We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

Samad Iraqi Restaurant
Ranked #1,007 of 9,474 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jumeirah
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great food but services need to be enhanced. Best Masqoof in town ! I The branch in Jumeriah is much better then the old one.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank M-AlRashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“USED TO BE THE BEST”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

it used to be the best in town, until some changes have happened in 2008-2009, it became VERY EXPENSIVE and the QUALITY is VERY LOW.

we used to enjoy the food there but no longer...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hammoudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent and Warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Being just a few blocks away from this restaurant never occurred for me to try it out at least once, was very impressed at the ambience. Had never tried authentic Iraqi cuisine so all the main courses were quite new except for the Indian tikka which they had. Went for the Fridays special which was Fish Metabek( chunks of fish cooked in the Iraqi way with pomegranate syrup and day lemon served along with rice) and the mixed grill.
We were first served with complimentary warm rice and lentil soup, fresh salad, lovely soft thin flat bread. The mains arrived in a jiffy and beware the quantity is huge. The Fish Metabek was really tasty was the gravy with it was perfect with rice. The mixed grill I thought was a bit less but tasted heavenly. The meat skewers and chunks of cubed chicken felt like butter melting in your mouth. We also ordered hummus( Mashed chick peas with Tahini in oil oil) in between but by the time it came we were done with our mixed grill.
Overall a very nice place, good different food, Fish Metabek was good for two
Negatives: Not well versed staff in explaining the dishes in English, Mixed grill was good for just one, a bit expensive

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K_KShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Cheaters”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We are not arabic but living in the UAE for a few years. Tried many arabic restaurants, however, it was our first visit to Iraqi restaurant. Quite disappointing, and it's not about food itself, it's the way they treat visitors. As newcomers, we asked the waiter to recommend something of traditional cuisine. We were offered a kind of mixture of lamb feet, brains, tongue etc.. We decided to give it a try and asked if plate is big enough to share (we were 2 people). We asked also if it was served with side dish (as most arabic restaurants do). Without answering questions directly, the waiter ensured he will 'arrange everything nicely' and disappeared. Shortly meat arrived: 1 meat platter and 2 huge rice plates + extra sauces, vegetable plates..The size of portions made it clear we are not sharing 1 dish, which was confirmed by bill - we had to pay 2 main dishes, 2 rices etc.. It's not about amount we paid. It's not about food (it was not bad). It's about fooling people. It's about doubling the bill. It's about serving 2 plates of rice we did not ask for (if we knew we will be charged for plain rice, we would rather pay for starter or at least 2 different side dishes). Even though they were fast to service, served lots of complimentary dishes (salad, pickles), overall experience was negative.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alnina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“i like this resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

i really like to go to this resturant every time i visited dubai . off course very clean resturant, varios dishes , traditional place in a quite main road and i advise if you are in group more )3-5( persons do not and do not forget to ask for masqoof fish dish >> you will wait some time but you will lije it

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capnabeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samad Iraqi Restaurant also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Samad Iraqi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing