We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel, so pretty and comfortable”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #38 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel, so pretty and comfortable”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days and really enjoyed it. Location is about 5 min walk to Dubai Mall and pretty convenient overall. Definitely on the pricey side though, think we paid something like US$600 per night.

Room Tip: Get a room near the lift, else it's a long hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMermaid027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the short stay with us and we hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,084
    364
    101
    63
    40
See reviews for
536
1,184
142
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a great few days at The Palace. We had a palace suite which was very spacious and well appointed. Staff were very attentive and service was great.

A huge hero cheer to the lifeguard (Enam) who performed a real life rescue (child face down in the pool while mother oblivious).

Location is amazing. Soul al Bahar, Dubai Mall and Dubai fountain all within 5 mins walk.

Only issues (and we are being pretty picky): no downward view from room (despite being on the 5th floor), but impressive view of the Burg Kalifa (upwards). Concierge needed chasing to confirm tour bookings. We went on one tour to find we had to pay cash! Thankfully Dubai has a drive through cash point!

Loved the whole Dubai and Palace experience. Hope to come back soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter8900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at The Palace Downtown Dubai. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the experience and appreciated the service, the well-appointed room which view was actually not exactly what you expected for which I apologize. We will certainly look into the service level from the concierge and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you again for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stopped here last leg of 25th Wedding Anniversary holiday - fabulous hotel packed with top class facilities and excellent restaurants. Money seems strong motivator / ethos rather than customer focus as per this story - Due to mix up between travel agent and hotel our bill hadn't been paid - so we were forced to settle our own bill on departure ! (despite the travel agents assurance whilst we were there that it would be paid by them) The hotel advised that they would refund the money once received - however we have been back almost a month and as yet no refund. Lots of excuses on e-mail as to why but they've been paid twice and can't manage a simple credit card refund - it's clear where the focus is... Come on we expect more from a world class hotel

Room Tip: We had an upgrade from point of booking garden view -superb room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIkeR964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us on the occasion of your Wedding Anniversary.

I am pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated all our facilities. At the same time I would like to sincerely apologize in regards to the inconveniences caused by the delayed payment from the Travel Agent which was followed by unpleasant delayed refund procedures to your credit card. I certainly understand your frustration and I personally have followed up on the refund status which was processed today and I believe by now our team communicated you about it. Thank you for sharing your concern and rest be assured that we will look into it to avoid such situations in the future.

I apologize once again and on behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on my way to Europe the staff were curtious and attentive, we were upgraded to a suite at check in,wonderful service and the food in the restaurant was delicious. I loved it so much I am making a return trip in May this time staying 7 nights.
Any one looking for a great place to stay I would recommend The Palace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your short stay with us and appreciated our service, the food that we serve as well as the upgrade offered upon check in.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in May.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have stayed at The Palace five times now as I live in Abu Dhabi and often spend the weekends in Dubai. The location is fantastic as it is located right downtown with fantastic views of The Dubai Fountain, Burj Khalifa and the entire downtown area. Being in the middle of the city however does not make it seem like a large, commercialized property. The hotel truly has a small property feel to it as the staff are always going out of their way to assist. They often know your name regardless of where in the hotel you are which is a nice added touch. The rooms are fantastic, with a beautiful bathroom, small study area and generous balcony. The pool is fantastic and really makes you feel like you are staying at a palace.

The hotel offers many choices of restaurants and the breakfast provided is my favourite part of the stay. A never ending list of options is provided in the buffet with staff standing by to offer you whatever you can conjure up in your mind.

I recently strayed from this hotel to try something different and learned my lesson...I will be back soon and will continue to recommend The Palace to my family and friends who frequent the city of Dubai.

Room Tip: The fountain view rooms are nice...unless you need an early sleep as the show runs until 11pm and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am truly happy to see that you had another enjoyable experience here at The Palace Downtown Dubai. All the team can only be inspired by such wonderful comments.

It is an absolute pleasure to know that you will continue to be one of our regular guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful hotel and service. Our room overlooked the fabulous fountain.
A little disappointed in the restraints. The main dining room only served a Buffet style meal. One other restaurant was closed for a private function and the Thai was booked out. So anybody looking for al la carte in the main dining room would be disappointed.
We did however book a driver and car through Mukhadar the concierge. Mukhadar was a good careful driver, took us where we wanted to go without any pressure. He even waited for us whilst we had coffee. Our trip lasted 3 hours which we found sufficient.

Room Tip: our room was located on the 2nd floor and had a wonderful view of the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the hotel as well as the service in particular from our driver Mukhtar who is a real asset to the team. At the same time I apologize for the inconveniences in regards to the restaurants not being available and that you could not enjoy an a la carte meal.

Thank you again for your feedback and on behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for three nights for our honeymoon and the staff were just awesome and amazing. I have always admired this hotel on my many trips to dubai and what a treat to stay here while on honeymoon.
Staff were very attentive and helpful and upgraded us upon check in.
The breakfast buffet was amazing with fresh fruit and juices to pastries and breads and all sorts of cuisines on offer!
The room was breathtaking with a view of the Burj Khalifa and fountains - so no need to cram outside Dubai mall for it!
The hotel is conviently adjoined to Souk al Bahar which is also opposite the Dubai mall so an amazing location.
This hotel is quite possibly the best hotel i have stayed in and I look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Fountain view rooms are breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy to read about your pleasant experience while staying with us starting with the check in process, upgrade as well as breakfast, location and views. We are truly delighted that your honeymoon was so memorable and that you had chosen to spend it here at The Palace.

We thank you again for sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#31 of 550 in Dubai
2,177 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#69 of 550 in Dubai
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#56 of 550 in Dubai
2,104 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#27 of 550 in Dubai
1,795 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#91 of 550 in Dubai
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Property: Palace Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing