We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget hostel with a 5 star hotel attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jaguar Hostel + Living
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

There is an irish proverb that says "There are no such things as strangers, just friends we haven't met". This hostel might as well hang this saying over every room in their house. Walking in there is an immediate sense of warmth and hospitality, as if I had come to stay in the house of a friend. But the hospitality stretched beyond my first moments.

i can honestly say this is a budget hostel that carries itself with the service and attention of a 5 star hotel. And I daresay that some 5 star hotels don't even come close to the level of service and attention that the owners of Jaguar Hostel have attained.

My first surprise was when I came down for breakfast the first morning. Breakfast is standard for most hostels but there was a twist. All the tables were set up with individual place settings and I was ushered courteously into a seat and offered whatever I would like to drink. Some ready made fresh yogurt was at my place setting so I could dig in straight away.

The owners would cook breakfast in the kitchen and serve it to us. They were insistent that we were not to trouble ourselves by serving ourselves but they want to do everything for us and make sure all our whims are met. I have never experienced anything like this in any hostel I have stayed at.

On sunday they decided to have a Sunday BBQ for all the guests of the hostel. We all got to participate in lively conversation while savoring delicious tortillas filled with meat and cheese. After my experience with these people there is no doubt that the irish proverb has truly sprung to life.....there is no such thing as strangers, just friends we haven't met :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Hello, we are very proud to have been providing unforgettable travel experience at Jaguar Hostel + Living we appreciate your comments and recommendations and look forward to your next trip to vineyard with new surprises always focused on keeping our hospitality, improve our service and infrastructure. The best of the vibes and keep traveling!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 217 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you are looking for a safe, clean and comfortable place to stay for a night or a month, the Jaguar is the best choice. It is located on the north side, just a few blocks walk from the central plaza, the beach, the casino, the bus station and all the restaurants. The owner manages everything personally and even makes the breakfast himself on Sundays. The breakfasts, by the way, are always ,different, delicious and nutritious are included in the room price.

Every room is cleaned daily, the downstairs has the big screen TV, the patio has a BBQ grill, guests can use the kitchen and everyone has WiFi. Local tours are available at a reasonable price, so you can explore the wine country, museums, the bar circuit and beautiful Puerto Quintay.

Vina del Mar has become pricey the last few years, and the Jaguar represents a wonderful value. Try to get reservations here first when you come to visit Chile's most beautiful city.

Room Tip: The bottom floor is quieter, but the top floor has the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertcscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013
Google Translation

Nos sentimos muy orgullosos de haber podido brindar una experiencia de viaje inolvidable en Jaguar Hostel+Living agradecemos tus comentarios y recomendacionespara nuestros viajeros y los esperamos en su proximo viaje a viña con nuevas sorpresas siempre enfocados a mantener nuestra hospitalidad, mejorar nuestro servicio e infraestructura. Las mejores de la vibras y a seguir viajando!

Saludos Coordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ricardo immediately made us feel at home. The room was comfortable, clean. Wi-fi and tv's were nice amenities for a hostel. The living room with the fireplace was wonderful. The outdoor area was great for relaxing and hanging out after a day exploring Vina. Breakfast was spot on. Great value, great location and a good nights sleep. Perfecto Ricardo!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcfromATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013
Google Translation

Nos sentimos muy orgullosos de haber podido brindarte una experiencia de viaje inolvidable agradecemos tus comentarios y los esperamos en su proximo viaje a viña con nuevas sorpresas siempre enfocados a mantener nuestra hospitalidad, mejorar nuestro servicio e infraestructura. Las mejores de la vibras y a seguir viajando!

Saludos Coordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I would recommend this hostel to anyone considering visiting Vina Del Mar, it's a very nice, well maintained and friendly place to stay. The owners were outstanding, offering many suggestions, options and favourite spots for a newcomer to travel, to get to know what the town has to offer. The hostel is clean, has a great back patio, and excellent facilities.
Thanks to Martha and Richie.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos tus comentarios. Las mejores de la vibras y a seguir viajando!

Saludos Coordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for one night only, but the welcoming feeling made my stay. It is clean, well looked after and the priviledge to use the living area with proper tables and light was superb. Patio was inviting and the staff was very helpful. What I appreciated most was a late check out time:-) As my return was very late. Enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Even the dormitory looked nice and organized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos tus comentarios, te esperamos en tu próxima visita a Viña del Mar. Las mejores de la vibras y a seguir viajando!

Saludos Coordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Jaguar was the last stop of our vacation, and it was definitely the best place we stayed. It had an relaxing atmosphere with nice livingroom and a nice back yard with hammock and sofa. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They spoke good english, which is not common in Chile. We stayed in a small room with doublebed with shared bathroom, and was suprised how clean and nice it was. They are really serious about taking care of this place. The breakfast was a different plate everyday for our amusement. Jaguar is perfectly located with short walking distance to the beach and the city center. The area have nice restaurants and bar nearby as well. Located in the middle of the city, the trafic never made noise. From the city center you could easily travel to Valparaiso for a day trip. Jaguar offers guided tours, such as Valparaiso walk and Wineyards of Casablanca Valley. This is definitely a place we would go back at!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReiseR0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013
Google Translation

Nos sentimos muy orgullosos de haberles podido brindar una experiencia de viaje inolvidable. Agradecemos tus comentarios y recomendaciones y los esperamos en su proximo viaje a viña con nuevas sorpresas siempre enfocados a mantener nuestra hospitalidad, mejorar nuestro servicio e infraestructura. Las mejores de la vibras y a seguir viajando!

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in a four bed dorm in December 2012. We arrived quite late and they took a while to open the gate when we rang the bell so we were worried we wouldn't get in for a few minutes, but after that everything went well. The room was nice and the shared bathroom was OK. It was generally unoccupied when we needed it, although sometimes we had to wait. There was always hot water.

The breakfast was really good, although it was a bit late one morning. We didn't really use the kitchen other than to make a cup of tea, but the living room was nice, with a good TV and there was a nice space to relax outside. Sometimes it was a bit noisy at night though.

The hostel is in a really nice area, with lots of pleasant streets to wander along and not far from the shops and restaurants and of course the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaguarVinadelmar, Gerente at Jaguar Hostel + Living, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos tus comentarios y recomendaciones y los esperamos en su proximo viaje a viña con nuevas sorpresas siempre enfocados a mantener nuestra hospitalidad, mejorar nuestro servicio e infraestructura. Las mejores de la vibras y a seguir viajando!

Saludos Coordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Mar
Hotel del Mar
#3 of 49 in Vina del Mar
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Blanca Hotel
La Blanca Hotel
#1 of 49 in Vina del Mar
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3poniente
Hotel 3poniente
#20 of 49 in Vina del Mar
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Hotel & Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monaldi
Hotel Monaldi
#22 of 49 in Vina del Mar
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
#4 of 49 in Vina del Mar
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Hostel + Living? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Hostel + Living

Address: Pasaje Massot 12, Vina del Mar 2520004, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Vina del Mar
Price Range: $30 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jaguar Hostel + Living 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jaguar Hostel + Living reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing