We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Dubai - Average Hotel, Not an IC Quality Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Ranked #37 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Before we even arrived at the hotel, we emailed both the Spa and the Concierge in order to secure treatments, transfers and a restaurant reservation. The Spa didn't bother to mail back and the turn around time with the concierge was about 3 days! In which time we had made the restaurant booking ourselves! We did manage to arrange the airport transfer, but sadly no car turned up on arrival. We are IC Ambassador Members (both of us), so we were very suprised even at the outset of the low service level at the front of house. Still, we tried to keep an open mind.

When we arrived at 545am, I knew we couldn't check in THAT early, so I requested a half day rate/reservation to enable us to check in immediately and get some sleep and to avoid hanging around in reception for half a day! The front desk assistant, when he eventually understood what we were requesting told us to sit down for 30minutes to allow the computer to adjust to the right day (appparently the system was half a day behind the rest of Dubai). So we waited........ and we asked the Concierge what time the restauarnt opened for breakfast, he said 6am, so we thought great we can go there! Only to be told on arrival at the restaurant that it was 630am. Ho hum......so after the 30 minutes, back to the desk we went to get our room! Only to be asked to wait another 10 minutes as the computer was still behind! I was getting cheesed off at this point and I was thinking that the place was more Fawlty Towers than IC. Anyway after 10 minutes back we went and computer was still "saying no", by which point I threw my toys out of the pram and complained. Funny how a hissy can make the computer say Yes!! Anyway at last we were on our way!

The room was lovely, albeit so many gismo's such as ill placed light switches, flushes and blind controls that it took us a while to get settled. One cannot fault the cleanliness of the rooms nor the size. But for all this, the view out of the window is awful. Its like overlooking a disused, decomissioned Industrial Estate. You can see, in the distance, the Dubai Creek highrise. But the view can't help but make you wonder why your not staying downtown Dubai and Why the IC is in no man's land!!! Its a great location for an airport hotel and if your travelling to Dubai just to shop, Festival City Mall is attached......but we didn't go to Dubai to go to IKEA, the Body Shop, Marks and Spencer or Yo Sushi!!!

The rest of our stay was average, the breakfast was OK, the IC lounge was OK, a very limited selection of canapes when we visited.

The front of house continued to amaze me still. There were alwasy about 10 porters but getting a cab was always a giggle and the staff didn't know who was first! In fact one night after a 10 minute wait at the concierge desk my husand was VERY unhappy as the concierge eventually put the phone down and addressed a man who barged in front of my husband a moment before!

During our stay, we also visited Reflets, the food was very good, we paid about £350 for the two of us. We have eaten in several Michelin restaurants and this was in our Top 10 but not our Top 5, we both thought the food was delicious but it didn't Wow us. Which was a shame. By the way, Friday Brunch at the Fairmount was OUTSTANDING, we do recommend this!!

All in all, I love IC's, I try and stay in IC's where I can because i have always had fabulous service, for instance the IC Amsterdam is truely amazing as is Geneva, New York and Mumbai. But Dubai didn't do it today. The front of house and the location really lets it down.

If your off to Dubai for pleasure, stay in the heart of the action, it's more fun and its prettier. If you looking for an airport hotel or a conference this will tick your boxes.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WELSHCAROLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Dubai Festival City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2009

only good things about this marvellous hotel.you have to stay there to experience the luxury and relaxation of this hotel.it is located very conviniently next to dubai festival city mall with which is connected with a corridor. the lobby and all publc spaces are large,impressive and luxurious.the rooms are great-very large with everything you need plus a window in the bathroom with fantastic views.all the staff is very professional and friendly and due to them the hotel becomes even better.nothing is too much for them.the reflets restaurant is a lifetime experience.
for a first short visit to dubai this is was the perfect place for us.definatelly one of the best city hotels i have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

A bit far from the main places of interest. Very clean with helpful staff, but they could do with smiling occasionally! Adequate food in the restaurants but very pricey with sterling so weak. Lovely pool area but again very pricey snack bar. The pool staff were exceptionally helpful and the sun beds and towels supplied were the best I have ever had. The wet room was particularly good, once you had worked out how to use the various taps!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poppy317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I would highly recommend the Intercontinental Dubai Festival City. I travel through Dubai once every couple months and I always stay here, even though this is the first time that I have reviewed the hotel. It is nice and classy, with a good location next to the marina and a mall, with awesome customer service and quality rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HoustonMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

This hotel is located near Dubai International Airport, and its part of Dubai Festival City, which consist of golf course, luxury hotels, luxury homes, and big mall.
The rooms are spacious and luxury.

Some of the rooms have a nice marina view or creek view.

The best thing about the hotels is that it’s directly connected to very big mall, which have a hypermarket, cinema, and a lot of restaurants and shops.

Decently I’ll come back here again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khalid606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed there last July 2008 for 3 nights stay, we arrived 6:30 AM via emirates since we are PC member we were given the room in less than 30 mins. Prior to our stay there we mentioned we will be needing a cot since we got a 1 year old son. When we checken in the room it was fantastic but dismayed because we have to wait for the cot since they said it is fully booked.
Breakfast was fab you got a lot to choose from, from pancakes to oriental bf, i was even surprised to see that they are serving pork as well.
Night time came since we were knackered from the flight we decided to stay and order our food which is quite frankly it will just take you 30 mins since we ordered steak and mash and drinks it took us 2 hrs!!! It was really appalling, I have to ring room service couple of times to follow up. So after we ate obviously you have to ring so they could collect the stuff but another hour and a half no one came. It was already 11:30 at night someone rang the doorbell and my i was half asleep so not really happy.
Other than that everything went smoothly, staff was helpful, although you could really see that they are more attentive when you are an Arab because some of the staff were arab speaking and quite difficult to communicate.
We are coming to Dubai this coming 29th of Dec and we have now booked with their neighbour hotel which is crowne plaza as most of the people we have met during our last stay said we will get more for our money and the service is impeccable. I guess we just have to wait and see and hope that they surpass our expectations.
Perhaps I could recommend this hotel to romantic getaway but not when you got kids who got routine since the room service is appalling.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aphrodite78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My partner and I went to the Interncontinental for my 30th birthday. The hotel is a testament to what you can do if money is no object.

The rooms were great, with very comfortable rooms, and a lot of space

The spa services were very good, but obviously all massages are same gender, which may not be to everyones taste.

There is a terrific swimming pool, and the gym is worth the trip to Dubai alone!

The top floor has a hidden bar, which has a great stock of good wines and beautiful night time views.

Staff were, as you might expect from Dubai, exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
InterContinental Dubai Marina
Park Hyatt Dubai
#10 of 554 in Dubai
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#16 of 554 in Dubai
531 reviews
The Oberoi, Dubai
#7 of 554 in Dubai
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dubai Festival City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dubai Festival City

Address: Umm Ramool Rd | Dubai Festival City, Dubai 45777, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Dubai
#19 Business Hotel in Dubai
#28 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $153 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dubai Festival City 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a graceful sailboat, InterContinental Dubai Festival City stands tall amid the business and shopping districts. The hotel is home to 6 dynamic bars and restaurants, including the award-winning Reflets par Pierre Gagnaire, has wifi throughout rooms and public areas and its own 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Dubai Festival City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dubai Festival City Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing