We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #39 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived at this hotel at 6.00 am and were not due to check in until 2.00pm. We were greeted warmly and offered refreshments while the friendly staff checked us in. As our room was not ready we were offered a room to relax and refresh in after our overnight flight until our booked room was ready. Our booked room was still not ready by 2.00pm, check in time so we were offered another room at no extra charge. The new room was a 3 room suite surrounded by water on 3 sides with fantastic views. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was the best I have ever experienced any where in the World and it doubled as a sumptuous dinner buffet in the evening. The location is perfect- within undercover walking distance to the Dubai Mall and the Khalifa. The whole stay at this hotel was a never to be forgotten experience.

Room Tip: the fountain view rooms offer spectacular views, however the fountain music could get a little loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 513Suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you were pleased with your stay while experiencing a pleasant welcome experience even though the room was not ready. However I am glad that the team was so helpful and able to offer you a solution. I am also happy to know that you liked the room given and you enjoyed our hotel facilities throughout your stay.

Thank you again for your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,480 - 1,486 of 2,722 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent hotel,very willing and helpful staff
Fantastic breakfast, out side or in.
Stayed there 6 times, very central located for other entertainment and shopping.
Near the big fountain. Your stay won't be disappointed.
One peace of advise, reconfirm everything at least 48 beforehand ,especially airport pick up and drop off.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BitterSweetSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay here at The Palace and we appreciate the nice comments about the service, breakfast and location with so many attractions around us.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I dont know from where to start as my experience was amazing in all aspects. starting from the check-in and the immediate upgrade that was given to us as we demanded two separate twin beds followed by the room which overlooks the fountain, the view was magnificent!, the beds were so comfortable, and the room generally was above our expectations.
all the staff in the hotel walk the extra mile to insure that we are happy and being served. the breakfast was scrumptious and caters to all tastes. there was a good section for low calorie meals. the restaurant is so huge which insures that you do not have to wait to get a table.
i have tried the gym and i saw that it was fully equipped, the spa offers a variety of treatments, and the pool was absolutely amazing, except that it was 1.2m depth which i didnot like.
the location of the hotel is just perfect, the Dubai Mall is within a 10 minutes walking distance which makes the hotel an ideal choice if you are coming to do some retail therapy. moreover, it is within souq albahar property which offers a varitey of restaurants.
after this amazing experience, i will never choose any other hotel when visiting Dubai

Room Tip: choose a room to overlooks the fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haneen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Palace Downtown Dubai from the moment you arrived where you had the pleasant surprise of an upgrade and throughout your stay experiencing the swimming pool, Spa facilities, breakfast as well as location and service from our Associates.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a fabulous 2night stopover in Dubai and stayed at the Palace. We had a basic room which was more than adequate overlooking the back of the complex. The location was perfect and within easy walking distance of the Dubai Mall and the Khalifa. The staff were extremely helpful, the breakfast divine including GF options and the cabanas at the pool appreciated. The concierge was helpful in planning a tour of the city. Not a bad moment at this simply beautiful and peaceful place. Would jump at the chance to stay again. Thank you to all the staff involved.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpecialBirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your short stay with us while commenting positively on the service, room, pool experience as well as the breakfast.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Amazing location opposite the Burj Al-Arab and next to Dubai Mall. Large spacious rooms with above average in room amenities with friendly and helpful staff. Excellent dining with a selection of cuisines all in all an altogether fantastic hotel for a luxury holiday! Adequate pool with plenty of poolside space to relax and unwind. Highly recommend for a great holiday

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Burj / Lake for excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DYD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were extremely pleased with the location being close to tallest building in the world and the biggest shopping mall. Also thank you for your comments about our service, restaurants and swimming pool.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I usually stay here when coming to Dubai on business, but stayed with my partner this time at the start of our holidays. From the moment we checked in and were greeted at 1am with cold towels and a cool drink, to the driver who took us to the airport, we were treated brilliantly by the staff.
The breakfast buffet is quite amazing. I have never had better - lots of fresh fruit, juices, good coffee and freshly prepared and cooked food. While the room was an average size one for the Palace, it was large enough and we could just see the fountains from our window. The bed is wonderfully comfortable and the pillow menu a nice touch. Shower was wonderful, bathroom big enough for both of us to get ready for the day in the same space. Pool area lovely and clean, pool service good.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank xenathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to read your wonderful comments and we are glad that once again you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your extensive positive feedback about your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon on business or together with your partner.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our stay at this top class hotel has been pure indulgence. You are greeted by the fabulous staff as you enter the hotel, the vibrancy and extravagence of the entire establishment instantly puts you at ease and sets the tone for a totally luxurious relaxing holiday. The service shown to us by the multicultural team of staff here is second to none. Everything and anything we wished for was provided in an instant with a smile. Such a beautiful loveable friendly bunch of wonderful people work here. Thank you to Emmanual and Chitra in concierge for all your assistance Dipika in the bar for providing me with many many fabulous cosmopolitans, Regina who ensured I had what I needed, Priyantha and Dulaj from breaky each day who were just gorgeous and super friendly and Sandip and Chadeo from around the spectacular pool who went above and beyond with their service daily.

Room Tip: Every room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilliespearlzroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were extremely pleased in particular with the service of our Associates while even remembering and mentioning their names. They will be absolutely thrilled and also very motivated by your positive comments.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#65 of 556 in Dubai
2,253 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#29 of 556 in Dubai
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#25 of 556 in Dubai
1,850 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#92 of 556 in Dubai
2,113 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#62 of 556 in Dubai
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $369 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing