We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Ranked #33 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Really can't find any faults - clean big rooms with nice modern decor, great breakfast (pork bacon! Yay!), nice swimming pool (not that big). Great service and helped my wife get visa. Overall, good value for money. Only downsides are that (a) lots of business travellers, which made me feel like I'm on a business trip and (b) it's really not close to anything other that the Festival City, and there's not much to do there. However, it is close to the airport.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TenchiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    379
    76
    32
    16
See reviews for
304
436
129
715
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here as part of a large business conference, which was held at the adjacent event center. The hotel for the most part was brilliant. Check in was a little problematic as they were full. They said all they could offer me was a smoking room - I went up, and the smoke was noticeable so I asked to be shifted to a non-smoking room. They said none would be available for at least 2 hours (this was at 10pm!), and I had to work the next morning, so I ended up taking it, even though my eyes were stinging. They said they would move me the next day, but never said a thing about it. No note, no discount, no follow up. It became less noticeable the next day, so I just let it be, but it didn't feel as though anybody cared - they were just glad I accepted it. That aside, the hotel itself is lovely and the bed was very comfortable. The fittings are a little quirky - I've never before had a bathtub IN the stand-up shower, but everything worked well, there was plenty of room, and basic WiFi is free, which I appreciated. The elevators can get very busy when groups break up so count on having to wait if you are part of a large group. The services in the room were very well done - it was cleaned promptly and thoroughly and the turndown was efficient. The main restaurant serves an amazing and eclectic assortment of foods at the buffet - everything from pizza to mediterranean to sushi and lots of other cuisines in between. It was all good, and hard to choose! The hotel is adjacent to a large mall and a marina with lots of restaurants, all within walking distance, which is nice. It's about a 15 minute cab ride to the DIFC, the main financial district, and cabs are inexpensive. If you are traveling on a busy night (say, Thursday evening) you may want to arrange a hotel car as all the cabs are tied up then. I've stayed in Dubai before, and this was as nice as anywhere else. Oh, and they have a nice gym, although only two elliptical machines but it is well equipped.

Room Tip: There are two banks of elevators, one for the lower rooms and the other for the high floors. I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I work in the industry and as a result I can be very critical however even if I tried I could not fault this hotel. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left 5 days later, every member of staff were friendly, helpful and from the pool guys to the reception team they made eye contact, was helpful, friendly and seemed to really genuinely enjoy their jobs... it was so refreshing.

The hotel itself is also fabulous, food was great (I can recommend the Steak restaurant)... and just generally a wonderful experience. Thank you IHG and the Intercon Festival City you have got it so right it was faultless.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

You would think this hotel would be an excellent, but it fell short. Check-in and check-out were more complex then they needed to be. Great room with a great view and great service on the club floor. Breakfast could have had a better sellection, but good overall. Location is good for the airport, but poor for the Marina. Gym needs more free weights. I would stay again for business, but not for pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeddahduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for an overnight stay when attending a concert and we were very impressed. It is a very stylish hotel with great service and very attentive staff. The design of the room is brilliant with clever touches like multiple sliding doors. The shower/bathroom is very clever with the controls the other side of the shower head - simple but clever. The electric window blind was very clever although it seemed previous guests didn't realise it was electric and had pulled it down by hand. The view from the room was tremendous over the marina but just as spectacular the other side over the airport.
Only one thing really let it down was the threadbare headboard which really does need refurbishment.

Room Tip: The room looking over the Marina was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Being a Priority Club Member, I usually prefer IHG Hotels when I travel. Intercontinental was my first option when I had to travel to Dubai for a presentation last year.
IHG Hotels usually are dependable and don't expect a lot of bad surprises when you reserve. I was confident that Intercon Festival City was going to meet my expectations and as expected it did.
The hotel is connected to the glamorous Festival City Mall and everything you need is close by. The rooms and services are excellent as expected. The food is great and being very close to the mall there are also many other options.
Make sure you bring a pair of goggles to experience the exotic swimming pool which has a glass bottom at the end.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayaz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,425 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the InterContinental Dubai Festival City for 9 days. The staff is extremely friendly and the conference areas are great. The hotel is not in Dubai city so further from a lot of the attractions the city has to offer but the pros are that there is a mall right next store, an abundance of restaurant options, a great spa, nice workout room and a cool lightshow with fireworks. Ask for a room that faces the water so you can see the light show and fireworks from your room (preferably floor 10 or higher). The pool area was also very nice. There is an abundance of hotels in Dubai so if I come back for that long, I would prefer to spread it out and stay in a variety of areas (beach, dubai city, etc) but overall, this is a great hotel that is close to the airport and convenient for travelers and conferences.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
InterContinental Dubai Marina
Park Hyatt Dubai
#9 of 550 in Dubai
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Dubai
#11 of 550 in Dubai
1,458 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#17 of 550 in Dubai
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dubai Festival City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dubai Festival City

Property: InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Address: Umm Ramool Rd | Dubai Festival City, Dubai 45777, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Dubai
#19 Business Hotel in Dubai
#25 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dubai Festival City 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a graceful sailboat, InterContinental Dubai Festival City stands tall amid the business and shopping districts. The hotel is home to 6 dynamic bars and restaurants, including the award-winning Reflets par Pierre Gagnaire, has wifi throughout rooms and public areas and its own 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Dubai Festival City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dubai Festival City Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing