We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star service but not quite five star accomadation”
Review of Amwaj Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amwaj Rotana
Ranked #63 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Good hotel if you want to stay on Jumierah Beach which is a great location on "the walk". We had a sea view room with two small double beds (would have preffered a king size double) with en suite bathroom with shower but no bath (again we expected and like a bath). The sea view bedroom unfortunately overlooks a derelict piece of land which spoils the view which also includes the palm and the Atlantis hotel. Service and staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. Food was very good with an all day buffet at the Horizon restaurant - but like all buffet food after a few days it becomes samey. I would absolutely recommend this five star hotel if you are looking for a a good value hotel on the marina. At the time of year we stayed the hotel pool only gets around two and a half hours of sunshine per day as the tall building along the front cast shadow that does not allow the sun to get through until almost lunchtime and is gone again at around 4.00pm. At busy times the three hotel lifts couldn't cope so you had to wait and the lobby and entrance is almost austere with very little to make you think this is five star. Overall it was extremely good value as we were given half board as a special promotion at no extra cost. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and I am very pleased to learn that our staff did their best to make your visit memorable.

I am sorry to hear that the derelict land across the hotel disappointed you. We are in constant communication with the officials responsible for the land and rest assured that improvements will happen at the soonest. I hope this will not affect the possibility of you returning to Amwaj on your next trip.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,890)
There are newer reviews for Amwaj Rotana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,202 - 2,208 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

We booked a 'Club Room' mainly for the normally peaceful atmosphere away from the main hotel area's. The hotel web site advertises floors 21-25 as being the club rooms. They also make it clear that the rooms are exactly the same as the rest of the hotel.
The first thing we noticed was that most hotels have key card access to the club floors in the lifts but here anyone has access to these floors.
On arrival, which was 90 minutes before the official check in time we were offered 2 rooms, one on the 19th floor or we could wait for one on the 25th. It did seem strange to be offered the 19th floor when floors 21-25 are advertised but it later became clear that there were non club guests staying on club floors as well.
You pay less for side sea view rooms in the main hotel but in the club rooms you pay the same whatever room you get ,so some get full sea view some get side view.
In the club lounge there was quite a lot of room number checking as some non club guests often thought that they could come in.
The 6pm -8pm evening period in the lounge when alcohol is available clearly states that children under 12 will not be admitted during this period. Quite a few of the nights we were there this rule was not adhered to, therefore the idea of a quiet drink did not always happen. We also had a couple of 'will do's' which did not happen.
Having said all this the food in the club lounge was excellent and the hotel has first class facilities and the staff in the club lounge were brilliant, as they were wherever you went in the hotel.
It seems that in my opinion it is management in this hotel that is not quite getting it right.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stepsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Dear Guest,

We just recently got an access to reply to our guest here in Tripadvisor and it was a pleasure reading your feedback as it through comments such as yours that we are able to improve our services and facilities.

Going through your feedback during one of my morning briefing with my department heads, this is to assure you that all your points were noted and necesarry actions has been taken. Our hotel is constantly training our staff in order to provide excellent service to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you to Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed at this newly opened hotel on our way back from Oz, in our opinion not as nice as the Mina Seyahi where we stayed on way out. You have to use bridge and stairs/lift to get to the beach and walk across a car park. Staff were delightful and very helpful. We went to the Grand Prix in Abu Dhabi so this hotel was the right end of Dubai, taxi cost 170Dh there and 200Dh back. Our room with a sea view was in a North corner so rather dark.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendawoods16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Dear Guest,

We just recently got an access to reply to our guest here in Tripadvisor and it was a pleasure reading your feedback as it through comments such as yours that we are able to improve our services and facilities.

The hotels that opened years ago have private beaches when this area was still under planning. All the new hotels like ours can not have that privilege but they compensate by giving modern facilities and high service standards. The area is in progress and it is the aim of Dubai to develop this area and attract more tourist.

Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you to Amwaj Rotana Hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed 3 nights and overall were very happy with the friendliness of the staff, the excellent location and the general facilities available. However on our first night we had a disagreement with the restaurant staff when we enquired why the 'early bird' discount was not included in our bill. Well it turns out that while we were seated 15 minutes before early bird time finished, our order was not taken until after, so they initially refused to allow the discount. The amount in question was small and we could afford to pay it, but we held out 'in principle'. While we eventually received the discount, it left a 'sour taste' and we felt the hotel had been very rules & system drive in their handling of the issue.
However, by the end of the vacation, we were happy with the hotel and the staff were friendly and attentive

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddieore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your nice comments regarding the service and friendliness of our staff. However, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenienced you have experienced in one of our outlets. It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and indeed our staff should have handled the matter in a different way in order not to lead to any disagreement.

I have personally discussed in one of our regular meetings that department heads should ensure that their employees are briefed on the policy regarding promotions in the hotels, i.e. early birds discounts, HB, etc, in order to avoid similar situation to occur in the future.

I look forward to welcoming you to Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai once again and trust that these incident will not deter you from using our facilities in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We recently stayed here for a week. Having stayed in many 5* hotels in Dubai, this hotel wasnt as luxurious and the staff werent as professional as in the others but it was none the less a good hotel. Although the room was a little small(premium sea view), it was very clean and the bathroom was lovely. Most of the staff were friendly, however trying to make a booking through the hotel to go to the Burj Khalifa tower proved to be too much. I was passed from one person to another and in the end the booking didnt go through properly, so beware. The pool is too small for the size of the hotel and there is no private beach area for the hotel but the public beach is just five minutes across the road. The horizon restaurant is fine for the buffet breakfast and the gym is good and well equipped. We enjoyed our stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay442010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

It was nice to learn that you had a great time staying in our hotel. Likewise, I have noted you comments regarding your booking in Burj Khalifa and I am disappointed to learn the service provided by our staff. Normally, anyone who would like to visit The Top in Burj Khalifa, either the ticket should be purchased directly in Dubai Mall or through online. Our Front Office employees are briefed to provide this information whenever there is an inquiry from any guest.

Also, the hotels that opened years ago have private beaches when this area was still under planning. All the new hotels in JBR can not have that privilege but they compensate by giving modern facilities and high service standards.

Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This is the 5th visit to Dubai and everytime the number of hotels availble gets bigger and bigger - we got an excellent deal here , although half board is not my cup of tea- the food was good but we did enjoy dining in the other restaurants although we had to pay for them- there is something more appealing to dine in a nice ambience rather than where you have breakfast - service from all staff especially pool staff was excellent - rooms and bathrooms were great and housekeeping exceptional - 2 things lets it down - as non smokers we were put in a smoking room so had to leave balcony door open to detox the room and had confirmed ahead that we had a double room but ended up with a twin - not overly romantic - you couldnt fault the staff although reception could have been slicker - have had a great response to my feedback email - so they are really trying to impress - pool area good but not big enough for size of hotel - you can access the beach but dont expect beds or drinks service as it is a public beach - the area can get noisey at weekends but that is Dubai - we stayed only 4 nights - if going for longer you may wish to consider hotels with more dining options - worth a go though

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Dear Guest,

We just recently got an access to reply to our guest here in Tripadvisor and it was a pleasure reading your feedback as it through comments such as yours that we are able to improve our services and facilities.

We have noted all your comments and rest assured that all necessary steps have been taken to ensure our services and facilities will meet the expectations of our guests.

Likewise, the hotels that opened years ago have private beaches when this area was still under planning. All the new hotels like ours can not have that privilege but they compensate by giving modern facilities and high service standards.

I look forward to personally welcome you in our hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Had an amazing time in Dubai and this Hotel was great with an enviable location on Jumeirah Walk with its many bars and restaurants.
Rooms were excellent and we had a view over to Atlantis The Palm.
Taxis were extremely cheap and were always outside the hotel and all metered too.
Dont miss Dubai Mall its huge with some amazing stores aswell as lots of UK high Street favourites River Island, Top Shop and Good old Nandos.
Overall an amazing trip xxx

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claude24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai and for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

I hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

I do look forward to have the pleasure of once again welcoming you to our Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,
Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#64 of 554 in Dubai
4,768 reviews
The Marina
Movenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#111 of 554 in Dubai
2,775 reviews
The Marina
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dubai - Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
InterContinental Dubai Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amwaj Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Rotana

Address: 79 Al Sufouh Rd | The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#75 Business Hotel in Dubai
#86 Family Hotel in Dubai
#87 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $142 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located along Dubai's famous leisure and retail strip known as "The Walk", Jumeirah Beach Residence (JBR), you will experience the height of comfort at Amwaj Rotana Hotel. Presenting a portfolio of 301 tastefully furnished sea view rooms and suites including the prestigious Club Rotana offering lavish personalized hospitality, Amwaj Rotana Hotel boasts the largest rooms along JBR each with its own balcony. With three award-winning restaurants offering Italian, Japanese and international cuisine as well as live entertainment, happy hours, theme nights and more, guests of Amwaj Rotana can expect a fun-filled visit. Recreational diversions on the hotel grounds includes Bodylines Fitness & Wellness Club that comprises of temperature-controlled adults' and kids' swimming pools, a fully-equipped gymnasium, Jacuzzi, steam rooms, sauna and spa. Complimentary WiFi is available in all public areas of the hotel. The hotel benefits from the features around the vicinity such as the recently opened The Beach Mall featuring a children's water park, direct access to Jumeirah Beach, retail and entertainment options as well as the Dubai Tram at Jumeirah Beach Residences 2 station, just a three-minute walk from the hotel. Guests can also enjoy a scenic walk around the Dubai Marina Promenade. Complimentary shuttle service is also available from the hotel to prominent malls in Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amwaj Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Rotana Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing