We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”
Review of Hotel del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Mar
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Vina del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visited the Hotel del Mar because it was close to the location we were working at, and it was outside of Santiago enough that we didn't have to fight any city traffic. The hotel was very nice, clean and had good accommodations. There was a lounge on one floor that was nice, and the pool area was good. There was also a decent area to work out.

We ate at the Casino/mall area almost every night. There were quite a few restaurants to choose from. The food was good. Not all restaurants seemed to be open every night. Dinner time in Chile is later than we were accustomed to, so be prepared to eat around 9 PM.

The casino was good, although, I only gambled one night. There was no problem finding a seat at the table. There was also a cover charge to get into the casino area.

There was not much English being spoken, but the hotel staff was patient, and we were able to communicate with what Spanish we did know.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 531 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have stayed a couple of nights at the seventh floor presidential suíte and the room is very comfortable. It is spacious, up to date and the view is astonishing. My wife loves to sleep with the sound of the waves and I love a clili weather so the combination is perfect. Casino is just downstairs and there are a lot of restaurants nearby so it is perfectly located. Couples should definately try the presidential suíte.

Room Tip: Try the presidential suíte.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LostBrazilians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I found this hotel to be luxurious. The rooms had ample room by American Standards. The views from the pool, the gym, and our balcony were stunning. The staff were overall very efficient and friendly. The only downfall that I found was that the front desk staff was rather slow at checking people in and out to the point where there was a long line but then again long lines are pretty common in Chile. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliTwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, good restaurant. And noticed it has also a dancing club and a big pool on the terrace. (I didn't use it). Main attraction is the casino of course.
I still have no idea how to regulate air condition on the room, but nothing that a good pajama can help

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC_Soto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We reserved a Presidential Suite. When we arrived they told us it was being repaired so we had to take another room. After much negotiating we did get a fair reduction in the price but that was after they told us no and nobody had the authority to change the price. Magically the manager appears after we threatened cancel the week. Then we discovered that the room we wanted was in perfect order it is just that the guest before us wanted to stay longer. I think he/.they were big gamblers. The room was still very good with lots of space. The location is good. The other thing that made us crazy is that we wanted to take a little cookie out of the breakfast and they publicly tried to shame me when I put a little cookie in a napkin to take to the room.

Room Tip: Trust but verify
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eph76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here as a couple three nights.

The hotel is clean, rooms are spacious and bright in a very good location. Breakfast was good to very good.

The beaches are over rated and had we known that we would have stayed in Valpo versus here.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Love2dine054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a lovely hotel with very nice views, but that was it. The cleaning staff were the only friendly employees, they greeted us every time they saw us. The front concierge staff and wait staff on the other hand were not as pleasant. One example of their unwillingness to help on a Sunday it is difficult to find a place to eat in the town, so we asked the concierge to recommend a place that would be open. He gave us two places and both were closed. Another example, we were sitting out on their minuscule area to sunbath and the waitress when I asked for a menu said they did not serve food there, and when I asked why others had food, her response was that it took a half hour and she didn't think I would want to wait. Like I said nice, clean hotel, just don't expect friendly service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylieloehner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vina del Mar hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Hotel & Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Best Western Marina Del Rey
Best Western Marina Del Rey
#10 of 49 in Vina del Mar
516 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Oceanic
Hotel Oceanic
#1 of 2 in Renaca
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Blanca Hotel
La Blanca Hotel
#1 of 49 in Vina del Mar
483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
Hotel Boutique Cassinetta
#4 of 49 in Vina del Mar
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gala Hotel & Centro de Eventos
Gala Hotel & Centro de Eventos
#38 of 49 in Vina del Mar
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mar

Address: Avenida San Martin 199, Vina del Mar 2520179, Chile
Location: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Vina del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vina del Mar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vina del Mar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vina del Mar
#2 Business Hotel in Vina del Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Vina del Mar
Price Range: $154 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel del Mar is located in Vina del Mar, the tourist destination par excellence and a "must-see" city for those who seek unforgettable experiences. It’s a hotel you have to visit in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar - Enjoy Vina Del Mar Vina Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar - Enjoy Vina Del Mar - Casino And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing