winter and they are probably not there to make Summer easier to bear. Didn't see too many other travellers since I travelled off-season.

Would stay again.

No pool or gym (re rating)

Room Tip: Single room downstairs was the one I stayed in, was pretty much what I needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsatdcms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
49
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was a nice place to stay for a few days. The elephant room is pretty quiet, has tv, good bathroom. The breakfast was very good and the hosts are very helpful with advice on things to do. It's also only a few blocks from the strip of restaurants and bars and close to the beach!! (p.s. eat at Diego Pizza!!! super delicious)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CN711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

There is an irish proverb that says "There are no such things as strangers, just friends we haven't met". This hostel might as well hang this saying over every room in their house. Walking in there is an immediate sense of warmth and hospitality, as if I had come to stay in the house of a friend. But the hospitality stretched beyond my first moments.

i can honestly say this is a budget hostel that carries itself with the service and attention of a 5 star hotel. And I daresay that some 5 star hotels don't even come close to the level of service and attention that the owners of Jaguar Hostel have attained.

My first surprise was when I came down for breakfast the first morning. Breakfast is standard for most hostels but there was a twist. All the tables were set up with individual place settings and I was ushered courteously into a seat and offered whatever I would like to drink. Some ready made fresh yogurt was at my place setting so I could dig in straight away.

The owners would cook breakfast in the kitchen and serve it to us. They were insistent that we were not to trouble ourselves by serving ourselves but they want to do everything for us and make sure all our whims are met. I have never experienced anything like this in any hostel I have stayed at.

On sunday they decided to have a Sunday BBQ for all the guests of the hostel. We all got to participate in lively conversation while savoring delicious tortillas filled with meat and cheese. After my experience with these people there is no doubt that the irish proverb has truly sprung to life.....there is no such thing as strangers, just friends we haven't met :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello, we are very proud to have been providing unforgettable travel experience at Jaguar Hostel + Living we appreciate your comments and recommendations and look forward to your next trip to vineyard with new surprises always focused on keeping our hospitality, improve our service and infrastructure. The best of the vibes and keep traveling!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vina del Mar, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you are looking for a safe, clean and comfortable place to stay for a night or a month, the Jaguar is the best choice. It is located on the north side, just a few blocks walk from the central plaza, the beach, the casino, the bus station and all the restaurants. The owner manages everything personally and even makes the breakfast himself on Sundays. The breakfasts, by the way, are always ,different, delicious and nutritious are included in the room price.

Every room is cleaned daily, the downstairs has the big screen TV, the patio has a BBQ grill, guests can use the kitchen and everyone has WiFi. Local tours are available at a reasonable price, so you can explore the wine country, museums, the bar circuit and beautiful Puerto Quintay.

Vina del Mar has become pricey the last few years, and the Jaguar represents a wonderful value. Try to get reservations here first when you come to visit Chile's most beautiful city.

Room Tip: The bottom floor is quieter, but the top floor has the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albertcscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Google Translation
Nos sentimos muy orgullosos de haber podido brindar una experiencia de viaje inolvidable en Jaguar Hostel+Living agradecemos tus comentarios y recomendacionespara nuestros viajeros y los esperamos en su proximo viaje a viña con nuevas sorpresas siempre enfocados a mantener nuestra hospitalidad, mejorar nuestro servicio e infraestructura. Las mejores de la vibras y a seguir viajando!

Saludos Coordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ricardo immediately made us feel at home. The room was comfortable, clean. Wi-fi and tv's were nice amenities for a hostel. The living room with the fireplace was wonderful. The outdoor area was great for relaxing and hanging out after a day exploring Vina. Breakfast was spot on. Great value, great location and a good nights sleep. Perfecto Ricardo!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcfromATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Google Translation
Nos sentimos muy orgullosos de haber podido brindarte una experiencia de viaje inolvidable agradecemos tus comentarios y los esperamos en su proximo viaje a viña con nuevas sorpresas siempre enfocados a mantener nuestra hospitalidad, mejorar nuestro servicio e infraestructura. Las mejores de la vibras y a seguir viajando!

Saludos Coordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I would recommend this hostel to anyone considering visiting Vina Del Mar, it's a very nice, well maintained and friendly place to stay. The owners were outstanding, offering many suggestions, options and favourite spots for a newcomer to travel, to get to know what the town has to offer. The hostel is clean, has a great back patio, and excellent facilities.
Thanks to Martha and Richie.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos tus comentarios. Las mejores de la vibras y a seguir viajando!

Saludos Coordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for one night only, but the welcoming feeling made my stay. It is clean, well looked after and the priviledge to use the living area with proper tables and light was superb. Patio was inviting and the staff was very helpful. What I appreciated most was a late check out time:-) As my return was very late. Enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Even the dormitory looked nice and organized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Google Translation
Agradecemos tus comentarios, te esperamos en tu próxima visita a Viña del Mar. Las mejores de la vibras y a seguir viajando!

Saludos Coordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monaldi
Hotel Monaldi
#20 of 49 in Vina del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Hotel & Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Street Garden Hostel
Street Garden Hostel
#2 of 100 in Vina del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casona de Chorrillos
Casona de Chorrillos
#13 of 100 in Vina del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Columba Hostel
Columba Hostel
#35 of 100 in Vina del Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Patrimonial Little Castle
Casa Patrimonial Little Castle
#4 of 73 in Vina del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Hostel + Living? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Hostel + Living

Property: Jaguar Hostel + Living
Address: Pasaje Massot 12, Vina del Mar 2520000, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Vina del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jaguar Hostel + Living 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Jaguar Hostel + Living reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing