We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious meal, thank you.”

The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill
Ranked #368 of 11,055 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: The Marina
Description: Tucked away in a hotel loading dock, on the edge of Dubai's sprawling coastline, The MAINE Oyster Bar & Grill is a seaside brasserie devoid of any pretension or gimmickry. As an expression of their North American roots, Montreal gastropreneur, Joey Ghazal and head chef, Liam Breen, are serving up a slice of culinary nostalgia for those longing for an honest dining experience. Of course no brasserie experience is complete without a glistening raw bar that anchors the room serving seafood towers, fashionable crudo and oyster galore. Boasting crowd-pleasing brasserie fare the family style menu runs the gamut from steaks and chops, to fresh fish and seafood, to pot roasts and steamers, bolstered by a slim unpretentious wine list. The long-bar at The MAINE attracts an eclectic crowd of young urbanites downing good old-fashioned cocktails by the bucket. Blending a post-industrial design aesthetic with a laid-back New England extravagance, the retro-vintage feel pays homage to the immortal charm of the state whose slogan justly proclaims 'The Way Life Should Be'.
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile

I was given the heads up about this place whilst at work in West Africa. What was especially convenient was the fact that it is located right next door to where we were staying.
The restaurant is laid out a bit like a pier setting although it has somewhat strange approach; through the carpark beneath the Double Tree Hilton.
We were greeted with the news that until 8pm the oysters of one particular sort were at a discount rate; so this was the place to start. 12 fresh oysters - superb! We followed this with the fish of the day Sea Bass, with sides of garlic mash and brussel sprouts; yes they are sprouts but not like you will have known before. This was a signature dish and dare i say it even my wife who does not like BS (brussel sprouts; doesn't like the other BS either) helped herself to multiple helpings. The fish was quite perfectly cooked and had pretty much been completely deboned. For dessert we had the creme brûlée and the part cooked cookie with ice cream, perhaps a little on the sweet side however the brûlée was divine. Marco our waiter was superb; very busy but was able to give us the right amount of attention, not intrusive at all. We enjoyed a bottle of NZ Baby Doll sauvignon blanc, also recommended by Marco and an inspired choice it was too. Highly recommend the Maine; busy, a little noisy with all the chat and good times going on but well worth the visit, enjoyed the meal immensely and the quirky atmosphere of the place.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank robertgB5456BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyGhazal, Public Relations Manager at The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Hi Robert,
We are incredibly happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience with us!
We hope to see you again soon for another (hopefully just as great) experienced!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 434 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2017

Went on a dinner date to try different oysters and the seafood. The ambiance inside is very cool and just like the oyster bars in New York and Boston. The wide selection of oysters from different regions with their explanations on the menu is a delightful experience. The rest of the menu is also very tasty and well thought. Just a mini reminder; the brussel sprouts at the side dishes are first deep fried and then mixed with heavy butter. This is to let you know that if you want a fresh veggie side, this is not it but it's super tasty if you can handle the heaviness. Our waiter was also very well informed about the items on the menu and guided us through our selections.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sertug Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyGhazal, Public Relations Manager at The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Hi Sertug,
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and your feedback on our dishes is always welcome and will be taken under advisement!
We hope to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017

If you're looking for some good oysters, then The Maine is the place to go. Other than the oysters, the lobster roll and the fish tacos are excellent. Another favourite on the menu is the brussel sprouts.

Great atmosphere and good service. Can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Humaidmansoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyGhazal, Public Relations Manager at The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Hi Humaidmansoor,
We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we definitely look forward to seeing you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile

We visited for Shuckfest happy hour. The oysters we had were excellent quality and at 120 she a dozen brilliant value . Although I must admit the cocktails on offer during happy hour were very good but limited to a choice of 2 which was rather disappointing.
We will definitely return once next in Dubai and will try more of the seafood on offer which looked excellent to.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank PC19782014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyGhazal, Public Relations Manager at The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Hi PC,
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us!
Your feedback is always welcome and will definitely be taken under advisement!
We look forward to seeing you here again when you're in Dubai next!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017 via mobile

Beyond amazing food ........there's a waiter Justin that is the greatest at wine pairing he's a lovely helpful gentleman not to mention he suggested the most sinfully heavenly desert. I'm writing this review literally four minutes from leaving and I wish I had room for more it's so good. This is a dress to the nines or t-shirt and jeans type of place. Beautiful decor Lovely floor plan they must really take time to choose chefs because every thing was so well prepared and tasty. I don't have enough time or words to describe this place that is a gem in the Dubai jbr the walk area. I plan on coming next time I come to Dubai First day (sticky toffee pudding) has me hooked.
Hostesses: wonderful
Waiter: beyond helpful and amazing I mean my companion had small need to knows and extra wanted all meet with smiles answers and and love
Food:just try it and taste what I experienced

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyGhazal, Public Relations Manager at The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Hi Jane,
We're very pleased to hear about your experience with us!
We hope to see you here again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to The Maine Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing