We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice indian restaurant with beautiful decor and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zaika Restaurant - CLOSED

Zaika Restaurant
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Dubai
Description: A refined restaurant serving the best of North Indian cuisine in a very traditional atmosphere. Sensational surroundings, exceptional food and impeccable service are a feature. The outlet is designed on two floors and offers 3 private dining rooms for up to 8 guests each.
Dubai
Level Contributor
476 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Nice indian restaurant with beautiful decor and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Zaika Restaurant is located in Al Murooj Rotana, five stars hotel near Dubail Mall and Burj Khalifa. I arrived into the hotel and I indicated my desire to eat to Indian restaurant. They told me that this restaurant is located near the pool. To my surprise, the braught me to it in a golf buggy.

The restaurant is designed on two floors and has 3 private dining rooms accommodating up to 8 people each. The framework is tastefully decorated and has beautiful views on the hotel pool. The fine menu featuring the best food of North India. Specialties tandoori dishes: do not hesitate to go near the baking of bread and skewers in the tandoor. The restaurant is opened daily from noon to 15h (16h Friday and Saturday) and from 19h to 23h30. Entries from 22 to 62 AED 80 AED flat on average. The welcome is warm and the server gave good advice and explanations of the dishes to a novice like me.

For starters, I enjoyed 2 kinds of papadum (pink and yellow) accompanied by four sauces, including mango, others I didn't remember, but one was green and brown a little "spicy ". Beautiful presentation.

As main dish, I'm tempted by the "Hyderbadi murgh korma", which is chunks of chicken without bones, marinated in a sauce of yogurt, yellow chilli, small potatoes and saffron mainly. With this the garlic naan. Particularly beautiful presentation of naans in a silver container. The chicken was delicious with cooked potatoes. A pleasant surprise.

The service was quite helpful, too sometimes, but pleasant nonetheless. I would definitely enjoy a great pleasure TANDOR specialties. Prices slightly higher than Indian base, based on the decor and location.

Areas for improvement: - Service too present

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lugano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was invited by a business associate to have dinner here with him and his colleague.
The service was really friendly and efficient and the food was excellent.
It was his birthday and after the meal, they presented him with a personalised birthday cake - brilliant!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnT-Hemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
175 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cozy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We booked this restaurant for a New Year's dinner. We got a table indoors and it was abundantly decorated with New Year items. We were initially a bread basket with several different kinds of bread and different dips to. Then followed many dishes taste portions. Good but not great. Quick and friendly service.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelwoman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
177 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Average Food But Good Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

The food was ok but not as good as other Indian restaurants in Dubai. The service was very welcoming and fast. The best item we had was The Mozzarella Samosa which was an innovative idea. Overall I can say it was average.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dxb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

After trying out many Indian restaurants in Dubai and experiencing disappointment in either food, service or both, we decided to give Zaika a try back in 2007 and became regulars since then. Although there are several good Indian restaurants in Dubai, few of them can match Zaika in terms of combining good food with an excellent service. In addition to a very nice setting inside the Murooj Rotana hotel, the service is definitely what makes Zaika so special. The staff are well-trained, very attentive and friendly at all times. Some of our friends who were reluctant about Indian food were also "converted" after we took them there and also became regulars of the place! You can get decent Indian food for less than what you pay at Zaika but considering the quality of the food and the service, the menu is reasonably priced. Sometimes you may get a generous discount depending on your credit card, so may want to check with the card's issuing bank first. After more than 20 visits, I cannot think of anything negative about the place.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dany_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaika Restaurant also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing