We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic resturant for a date”

Frankie's Italian Bar & Grill
Ranked #447 of 9,464 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: The Marina
Description: This exciting award winning Italian restaurant, winner of "Highly Commended Italian Restaurant" by Time Out Dubai Awards in 2010; What's On Best Italian Restaurant 2009 and Best Newcomer 2008 is a result of partnership between one of the greatest chefs of all time, Marco Pierre White, and one of the most recognized award-winning jockeys, Frankie Dettori. The service combines fine - as well as casual dining in a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, featuring a menu with 80 dishes reflecting authentic Italian cuisine.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic resturant for a date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good place to take a date for a romantic 1-1 dinner, not so good if you are a bunch of lads on a night out might feel a little weird. Great service from real Italian waiters who are very chatting and interesting. Good food, recommend the tuna steak

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    110
    67
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, average service and overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The food at Frankie's was good and presented well, but not in our opinion worth the prices charged... I had steak, my partner the seabass.

The service we received was very average, the waiter obviously new (on its own not a problem), but lacking in support from his colleagues and I would suggest he had recieved very little basic training. It was also strange to be asked "How would you like your Seabass cooked?"...

Finally, the decor seems to be at odds with itself. Whilst pleasant with what is presumably expensive furnishings and furniture, it seems to be caught between two different styles which don't blend well 1) modern idea of having an open kitchen where you can see the chef, with 2) intimate, classy dining. This was probably more noticeable to us as we were sat directly next to the section of the kitchen on view.

A nice evening but we won't be in a hurry to return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank J111MPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food - very smoky bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very busy, multiple sittings, booking required, not cheap but great food. We went with locals who had a 2for1 voucher which made it even better.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravell1ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More attention to the paying customers needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

For our final night in Dubai we decided to go out for a meal to somewhere special and decided that Frankie's fitted the bill.

We had booked a table so decided to sit at the bar for a drink before before being seated at our table. The bar staff were good on serving the first drink but after that it went down hill.

Chatting seemed to be the most important thing going on. Checking that they looked ok in the mirrors!! We waited to be served and after 30 minutes
Had to asked for a menu and if we could be seated.

Whilst the bar staff were what I would say, less than hospitable, the Resturant staff were obliging and made the evening seem better.

The food was amazing and whilst a little expensive it was delicious.

I'm not sure that we will be revisiting but it was worth a try just once.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
270 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I went to Frankies on Sunday night for the first time, having lived in Dubai for 5 years.
We ordered from a waitress who was obviously not focused on her customers.
The Lobster Bisque turned up and the smell was awful, and it was in edible. The Caesar salad was nothing more than a bowl of lettuce.
When we complained to the manager he said that there was nothing wrong with it , and that he served 150 a day. Amazing considering the restaurant was empty.
We therefore decided to leave and cancel our main courses. The manager wasn't bothered at all.
We paid for a bottle of wine and left.mwe went to Ruth's Chris across the way and had a fab time. We won't be going back, ever. And the restaurant needs a good clean and a refurbishment,mist worn out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie's Italian Bar & Grill also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Frankie's Italian Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing