We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
Review of The Rib Room

The Rib Room
Ranked #486 of 10,111 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $95
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Fine dining for meat loversGive in to the primal side of your appetite with a carnivorous dining experience of incomparable quality. With its dark red walls, sumptuous leather seats and intimate atmosphere, The Rib Room is not your usual steakhouse. Beautiful presentation and impeccable service from our waiting staff allow you to enjoy your steak in style. The Rib Room's sophisticated menu offers an exquisite selection of succulent grilled meats, prepared to your exact preference. Be it a flavourful, tender Chateaubriand or an Oakey Angus Reserve Tenderloin, you can be assured of prime cuts, prepared with finesse and flair by our celebrated chefs. Seafood and vegetarian options are also available if you'd prefer a lighter meal. A meal at The Rib Room is one to cherish - so much so that some guests have their steak knives engraved with their names and displayed in the restaurant as a permanent reminder of their visit!
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Went with parents to celebrate their anniversary, and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The live music, lovely food, attentive service... all added to the wonderful experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JETManagement, Manager at The Rib Room, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to see your comments and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening . On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for your feedback and I hope I will be able to meet you personally on your next visit.

With Kind Regards,
Adil Elmitari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 469 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

It's a steakhouse, yet whatever you try is just perfect! Food quality and taste are excellent. Music a little loud. Will come again & recommend for sure

Thank Hany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JETManagement, General Manager at The Rib Room, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed our Steak selection and thanks for your feedback regarding the music . we look forward to welcoming you back at The Rib Room.

Warm Regards
Adil Elmitari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Truly a fantastic dining experience. The service was faultless. We used the sommelier to match our food and Chef Luigi served the special steak of the day to my friend at our table. Also checked in afterwards to see if we'd enjoyed the food. Goto this place :)

Thank Nookie96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JETManagement, General Manager at The Rib Room, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed our Special Beef Fillet Rossini. I will be sure to pass your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Rib Room.

Warm Regards
Adil Elmitari
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent, consistent quality. I have eaten here many times and the quality is always high. There is a bewildering choice of beef, as well as fish, lamb and vegetarian food. Varied wine list and many wine by the glass.

Staff are always attentive and correct.

Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JETManagement, General Manager at The Rib Room, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your continued support of Rib Room. We are very grateful for your patronage and We hope to see you soon!
Once again, thank you very much for feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards,
Adil Elmitari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had been planning to go for about a year and finally did so on Friday night in mid-November (a week ago). What a huge disappointment it turned out to be.

On arrival the diminutive blonde Eastern European lady in the greeting area obviously felt the ice maiden act was chic. We just found it cold and a little rude. Our advice - smile and look as if you care about your customers, because in effect we pay your salary.

For a restaurant this expensive, the tables are crammed together. It did not take much for us to overhear the conversation on neighbouring tables. Privacy could be better.

Service was mediocre at best. We were chatting and one of the senior staff (maybe restaurant manager, but one of 2 wearing a suit anyway) came charging up to us after a waitress pointed us out. Without doing what I would expect in a decent restaurant - hovering politely by the table so it was clear he wanted to speak to us, and paying us the courtesy of letting us actually finish our sentence - he just rudely cut straight across us. He was half way through whatever he wanted to say when the waitress tugged at his sleeve and told him he had the wrong table. So, equally abruptly, he then said sorry, and charged off to interrupt the next diners. Other service highlights were being given the dessert menu and then the staff developing blindness for close on 10 minutes while we were ready to order, despite the restaurant not being that busy, and us asking for extra bread for our cheeseboard selection and it never arriving. While we are not so pretentious that we are incapable of pouring our own wine and water, for a restaurant of this quality we were surprised we had to for most of the evening. There seemed to be no coherent pattern to the service, which probably explains the inattentiveness. Normally you get one or max 2 servers, as they are allocated a zone of tables, but here everyone seemed to be all over covering everything. We were served by 5 different servers at different times by our estimation. We have not been in a restaurant of this supposed quality and received such sloppy service before.

The food was overpriced for the quality. Prawn Cocktail with 3 smallish prawns on 3 lettuce leaves drowned in sauce. Rubbery calamari that was either not fresh or had been very badly cooked. The Chateaubriand was ok but slightly on the rare side for our order, but not a great issue. The dessert, after our long wait, was not worth the wait. 5 small slices of cheese, all straight out of the fridge, when 3 were meant to be soft room temperature cheeses. The worst part was that we were given 2 thin slices each of a small French Stick, and they were very stale. My wife took one bite and refused to eat more. As a dessert in a quality restaurant it was a seriously bad joke. The extra bread we requested at the start, before we knew it was stale, did not arrive. In the end it didn't matter.

On leaving, the same young male manager who had interrupted us presented us with our little boxes of individual muffins with a flourish and said he hoped to see us again. That led to some rather direct feedback, which he greeted with genuine shock and dismay. To be fair to him, he did treat our dissatisfaction seriously rather than dismiss it, and he refunded the calamari and dessert with profuse apologies. Let's hope that he fixes the problems with service.

On a final strange point, he acknowledged the issue about the cold cheeses that should be soft and warm and said it wasn't great but they were bound by local hygiene rules. Well, if you can't serve the food how it is meant to be served for whatever reason, take it off the menu or train your staff to explain the possible drawbacks with such an order. And please don't serve 4 tiny pieces of stale bread.

We won't be going back as there are any number of steakhouses in Dubai that are in the same price bracket but which have better food and service.
Maybe we were unlucky to go on an off night for the restaurant and its staff, but we are not prepared to risk laying out that much cash a second time for another bad experience.

1  Thank benmychree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JETManagement, General Manager at The Rib Room, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to the Rib Room. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and superb food quality in a unique setting which so many of our guests enjoy, so we value your comments and shall look into the issues you raised during your experience.

Once again, thank you.

With Kind Regards,
Adil Elmitari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rib Room also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to The Rib Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing