We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what I expected...”
Review of Amwaj Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amwaj Rotana
Ranked #58 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“not what I expected...”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Normally the location (JBR) is great but because of all the construction taking place on the beach front, the view is spoiled and it is rather noisy; especially when you have the balcony door open.

The rooms are big but lacking elegance and attention to detail. There is nothing wrong when it comes to space, sleep quality, amenities but there is nothing special either. The rooms have no character, nothing remarkable has been done to create a good ambiance.

On the practical side of things, there are only 3 lifts in this hotel that has over 20 floors. Front desk personnel should have a better level in English. They are the first "representatives" of the hotel that the guests talk to. Communicating with them should be easy...especially in a 5 star hotel.

The bar/restaurant was nice and the swimming pool rather big.

For the price that we paid, I am not sure I would recommend this hotel...

Room Tip: High floors have less noise coming from the construction site (temporary but will probably last unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking the time in giving your feedback.

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards of hospitality services.

With regards to our elevators, unfortunately, the building was designed with only 3 elevators installed. We are in constant communication with the elevator service provider to increase the speed of the elevators which is the only alternative we can provide at the moment as the installation of stairs are still in the planning stage.

Regarding the construction works outside the hotel, JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area to for all its visitors. The project once completed will offer a wider variety of restaurants, coffee shops, luxury retails and much more…

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Amwaj Rotana Hotel and trust this incident will not deter you from using our facilities in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    666
    177
    53
    59
See reviews for
792
1,053
131
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

You can certainly expect a nice and very comfy hotel as Rotana Amwaj hotel. Nothing to say about Rotana Amwaj hotel but certainly not the big memory of my life. Location is correct if you consider that you must have a car in Dubai and that all the city is spread out without any real city downtown where to enjoy a walk.
So do not expect to be in a charming district with all the arabic charms that you could have imagine. in fact the hotel is very OK, nice standing, nice rooms, nice check in, but absolute lack of charms; more of a business hotel. Breakfast is correct but not sensational, room are spacious but basic and the hotel is in the middle of heavy works, so just expect to have a lot of noise, dust and absolute no view from your room even if you are facing the sea...
But to be honest I am not a big fan of Dubai and still did not find out why tourists are coming to this city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cstormyweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel on your visit to Dubai.

We have noted all your comments and rest assured that all necessary steps have been taken to ensure our services and facilities will meet the expectations of our guests.

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area for all its visitors.

The Middle East is becoming an increasingly popular stopover destination for those who likes to travel, as well as being a fantastic destination in its own right. Dubai has become the ultimate tourist destination in the Middle East. It is a place of striking contrasts where modern sophistication meets in a fascinating blend of old and new.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Amwaj Rotana Hotel once again and trust that these incidences will not deter you from using our facilities in the future.


With best regards,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at the Amwaj Rotana in March 2013 and whilst the hotel was perfectly acceptable the construction at the front on the beach was not! Building yet another Dubai hotel and shopping complex means that for the greater part of The Walk frontage the beach has disappeared. Not only that but the noise levels from all the lorries constantly going to and from the construction site meant that eating dinner on the outside terrace was a nightmare - too noisy to hear yourself speak. Getting on to the beach from the hotel was a challenge as the normal route has been blocked off to accomodate the entrance to the construction site, so you now have to trek on to the road and down a not very nice passageway. The room was good but dark and had a very small balcony that never got any sun, The food in the Horizon restaurant was lovely - good quality with a tremendous selection. My only real gripe was with the Hair Salon, run presumably under a franchise as you had to pay them direct, couldn't be charged to the room. My elderly mother wanted her hair blow drying and on enquiring I was quoted 100 Dirhams. When I went to collect her I was asked for 350 Dirhams as my mother had said to the stylist could they 'trim' it as well. 250 Dirhams for a trim that looked no different than before! Otherwise value for money hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quickie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking the time in giving your feedback.

We value all the feedback we get and share it with the team as it helps us in keeping up the motivation level of our staff and continue providing the excellent service we are known for.

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your feedback has been shared to the team for corrective action to be taken.

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area for all its visitors.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our stay at the Amwaj Rotana in March 2013 really put a dampener on what was otherwise a faultless honeymoon!!

We arrived at 15:10, checked in but were told our room was not yet ready and it would be a 20-30 minute wait. We were asked to wait in the lobby cafe and offered a beverage while we waited. 45 minutes later were still waiting and no one from the front desk has the courtesy to come up to us and apologise for the delay or explain why there was a delay. At 16:15 I went up to the desk to find out when our room might be ready. I was told be staff at the front desk they would find out immediately and come let us know. Another hour later and yet no one from the front desk came to speak to us. Finally two hours later our room was ready!! The reason for the delay was that they had agreed to a late check out and so our room wasn't ready. Frankly I think when the room has a subsequent booking, for a hotel that prides itself in having high standards, it is unacceptable to allow a late check out and I have NEVER come across that in all my years of extensive travelling. However, even more unacceptable is the fact that no one from the front desk had the courtesy to come speak to us - not once - during the two hour wait!! The staff simply told me, "Oh I thought one of my colleagues spoke to you."

Apart from the service at the front desk being poor, the lifts are terrible and it can take you longer to get from your room and back to your room than it does to eat breakfast at the restaurant. It almost made us not want to go to breakfast.

The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable but very dark!

The hotel is actually in a good location - but unfortunately is currently surrounded with construction, which of course is not fault of the hotel, but it does impact on your stay.

Unfortunately I would not stay at here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking the time in giving your feedback.

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your feedback has been shared with the respective departments for corrective action to be taken.

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area for all its visitors.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

I look forward to have the pleasure of once again welcoming you and your family to our Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. Like others on this site we arrived at 3pm to be told our room was not ready. We were asked to have a seat in the lobby, as the room would be ready in 20-30mins. After repeated trips to the desk the room was finally ready two hours after we arrived. We were offered a bottle of wine and chocolates as an apology, but these were already included in our honeymoon package. Fortunately someone noticed this as a cake was delivered the next day, which was nice. Unfortunately on arriving in our room we found someone else's luggage and ours was nowhere to be seen. Another trip to reception to sort this.

The sea view room largely overlooked the adjacent building and a construction site (which we were informed of before the trip and I don't have quibbles about this). However the local traffic was so bad that taxi's and trip guides dropped us off 500m from the hotel to avoid the street.

The room upgrade that was in our package (if available) unsurprisingly never materialised. Our room was near the elevators with pretty consistent noise until midnight or so. The three elevators were woeful, with waits of up to 15 mins to get from ground to 20th floor. To add insult to injury having waited 5 mins for a lift to arrive on our final day the doorman led a clearly wealthy individual who had turned up in an expensive Merc through the waiting guests and asked others to stand back while they were led to the next lift.
Overall not a disaster but not what I expected from a five star hotel while on my honeymoon.

We won't be back and with the large number of hotels around I'd struggle to find anything to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get away from the elevator shafts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your feedback has been shared with the respective departments for corrective action to be taken.

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area for all its visitors.

Our Travel Agencies and Online companies are aware of the situation and we have informed them to let the clients know of the on going construction. Likewise, our Reservations Team are making sure that guest booking through phone are aware of the same.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 1am on 29/03 and despite having a reservation we were told the room was not ready and we would have to wait for what turned out to be about 30 minutes.
The reservation was for 3 (as we are travelling with a child), but for some reason everything in the room such as towels etc. was provided for 2 persons only. Maybe children do not wash in Dubai...

Our room is a so called sea view room which provides amazing views of a very large and rather noisy construction site.

The room is small, and the interior is rather dated. I would say overall the room is the standard of a Premier Inn in the UK, though that would be available for a very small fraction of the rate being charged here.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Amwaj Rotana Hotel and for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are however disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and would like to sincerely apologize for the same. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards and your feedback has been shared with the respective departments for corrective action to be taken.

With regards to the construction works outside the hotel, JBR district is becoming more and more an area of attraction to Dubai residents and visitors, thus the Dubai Government has decided to beautify the beach area for all its visitors.

Our Travel Agencies and Online companies are aware of the situation and we have informed them to let the clients know of the on going construction. Likewise, our Reservations Team are making sure that guest booking through phone are aware of the same.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we appreciate you having taken the time to write to us. It is only from feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I wanted to go to Dubai for our honeymoon and a travel agency recommended us this hotel. Everything was just fantastic!. We had a very large and chic room with a balcony in which we could see the view of the Gulf. The bathroom was huge and very clean. This hotel has a private way to the beach so we preferred enjoying the sea rather than going to the large pool. Every meal we had in this hotel was delicious!.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rRodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met with your expectations.

Amwaj Rotana Hotel Team takes pride in providing our guests with the utmost comfort and service and it gives us great pleasure to know that you found our staff service satisfactory.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah-Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#60 of 550 in Dubai
4,642 reviews
The Marina
Movenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#108 of 550 in Dubai
2,734 reviews
The Marina
InterContinental Dubai Marina
The Marina
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dubai - Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amwaj Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Rotana

Property: Amwaj Rotana
Address: 79 Al Sufouh Rd | The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#75 Business Hotel in Dubai
#86 Family Hotel in Dubai
#87 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located along Dubai's famous leisure and retail strip known as "The Walk", Jumeirah Beach Residence (JBR), you will experience the height of comfort at Amwaj Rotana Hotel. Presenting a portfolio of 301 tastefully furnished sea view rooms and suites including the prestigious Club Rotana offering lavish personalized hospitality, Amwaj Rotana Hotel boasts the largest rooms along JBR each with its own balcony. With three award-winning restaurants offering Italian, Japanese and international cuisine as well as live entertainment, happy hours, theme nights and more, guests of Amwaj Rotana can expect a fun-filled visit. Recreational diversions on the hotel grounds includes Bodylines Fitness & Wellness Club that comprises of temperature-controlled adults' and kids' swimming pools, a fully-equipped gymnasium, Jacuzzi, steam rooms, sauna and spa. Complimentary WiFi is available in all public areas of the hotel. The hotel benefits from the features around the vicinity such as the recently opened The Beach Mall featuring a children's water park, direct access to Jumeirah Beach, retail and entertainment options as well as the Dubai Tram at Jumeirah Beach Residences 2 station, just a three-minute walk from the hotel. Guests can also enjoy a scenic walk around the Dubai Marina Promenade. Complimentary shuttle service is also available from the hotel to prominent malls in Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amwaj Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Rotana Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing