We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and unbeatable location!”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #43 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying at this hotel, it is beautiful and the location is excellent! It is just behind the burj khalifa (the view is breathtaking) and walking distance from the dubai mall. We tried one of the restaurants, thiptara (thai) and it was very good. Our room had a view of the fountains which was great, we got to see multiple shows every night. We loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted to read that you got the time to enjoy and appreciate so much that we have to offer, including our fantastic views of the Dubai Fountains and Burj Khalifa the world’s tallest tower.

Thank you also for commending our restaurants and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Please do let us know when we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 2,805 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

The lobby and public areas of this hotel are fantastic. The moorish architecture and attention to detail is stunning. Breakfast is out of this world with the selections and quality (and I am a spoiled world traveler). We stayed in a Jr Suite (with two kids and two adults) and although they brought in an extra bed it was still very generously spaced. Location is perfect across the "pond" from Burj Khalifa and the Mall.

Room Tip: get a room with view of Burj Khalifa. The other side of the hotel has no views to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalNomad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that you had enjoyed so much your stay with us with the surroundings, the style and architecture as well as the convenient location. It is an absolute pleasure to know that The Palace is “Most beautiful hotel” you have stayed.

Thank you the positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The moment we entered the lobby of this beautiful hotel - we felt ourselves relax! We arrived at about 8.30 in the morning, so obviously didn't expect our room. Our bags were taken and we were shown to the lounge where tea and cakes were brought to us while reception sorted our reservation. After only a few minutes a lovely lady came and explained everything to us and a gentleman took us to our room. Wow!! it was beautiful-large, clean, fantastic view from the balcony and had every amenity you would need. From then on it got better and better! Every member of staff was polite, cheerful and willing to help in any way they could without being overpowering. The food was outstanding - we ate in Ewann and also The Palace Cafe -everything was plentiful with a vast selection-we felt it was very good value for money. Our room was kept to a hight standard throughout our stay - with a lovely suprise for my birthday. Having stayed in other 5 star hotels, we would have to rate this as the best in whichg we have ever visited. Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: From what we could see, everything is so beautiful in the grounds, any room would have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzyplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us from the moment you arrived and thorough the entire stay. All the team truly appreciates your kind comments about the service, the food as well as the room.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The very impressed with the location. But the services in the hotel was very poor. My check-in took too long & i had to wait for my lauggage over 30 minutes to arrive. Rooms were bit dirty & disorganized. My bath room was clean but the shower wasn't working well. Room carpets were very dirty & had bad odor. I won't rush to visit Palace anytime soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

We are truly sorry to know that you did not experience the high level of service from our associates where they put so much passion to deliver it to each and every guest. Your comments about the room condition are well considered and we are currently working on projects to enhance our guests’ experience. Please accept my most sincere apologies and rest assured the points you have highlighted will be addressed.

I hope you will honor us with an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel do NOT deserve to be the five star hotel. I experienced the masherbia fall down. If you ask me, five star hotel with carpets are stained, Check-in and out are poor, and concierge is not well information provider, unfortunately, they do not well deserve.

Not value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for feedback following your stay with us.

We would like to express our most sincere apologies for the service shortfalls during your stay. We do have records of the incident and I remember myself when the team reported the Masherbia falling which luckily did not hurt anyone. I truly hope that the discount that we offered on the room charge for that night was satisfying.

I also regret to read about the experienced service from our Concierge and during the check in process. Please be assured that we are constantly reviewing the feedback we receive to improve our level of service for our guest.

I apologize once again and on behalf of the entire team we hope to be able to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent facility with professional and attentive staff. Good location near the center of city. Extensive breakfast buffet. Well furnished room with all you would expect. Beautiful views of Burge Kahlifah from pool.

Room Tip: Request a Burge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alassio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words that you shared in your review. I am glad to know you had an enjoyable stay with us and our Associates will be thrilled to know how much you appreciated their service and that you felt “like a Sheik”.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A really good "Arabian Nights" theme of traditional middle eastern architectural styles make the hotel a joy to behold.while still being absolutely modern and well equipped.
The room was spacious and overlooked the fountains so there was the noise of the music a few times each evening but you barely heard it.
We were perfectly happy with both the hotel and staff and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canthox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Sorgenfrey, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you were happy with your recent stay with us and enjoyed our Associates’ service as well as the location and surroundings overlooking the fountains.

It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#22 of 561 in Dubai
1,904 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#75 of 561 in Dubai
2,208 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#67 of 561 in Dubai
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#23 of 561 in Dubai
2,297 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#16 of 561 in Dubai
702 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 561 in Dubai
3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#30 Family Hotel in Dubai
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $379 - $902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing