We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Japanese in the Middle East”
Review of Miyako

Miyako
Ranked #420 of 9,562 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: This contemporary, yet authentic, Japanese restaurant in Dubai serves the finest delicacies of the land of the rising sun. Japanese Head Chef at Miyako emphasizes on the basics of traditional cooking and uses fresh ingredients to create an extensive and original Japanese meal spread. Experience a traditional Tatami Room, Teppanyaki Tables with communal seating and a Sushi Bar offering fresh fish and seafood. Miyako is popular for its traditional Japanese-style dining experience, making it a favourite for casual dining or family celebrations. For Children: Children below 6 years of age, eat for free. Children between 6 to 12 years of age get a 50% discount. To serve our guests better, we have undertaken a complete remodeling program for Miyako restaurant. Hence Miyako is currently closed and is expected to re-open in October 2016 with a fresh, modern setting. During this remodeling we have temporarily re-located to the 1st floor of the main hotel.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best Japanese in the Middle East”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a hidden gem in the "old" part of town. So it tends to be less crowded. It is also expensive but worth it. The atmosphere is tranqui; well until Japanese guests start to drink. Interestingly, the only Japanese restaurant in Dubai I have seen Japanese people dining.
The teppanyaki is wonderful and good quality. The chefs are experienced, patient and respectful. They don't put on funny shows like in a Benihana. I recommend if you truly like Japanese food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bodaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    22
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

One of the very good Japanese restaurants in the region. Top quality; authentic cuisine, even offering fatty tuna sushi and sashimi, wagyu beef.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank montgolfier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really Great Japanese!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We ate at this restaraunt four days in a row. Excellent sushi, very fresh sashmi, nice bento boxes! Highly recommend!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank swanzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“delicous food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

its a rather small location but the food is great. The service was great and the food was made right there in front of me.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elba Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Japanese food.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food was good; as a Japanese food lover, I would say it is borderline great and good but nothing beyond. Service was nice and the folks were very accomodating- even when my party showed up half an hour before last call, they never showed the disinterest with our timing. The selection of food is good, nothing intricate or with real delicacy of Japanese food, but it was really enjoyable over all.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tess V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyako also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Miyako? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing