We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Rotana we have stayed in”
Review of Amwaj Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amwaj Rotana
Ranked #57 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Worst Rotana we have stayed in”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Where to start......check in fine, then a 15 minute wait for a lift to arrive, yes 15! Stops on every floor and packed. Others complained of the same problem.

Construction work.......I understand this is not the fault of the hotel but it would be nice to be informed at check in. We where on the 17th floor, kept awake most of the night as the works are 24/7. God knows how people on he lower floors coped a room facing the city would have been a better option ( if they have them)

Food......in a word awful! We went to Rosso for the Friday brunch, the worst brunch I have ever been to, we sat down, received a glass of wine each, both went to get food, hardly any choice, I could have had dried up lamb chops, chicken or fish. A few slices of ham and other cold meats. Salad, certainly not worth the huge price, so we left the wine, told he waiter the food on offer was not good enough, we left and went over the road to another hotel brunch, same price and amazing choice, perfect food. I suggest someone from the Rotana goes over and sees what brunch means. Horizon restaurant was ok, but same choice every lunchtime and breakfast. I did wonder why the restaurants where pretty much empty the 3 days we where there. I soon found out.

Pillows.......no description to describe how uncomfortable they where, did ask for others, never received them

Pool area lovely ( except for the construction site)

Staff......this is the point I can't fault, all the staff where lovely, friendly but not over the top.
Maybe in a year it will be better when construction finished, but they do really need to sort the food out. We have eaten in many Rotana hotels, this is bottom of the list without a doubt

Room Tip: As high as you can, maybe you won't hear the noise, but in reality I would wait a year
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your feedback has been shared with the respective departments for corrective action to be taken.

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, please note that it is out of our control and responsibility. JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area to for all its visitors. The project once completed will offer a wider variety of restaurants, coffee shops, luxury retails and much more…

Our Travel Agencies and Online companies are aware of the situation and we have informed them to let the clients know of the present construction. Likewise, our Reservations Team are making sure that guest booking through phone are aware of the same.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Husam Malki
Executive Assistant Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,723
    644
    166
    50
    58
See reviews for
741
1,021
123
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels that deserve a good rating, this chain is having strict standard to satisfy customer, from desk service at chick it till checkout.

The location is amazing in the JBR and everything is near by, also transportation is always available at any time needed.

Operator and Room Service answers your phone before the third ring and all rooms are clean with bug free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking the time in giving your feedback.

It is always our pride to provide fine and great services to our guests. We always aim to have your stay with us as one of your treasured time.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Husam Malki
Executive Assistant Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here during five days in February 2013. We arrived three days before my birthday, awaiting us was a warm greeting an an easy check in. The staff took our things to our room without any fuss. The room was large and spacious as well as the bathroom. The food was excellent however with food like eggs you had to que up and wait or them this took around ten minutes. The spa was wonderful I'm not really able to fault it in any way. The hotel is in JBR (Jumeriah Beach Residence) this is a very rich part of Dubai, as we soon found out from a few estate agents. The pool was very nice, everything was very relaxed. On my birthday we went to a water park, when coming back there was a little ho loathe cake and a card from house keeping I just found this adorable.

All in all a brilliant stay I've recommended this to many family friends they in turn have motley enjoyed it !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aiesha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Our pleasure to provide you with treasured time experience and genuine hospitality.
We will continue to strive more to provide pleasure to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Husam Malki
Executive Assistant Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here in October 2012, and travelled with my mum and sister, upon arrival we were greeted warmly and our luggage was taken to our room,
The room was big clean and spacious, with a beautiful view of the sea and the palm.
We were upgraded to half board from bed and breakfast and couldn't really fault the food the restaurant staff were always friendly and helpful.
The pool area was lovely and clean with brilliant service, and complimentary cold flannels and fruit skewers, the only complaint I have was the lack of sunbirds around the pool due to people putting towels down really early in the morning and then going to the beach and not returning until 2-3pm this meant in order to get a sunbed, either my mum, sister or myself had to get up early to get a bed, other than this I don't really have any more complaints, Overall was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauras2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking the time in giving your feedback.

It is always our pleasure to provide our guest with innermost care and highest standard of hospitality service. I am glad that you have found our services and facilities satisfactorily.

I look forward to have the pleasure of once again welcoming you and your family to our Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Husam Malki
Executive Assistant Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Overall the hotel was good. Good service when you arrive and easy checkin.

The one negative I found was that the breakfast buffet just didn't have enough choice, and it was always very busy. There was no eggs of any sort available, you had to line up which takes 5-20 minutes to have eggs cooked how you like them, such as an omelette, which was annoying.
The food wasn't warm and didn't seem fresh, so it was a let down, as it was rather pricey.

Pool area is good, but over the road there is building and construction works, so its a bit noisy at night time, but nothing to bad. The view if you are facing the beach is not bad, but you have the construction work going on which is an eye sore.

The elevators take a while sometimes as well. I think they need more elevators to assist in how many people use them to get from there room to the lobby, beach, pool, dining etc.

What I liked most, was the good pool area and just 1 minute walk theres a few restaurant's to eat at which are well priced, and good food!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzTravels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I have noted all your comments and rest assured that your comments will be discussed to concerned department for corrective action to be taken.

With regards to our elevators, unfortunately, the building was designed with only 3 elevators installed. We are in constant communication with the elevator service provider to increase the speed of the elevators which is the only alternative we can provide at the moment as the installation of stairs are still in the planning stage.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Husam Malki
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in July and had a very pleasant stay. Our booking and the room preparation were well handled although the third bed was not in the room upon our arrival but it was set up very quickly after we arrived. The hotel staff are the most obliging and helpful that I have ever come across and attended to every query and request of ours immediately and very satisfactorily. The room we had was perfect with comfortable beds (we overslept the first day!), a safe, tea, coffee and drinking water and the bathroom was very well equipped. The pool was very well manned and the service here was of the best (fresh towels, a complimentary ice lolly, constantly maintained and checked pool water temperature, full time life guard, drinks and light meals, etc). The breakfast had a huge selection and the food was very good. The construction works between the hotel and the beach were a slight inconvenience but were not too intrusive and are temporary for the duration of the works. The hotel restaurant that we ate in served a good portion of well prepared food. All shuttles and transport that we had had arranged were punctual and efficient. I would recommend this hotel as it lives up to its rating.

Room Tip: The higher rooms may be quieter and the view is very good. The lifts are of a good size and travel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am truly glad that we have met your expectations and our services & facilities provided during your stay with us gives you comfort and enjoyment.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Husam Malki
Executive Assistant Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just got home from a four night stay and wanted to write a review because we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly, the food (Iftar buffet) was delicious, and the pool area was lovely. The construction work infront of the hotel affects all hotels along the walk, but didn't ruin our holiday! We visited the beach once but found the pool area to be much more comfortable as the pool is nice and cold! Overall a great hotel and we would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clbpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

Amwaj Rotana Hotel Team takes pride in providing our guests with the utmost comfort and service and it gives us great pleasure to know that you found our staff service satisfactory.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#58 of 546 in Dubai
4,557 reviews
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#103 of 546 in Dubai
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Movenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dubai - Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
InterContinental Dubai Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amwaj Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Rotana

Property: Amwaj Rotana
Address: 79 Al Sufouh Rd | The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#75 Business Hotel in Dubai
#86 Family Hotel in Dubai
#87 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located along Dubai's famous leisure and retail strip known as "The Walk", Jumeirah Beach Residence (JBR), you will experience the height of comfort at Amwaj Rotana Hotel. Presenting a portfolio of 301 tastefully furnished sea view rooms and suites including the prestigious Club Rotana offering lavish personalized hospitality, Amwaj Rotana Hotel boasts the largest rooms along JBR each with its own balcony. With three award-winning restaurants offering Italian, Japanese and international cuisine as well as live entertainment, happy hours, theme nights and more, guests of Amwaj Rotana can expect a fun-filled visit. Recreational diversions on the hotel grounds includes Bodylines Fitness & Wellness Club that comprises of temperature-controlled adults' and kids' swimming pools, a fully-equipped gymnasium, Jacuzzi, steam rooms, sauna and spa. Complimentary WiFi is available in all public areas of the hotel. The hotel benefits from the features around the vicinity such as the recently opened The Beach Mall featuring a children's water park, direct access to Jumeirah Beach, retail and entertainment options as well as the Dubai Tram at Jumeirah Beach Residences 2 station, just a three-minute walk from the hotel. Guests can also enjoy a scenic walk around the Dubai Marina Promenade. Complimentary shuttle service is also available from the hotel to prominent malls in Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Amwaj Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Rotana Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing