We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Luxurious Arabian Palace”
Review of Palace Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace Downtown
Ranked #38 of 547 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Luxurious Arabian Palace”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This hotel is considered number one of the five stars hotel in Dubai. I have stayed in all the 5 stars hotel in Dubai but I couldn't find better than The Palace The old town. The location is perfect. everything is a walk distance from you. The price is OK and the service is fabulous!
The staff are always helpful with smile. The general environment is clean and quiet. You can walk to Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa.
My best place in this hotel is the shisha tent in Ewaan restaurant. this place is charming. imagine how it would be when you are smoking a delicious shisha on the poolside in front of burj khalifa. wow. it is really charming

Room Tip: Don't miss the fountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hussein M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Hussein,

I am glad to know that you had a great time during your stay at The Palace -The Old Town. We are committed to provide our guests with the best service and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the attractions near us.

We would like to thank you again for your kind review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,059
    361
    99
    62
    40
See reviews for
530
1,165
140
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The palace Hotel at Dubai downtown is really very excellent option for any visitor to this magical city. I stayed at the end of April and I celebrated there my second anniversary. The stay was exceptional by all means. The staff are welcoming and very professional. Check in is so smooth. I told them that I want the room to be prepared for anniversary and the preparation was a real surprise for my wife. They brought a cake and a special juice for that occasion. Red roses were all over the room and toilet with foamy soap. The hotel is so close from Dubai mall, the Burj Khalifa, Dubai dancing fountain as well as many intercontinental restaurants.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and will visit it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from The Palace - The Old Town!

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and our great location as well. We look forward to being able to welocme you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My partner and i stayed here for two nights, 27th and 28th November 2011 following a week's cruise on the Brilliance of the Seas. This hotel is full of Olde Worlde charm with a magnificent entrance from the main road. There is a beautiful fountain in the centre of the island outside the main entrance and a water feature in the lobby which is surrounded by candlelight at night. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the room was really like a suite, very large with a king size bed, dressing table that also doubled as a writing desk. The bathroom was very large with twin vanity bowls, a large shower cubicle and separate toilet. It also had a small cloakroom area for dressing gowns and slippers (supplied). The toiletries were also high quality items including a sewing kit, toothbrushes/paste and other vanity products.

The meals tended to be expensive but there are lots of other places to eat and we found a hotel just across the bridge which did a fabulous breakfast for £8. Our room had a view over the Dubai Mall lake and we were only a stones throw from the Burj Khalifa (tallest building in the world). At night from 6pm to 9pm they have a laser show and dancing fountains in the lake. When we were there the fountains were dancing to the tune of 'Oh My Beloved Father' and we could feel the hairs standing up on the back of our necks. There were also lots of people having drinks and food in the al fresco restaurants around the pool and with lights everywhere it was a magical experience. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Valerie,

I would like to thank you again for your kind review on our hotel.

We are happy to know that you had a great time and it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Only had a short stay as had a connecting flight however during our stay we were welcomed and treated like royalty - the staff couldn't be nicer and friendlier if they tried.
The room was amazing, spacious and well decorated, no external noise whatsoever. The bed - sheer bliss - the best nights sleep I can remember - so comfortable.
Location is perfect, overlooking the Burj Khalifa and the lake where there's a fountain show daily.
Will definitely visit again when in Dubai.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julionumero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Ms. Julionumero1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us.We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the views and the attractions of the surrounding area. Please be assured that we will be sharing your admirable comments with all our associates. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.
Please feel free to contact me should you require any assistance.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
The Palace-Old Town Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed from 11th- 17th April to celebrate 50th birthday. My husband and I had a wonderful, enormous suite with view of fountain and tallest building. Beds so comfy and bathroom beautiful.
Our son and his friend had a delux room which was also well appointed.
Room service, food and pool service were excellent and we had a cake and the bed was decorated for my birthday which was a really excellent extra touch.
We have stayed in Dubai many times and this hotel is definately in a good location and very luxurious but something missing in welcome and reception which is a shame and is in many comments.

Room Tip: Book a suite as fabulous especially with a view of fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Ms. Edinburgh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you liked The Palace architecture, ambiance, food and our service. Please be assured that we will be sharing your kind comments with all our associates.
Ms. Edinburgh, I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience the welcome and reception had caused you. Please be assured that we will certainly look into this matter.
Please feel free to contact me should you require any assistance.
On behalf of the entire team here at The Palace -The Old Town, we all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours Sincerely,
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
The Palace-Old Town Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the Palace The Old Town as it seemed geographically well placed and the feedback from others sounded promising. Having stayed in Dubai before we are used to seeing a fair amount of construction so it didn't phase us too much to arrive in what looks like the middle of a building site at the rear of the complex, especially when looking onto the Burj Dubai.

The Palace is immaculate with beautiful rooms / suites and impressive grounds however it does fall short compared to other 5 star Dubai hotels which I’d imagine would be perceived by management as direct competition given the daily room rates. Dubai hotels normally fall into 2 categories - business and leisure however this didn't particularly fit either with a rather small but exclusive business centre serving free alcohol all day and a main outdoor pool no longer than 15m in length for the entire hotel – there is a good shopping mall adjacent as well as good bars and restaurants within a nice walking distance which is rare in Dubai. Restaurants and facilities are limited. If you want to stay by the pool during the day and eat at the hotel there are very few options unless you are willing to pay per head for the buffet style lunch served in the main dining area that can become rather repetitive in terms of scenery.

The palace of the old town is indeed a palace in its own right however it’s in no way unique enough to compare to other more high profile and established beach hotels and likewise some newer 5 star hotels nearby that boast far superior facilities as standard..

Room Tip: be careful as my balcony was a head high wall for privacy which is ok if your famous I guess..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonygB9422OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Gries,

Thank you for sharing your candid review on TripAdvisor. I offer my sincere apologies for any shortfalls you experience during your stay. I would also like to thank you for your constructive comments which we will review in detail. Please be assured that these comments are taken into serious consideration.
We hope that you will honour us with another opportunity to welcome you back again to The Palace – The Old Town.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice place, could be amazing with the right management. Current management seemed to prioritise corporate events over hotel guests. E.g. closed the pool for a whole day because of some dinner event, only leaving a rather unapologetic note in the guests' rooms. We thought this was very disappointing, as well as things like being kept waiting for 2 hours at check-in despite being told it would take 15 minutes. These things happen, but a true 5 star establishment would show its strength and professionalism in the way it handles the situation, offering guests a sincere apology, a solution etc. (Please do not respond after the fact via Tripadvisor)

Good things about this place include location near a great shopping mall. The grounds are well maintained, there is a nice poolside bar for example. Rooms are quite spacious, beds comfortable. Much less noisier than other places in Dubai, but would caution against a room facing the pool (music) or the fountains (lightshows / music until c. 11pm).

There were about 3 restaurants. Best offering and value for money was the buffet -very nice for breakfast and lunch. Service was very friendly. Generally in the hotel only check-in / management were on the curt side - cleaners, waiters, bar staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmiliaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Palace Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Ms. Emily,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. I offer my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay for which we offer no excuses only an apology with our assurance that we recognize all issues you highlight.
Ms. Emily, you are valuable to us. It would be very helpful to understand some more details of your experience. If I could ask you to send me your direct contact details to msorgenfrey@thepalace-dubai.com . Rest assured I will reach out to you separately.

I look forward to hearing more from you.

With our very best wishes for now.
Michael Sorgenfrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#30 of 547 in Dubai
2,153 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#59 of 547 in Dubai
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#71 of 547 in Dubai
1,988 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#28 of 547 in Dubai
1,747 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#95 of 547 in Dubai
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Downtown

Property: Palace Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, 29 | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 9770, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 Business Hotel in Dubai
#31 Family Hotel in Dubai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Downtown 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace, built on the edge of a lake, is a harmonious blend of the past and present of Dubai with 242 guest rooms and suites boasting a captivating Middle Eastern theme. The luxury hotel hosts an array of international restaurants featuring fine cuisine, a breathtaking luxury spa, recreational facilities, a large pool and a comprehensive business center. It is ideally located near the Dubai World Trade Center, several major business institutions, shopping malls and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace The Old Town Hotel Dubai
The Palace Old Town
Palace The Old Town Dubai
Sofitel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing