We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but Dubai disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Ranked #25 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but Dubai disappoints”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

A great room, extremely large, comfortable and outstanding view. Enjoyed a nice dinner. Eclipse bar a disappointment as full of smokers although worth the view if you go up early. However Dubai itself was a disappoinment. Lacks any "soul" compared to European cities. Place to visit if you have money to spend shopping but can do that anywhere or have to lay over between flights but wouldn't rush back. Couldn't fault the Hotel however or staff who were attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piripi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Dubai_FC, Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear “Piripi_NZ”,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am delighted to know you were pleased with the “great”, and “extremely large” room provided to you and that your enjoyed your dinner and the “attentive and helpful” service provided by our colleagues. We were however disappointed to note that you did not find Dubai to your liking however I am sure that our Concierge team would be more than happy to provide you with some “in the know” information on your next visit to explore the hidden side of Dubai that is missed during a brief visit.

The view of the city skyline and the Dubai Creek is one of the best features our hotel endows and we are sorry that you found the smoking environment in the Eclipse bar not to your liking. I would like to extend my apologies for any discomfort this may have caused and note that the hotel does provide an overall smoke free environment as per the guidelines set by the local authorities.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards,


Tom Lord
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    372
    75
    32
    14
See reviews for
295
426
126
702
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Hotel was excellent, taxi fare from the airport to hotel is a lot more expensive then going back to the Airport, can't work out why! Must do the desert tour. The big red bus is only worth it if you buy two days.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Dubai_FC, Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear “Chilau”,

I am glad you enjoyed our hotel whilst staying in Dubai and that you found it to be “excellent”. Many thanks for putting your review here on Trip Advisor.

I would like to clarify your doubts with the taxi fares and note that Dubai taxis commence on 20 AED charge from the Airport and Airport zone as per Road Transport Authority regulations. The trip from the hotel and other locations in Dubai have a standard initial charge of 3.00 AED. I hope this will serve as enlightenment for your future trip to Dubai. For more “in the know” information we always recommend contacting our Concierge team prior to arrival who love sharing their local knowledge and tips.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you next visit Dubai.

Best regards,


Tom Lord
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The hotel was booked by my company for the company conference. Expected the standard 5-Star luxury but was surprised to see it was more than that. Its a newer hotel in Dubai and is exceptionally appointed. Its got wonderful views by day and night. Its located on the Dubai Marina and from my 15th floor window I had the beautiful view of the Burj Khalifa even from my bed. The room was very well decorated but the best part was the bath and the multi-tier lighting. The hotel is joined with one of the biggest malls in Dubai. I bought a LCD TV & just strolleyed it accross to the hotel. The conference facilities are top-class and so are the resteraunts with a wide variety of the world cuisine. Was very busy with the conference and wished I had more time to explore the hotel. They even organised outings to the city for the spouses of my collegues there for the conference.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shalinder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Dubai_FC, Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear “Chalinder”,

I am very pleased to hear you have had a wonderful stay during your last visit in our hotel. We greatly appreciate your positive comments with regards to our restaurants, your hotel room, the lighting and in particular your bath tub view. Lying in the bath watching the sun set over the Dubai Skyline, or simply watching TV, is a very popular way of winding down at the end of a busy day for many of our guests.

We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our hotel where this time you will hopefully have the chance to further explore our properties and facilities.

Best regards,


Tom Lord
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed in the Intercontinental festival city for 3 days with my boyfriend during a holiday to dubai, i could not fault this hotel. The rooms were large and spacious, the facilitites through out the hotel were absolutley spotless and the staff couldnt help you more. The hotel is about 5 - 10 mins drive from the airport and had a small mall with restaurants next door to the hotel, including a Jamies Italian restaurant. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive from the Dubai Mall and Burj Kalifa and further from other tourist attractions but taxis are really cheap. We also found this to be a good thing as we found places like Dubai marina where all the main hotels are to be too touristy.
If you want a clean hotel, with a gorgeous pool that has fantatstic views of the city this is the hotel to choose!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Dubai_FC, Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear “Jessie 19”,

I must most sincerely thank you for your feedback posted here on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your kind words concerning your hotel room, the overall cleanliness, our facilities and most importantly the service provided by our colleagues. I will be sure to share your feedback with all concerned.

Here at the Intercontinental we feel that we provide the best Dubai has to offer with direct access to one of the best malls in Dubai, an amazing leisure deck with unique views of the city and Dubai Creek and easy access to all destination in Dubai including the airport and we are glad you found this to be the case.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,


Tom Lord
Hotel manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

What an awesome and lavish hotel. Considering all of the opulence in Dubai, this hotel certainly didn't disappoint. The enormous lobby alone is amazing - and being there for the balloon drop at midnight New Years Eve was great fun. Then the rooms.... huge, spacious and with all of the mod cons you would expect. We had a view of the Burj Khalifa from our bathroom window and it was so relaxing sitting in the bath watching all of the glittering lights of Dubai. The pools were also lovely - though you need to get in early to get a good sun lounge, and the spa was something else - I don't think I've ever been so relaxed! Although the hotel is located a little way from many of the main Dubai sights (the souqs etc), we found most of what we needed at the Festival City shopping centre and restaurant complex next door. We also found a lot less hectic that over the other side of the creek (where the sights are).
I'm already planning our next trip so we can have a longer stay at the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Dubai_FC, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Dear Missyb_11

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of InterContinental Dubai Festival City.

I am very pleased to learn you had a most enjoyable time during your New Year’s Eve visit in our hotel. Many thanks for your comments regarding the rooms, the pool and our SPA, very delighted you had a relaxing stay.

We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our hotel and our amongst our esteemed guest

Best Regards,

Tom Lord
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

At higher price hotels I become a bit nit-picky so don't let this review give you pause to choosing this hotel. Let's start with those minor issues that prevents this from becoming a great hotel:

First off, they don't provide in-room dining menus by default. You have to call and request one. On my last stay, this menu took 1.5 hrs to arrive.

The shower door did not prevent water from spilling out and into the bathroom rug.

Some mold around the lip of the free standing tub.

Having your tub be filled via a ceiling mounted spigot looks cool in magazine ads, but in reality - like another reviewer stated - was incredibly loud and not practical at all.

Now the good:

Fully stocked mini-bar; nice in-room dining choices; clean room; pillow menu; speedy check in/out; nice selection of TV stations; close to airport; prompt laundry service.

As I usually just spend the night before traveling to Fujairah and am here as a solo business traveler, this hotel will now be by first choice over those located closer to the beaches and resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for the 18th or 19th Floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billandiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Dubai_FC, General Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Dear Billandiris,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of InterContinental Dubai Festival City.

I am disappointed to read you had an unsatisfactory experience during your recent stay in our Hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the series of inconvenience you have encountered and for failing short of your expectations on this occasion. Your comments are valuable to us and we have passed them onto the concerned for remedial actions where needed.

Additionally, many thanks for your feedback with regards to your hotel room, its facility and your check-in/check-out experience and for considering our hotel as your first choice of lodging.

Looking forward to once again welcoming you to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Tom Lord,
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2011

last weekend of march 2011.trip to dubai same hotel as usual since its opening.use to be a very nice and clean hotel.but since last year and this year ..it's like a factory.bellboy and concierge are wonderful and helpful but receptionist are like bees busy and arrogant.
club lounge girl are very nice and good service.rooms are very nice but i do think that the indian vallet are not to the standard .partly dirty(second time it happened)for the same price i better next time go to the grosvernor nearby the budha bar service excellent,outstanding
one more thing my wife did forget her wedding ring of 2000 us in between 8 pm to midnight.2 vallet came to refresh room at 22 pm source from cctv .guess ring did dissapeared
.duty manager was contacted the next morning we left hotel same day at night and no news from him no commercial gesture at our departure no formal.on when i wrote to customer care then i did receive a letter from room director...bla bla you know???pls don't leave anythi valuable jewellery beside .....but i still beleive that my review will make lot of u guys to cxd reservation and move to some other hotel in dubai..even im an ambassador platinium i will never ever put my feet in intercontinantal dubai......

ps im still waiting for a refund or at least a commercial gesture....

Room Tip: go to grosvernor for the same price service top!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peerbux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Dubai_FC, Manager at InterContinental Dubai Festival City, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear “Peerbux”,

Thank you for your comments and for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were pleased to note that you found our hotel to be “nice and clean” and that the Concierge were “wonderful and helpful” however I was concerned that you felt that you did not receive the usual high level of service from our Reception team.

We were indeed to concerned to note that your wife’s wedding ring had gone missing during your stay however would like to highlight that the hotel did conduct a full investigation regarding the matter with the outcome being inconclusive. I would like to highlight that our hotel is recognized as one of the safest and most secure hotels in Dubai and our colleagues have a proven record of returning lost and found items. I am extremely sorry that on this occasion we were unable to help you locate your wife’s ring.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and that we will have the chance to provide you with the true Intercontinental experience.

Kind regards,

Tom Lord
Hotel Manager, InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai Festival City
5.6 mi away
Taj Dubai
Taj Dubai
#12 of 545 in Dubai
1,345 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Dubai
Park Hyatt Dubai
#9 of 545 in Dubai
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The H Dubai
The H Dubai
#21 of 545 in Dubai
1,324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Marriott Hotel Al Jaddaf, Dubai
1.9 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 545 in Dubai
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dubai Festival City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dubai Festival City

Property: InterContinental Dubai Festival City
Address: Umm Ramool Rd | Dubai Festival City, Dubai 45777, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Dubai
#19 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#19 Business Hotel in Dubai
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dubai Festival City 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a graceful sailboat, InterContinental Dubai Festival City stands tall amid the business and shopping districts. The hotel is home to 6 dynamic bars and restaurants, including the award-winning Reflets par Pierre Gagnaire, has wifi throughout rooms and public areas and its own 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Prestigia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Dubai Festival City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dubai Festival City Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing