We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #30 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Doha
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed only for a long weekend, however it was a truly wonderful experience.

The rooms are lovely, staff helpful and attentive and the breakfast was amazing.

If i had to complain about anything my only gripe would be the lack of sun loungers around the pool - a problem particularly on weekends. Staff do what they can to squeeze in and accommodate as many people as they can, however they can only do so much. You need to be down quick to get a spot!

Really like the 24 hour check in/check out that comes with suites - whatever time you check into the hotel, that is then your check out time on day of departure.

Will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your review. Thank you so much for your kind words and for sharing your stay experience.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed and appreciated so much of what the hotel, and surrounding area has to offer and at the same time would like to apologize for the inconveniences faced at the swimming pool.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    348
    98
    58
    38
See reviews for
514
1,129
129
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed at "The Palace the Old Town" for 2 nights as a stopover on a recent trip to Europe, our first time in Dubai. We absolutely loved this hotel from the moment we walked in the front entrance - wish I could replicate the wonderful aroma as you walk in!
It is in a perfect location, close to Dubai Mall, you can see the Burg Khalifa from the hotel and also the spectacular fountain show.
We had a very large room with an awesome bathroom. The whole complex is spotlessly clean.The staff were very courteous. Loved the pool area. Great breakfast food selection.. We used room service a number of times which was just perfect. Will definately stay here i we are ever back in Dubai!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KleinKuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and are very delighted to read the kind words about the service, the aroma, the location, the breakfast and the pool area. It inspires us to continue providing excellent services to our guests.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Although this is a modern building (with all the convenience and comfort that brings) the architecture and furnishing is quite classical.

Most rooms have a great view out ovver the Dubai fountain towards the Burj tower, and this hotel is well located for the Dubai Mall and the small modern Souk.

All the staff are helpful, friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. The rooms are comfortable. Overall there is a sense of calm. Very hard to be critical, although I didn't get any dates and mint drink mentioned elsewhere.

I only ate breakfast there but Wow! what an amazing selection. Definitely the very best quality and something for everyone wherever you hail from in the world.

Would I stay there again? Absolutely if it is on business and someone else is paying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Dunelmian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were extremely pleased with the buffet breakfast, service of our Associates as well as with the facilities available at the hotel.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Pros: Fantastic place overall. Loved the location (view of the Burj Khalifa and the fountain show from our balcony), seriously excellent service (they accommodated an annoying request from us, major points for that), and the hotel in general is gorgeous.

Major pro: the delicious dates and mint drink they give you upon arrival. Lovely.

Cons: The room was very dark -- I can deal with the lack of natural sunlight in the room, but there were so few lights! More importantly, I couldn't get the scent of cigarette smoke out of the room (it was a non-smoking room)-- I almost feel like it was coming out of the air conditioning system (as it got worse when I turned the AC on). I despise cigarette smoke and am fairly sensitive to it so this made sleeping fairly uncomfortable.

That said, I'll definitely come back, but I'll make sure I refuse a room that smells like smoke next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VintagePeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. It is an absolute pleasure to know that you enjoyed the location and the service of our Associates.

At the same time, please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have faced during your stay with us in regards to the room. Rest assured the points you have highlighted will be addressed.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent location and value for money.
very nice personnel and very helpful. they assisted us in giving us tips to the city and also to make reservations for a dinner in the dessert.
very good location and access to the dubai mall and the burj Khalifa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us.

It is our absolute pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we would be able to welcome you back soon.


Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were picked up in an Audi provided by the hotel. Upon arriving, we were immediately met by an extremely nice lady who took us to our room for check in. The occasion was my wife's birthday. They made every accommodation for her. The room was large and nicely appointed. Our balcony overlooked the fountain water show. Everything was top notch, clean and beautiful. Although in June, a short walk to the mall took care of the heat. An overall great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spd1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were extremely pleased with our service and hospitality. It is an honor for us that you chose to celebrate the birthday of your wife here at The Palace and had a great time.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel sits beside the lake, overlooking the wonderful half hourly fountain display, which occurs nightly from around 6.30pm till 11pm. It adjoins the Burj Khalifa which is the tallest building in the world, and sits next to the Dubai Mall, which contains hundreds of interesting international shops. The pool is 25m long, so good for doing lengths.

The service is excellent, the beds and rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the food is good, although pricey.

Room Tip: All lake rooms are the same size, but with varying outlooks. All have large balconies, though in Sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and truly enjoyed our Associate’s service, the food, the surroundings as well as the comfort.

Thank you again for your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Taj Dubai
#13 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 542 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#26 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,096 reviews
Atlantis, The Palm
#95 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16,152 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#34 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Property: Palace Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing