We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victory snatched from the jaws of potential disaster”

D&A - Dhow and Anchor
Ranked #129 of 9,926 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dhow and Anchor - known as D&A - is a modern award-winning British gastropub which offers a large terrace area with a fully-fitted beverage counter and unforgettable views of Burj Al Arab Jumeirah. The restaurant offers contemporary British cuisine and embodies stylish, yet casual dining.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Ditto other comments about bookings - they don't take bookings but you need to inform in advance of any special (e.g. gluten-free) requirements - confused?.. the staff were! Despite this we were seated quite quickly and ordered from a good choice menu.

A technical hitch then meant the starters were severely delayed with the waiting staff apparently oblivious to the fact that no food was being prepared or delivered. Step up general manager Mesrob who got a complete grip on the situation, rallied his troops and the dishes of very high quality (and quantity) food were flying to the tables.

A round of free drinks and Mesrob's calming demeanour and ruthless efficiency, saved the night - we left happy with good memories and will return.

Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesrob Y, General Manager at D&A - Dhow and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Good Afternoon!

Hope could I forget such an evening! Yet again our true apologies regarding out printing system in Dhow & Anchor that night.Yes we currently dont take reservations at D&A and are in the process of fine tuning the matter.

The kitchen team does put out a great meal dispite the technical glitch and are always here to support our guests at all times. On my end its the least I can do and I truely enjoyed your families company after we got some good food and better service in your system!

I am very grateful that you and your family left happy and content at the end of the evening! Please do let me know when you guys are back and looking forward to hosting you guys again!

Kindest Regards

Mesrob Yergatian ( GM - Dhow & Anchor )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 379 of 525 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

After initial misunderstanding over reservation ( d&a do not take reservations) we were offered complimentary drinks the shown to our table. we all ordered only. Main course, having been previously and knowing the portion sizes! Fish and chips, Mushy peas.

Quick service, piping hot and very tasty. well presented and all staff very pleasant. busy place so be prepared to wait for a table. top tip ask for menu whilst you wait, the you reduce wait time for you and others! Thanks to Laura for getting us seated quickly and ensuring we had a speedy service. well done that lady.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1sunworshippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesrob Y, General Manager at D&A - Dhow and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Love the Title!

I wanted to thank you for coming into Dhow & Anchor first and foremost and having such a quick and enjoyable evening! Chef Sydney's Fish & Chips are one of the best there is in town!

Laura is a great asset to Jumeirah beach Hotel and happy she got you seated right away. Please let me know when you are back into D&A and looking forward to welcoming you back again!

Kindest Regards

Mesrob Yergatian ( General Manager D&A)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

had great dinner here and would fully recommend. onion tart starter was amazing, chicken liver parfait was delicious but needed more bread. mixed grill was delicious tho the steak was tiny. the liver was the best i have ever had..totally gorgeous. the portion sizes are massive so we didnt manage desert but we will deffinatly go back to tey again. the service was excellent and the staff extremely polite, attentive & friendly. fully recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gorgeouspaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesrob Y, General Manager at D&A - Dhow and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Gorgeouspaula!

Thanks for such a great review about Dhow&Anchor. It was a pleasure reading your insights about the food and service about our restaurant on Trip Advisor.

The chicken liver parfait is another favourite in D&A. We will make sure you get more bread you come dine with us. Depending on what day you come in the steak sizes will vary due to the butchers cut of the day.

Please ask for me when you arrive back in D&A and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back again!

Best Regards,

Mesrob Yergatian
General manager, D&A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We've been to Dhow and Anchor a few times now for lunch. Nice menu although a bit pricey. Handcut chips that come with the Wagyu burger is yummy- as with the apple tart.

Thank jenniferhpkang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyra B, Manager at D&A - Dhow and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Jennifer,

What a pleasure to read that you have been visiting us regularly for lunch, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others online.

I truly hope to see you again for lunch. Keep an eye on our offers, in order to get a discount on your bill, such as the entertainer voucher, our Business Lunch promotion or other promotions. For more information you can call us any time between 11AM-1AM on 04-4068720.

Thank you & kind regards,

Kyra Bommeljé
Assistant Manager D&A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

A British pub Arabic style with Pilipino bar tender and waiters, good food including bangers and mash and great atmosphere during World Cup games.

Thank Teegaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyra B, Manager at D&A - Dhow and Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Teegaray,

I love the title of your review 'never a dhow moment', and I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write such kind words on Trip Advisor. The world cup is about to finish, but you can come in any day of the year to experience the lively atmosphere in our outlet.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

Kyra Bommeljé
Assistant Manager D&A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D&A - Dhow and Anchor also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to D&A - Dhow and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing