We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Royal Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Ascot Hotel
Ranked #52 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed January 1, 2009

I dont know about past but I was there last month and it was the best hotel with this rate in dubai.there is a clean family hotel without any problem of night clubs like other ones.
I will go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bardia1353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,526 - 1,532 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2008

This hotel was booked by the company we came to visit and unfortunately this hotel negatives outweigh the positives resulting in me avoiding this hotel for future visits.

Pros: rooms are quite large and adequately air-conditioned, large bathroom with good water pressure, friendly and knowledgeable concierge. Convenient location to the Dubai Museum area and in driving range of some of the major malls. Smoking rooms (I was unfortunately appointed one and could not be relocated to a non smoking room) are not too smelly and I as a non smoker was not really bothered by it. Turn down service with a complimentary fruit platter (bananas, apples, grapes and oranges).

Cons: noise from the next door night club can be heard, even on the 6th floor and won't stop until around 3AM. Check in/ Checkout agents are very inefficient; it took us about 40 minutes to check out (there was no queue; this was the actual time it took to get checked out). There were items on the bill that could not be explained by the check out agent (we did not use the mini bar, but the hotel insisted that it was a charge for the mini bar). In total the bill was printed out about 5 or 6 times, each time mistakes were made and the bill needed to be reprinted.

In the end we missed our flight check in deadline with about 5 minutes and we mainly blame this on the long check out process. When we had to find a hotel to stay in until our next flight, we did not think twice and checked in to the Hilton Dubai Jumeirah: what a difference it was!

So save yourself the potential troubles ahead and avoid this hotel which has the potential to be a decent hotel, but at this stage is certainly no more than an average 3 star hotel with inadequate staff (except for the concierge staff).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

We had three days in February 2008 (and 4 days last year, same month).
The location is very good, in Bur Dubai, within walking distance(about 15/20 minutes) of Creek, Gold Market and Souks.
The bedroom was really nice, new, clean and comfortable , lovely bathroom.
There is a nice swimmingpool on the roof top with sun loungers .
Negative: the buffet breakfast was served in the lobby, near the reception, and food was not good, no fresh eggs and omelettes (breakfast was better last year, served at Troika restaurant in the next door Ascot hotel, more various food and better quality)
All in all great value for money

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ritafant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

The hotel is located within the heart of Bur Dubai and is central to almost everything in Dubai. The room we stayed at was small but nice, it was on the 1st floor and there was no view of anything outside, however since there is so much to do at Dubai, this can be ignored. The problem is with so many restaurants in the hotel and there is load music that goes on till 3am and this is extremely disturbing. There is a very small pool and gym at the roof top.
It is a substandard 3 star – nothing more. Stay here only if you dont have a choice.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gaurav_Vedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

My husband and I are currently staying at the Royal Ascot for business in Dubai. Normally we travel at least once a month, this is our monthly business trip; we choose the Royal Ascot as a result of the website, and the fact that this was a hotel that claimed to be a 5 star.
IT IS NOT BY ANY MEANS!!
The service is very frustrating to say the least, each morning we've ordered breakfast in our room, and each order has been wrong or missing half of the items. Sorry just doesn't seem to cut it when you're expecting 5 star service/quality.
The bathrooms in the main reception were completely trashed the other day, as a result of a huge party of tourists that had to use these to "shower" before leaving to fly home.
When I complained about having to walk through a puddle to use the bathrooms, and lift my trousers to avoid stepping in what might be urine and water mixed together was horrifying, again, this IS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL!
Room service takes over an hour for breakfast, we requested our laundry this morning at 9:00 from the previous day, it's now 12:15 and still no sign of our clothes.
Next time we'll be staying at the Palace, as the service there is as close to a 5 star as possible.
We'd rate this hotel as a 3 star at most.
The staff at the front desk are extremelly rude, in any other 5 star hotel they bend over backwards to make sure you're comfortable.
We ordered a ironing board and iron for our room, and the ironing board they sent up had black marks all over it, we were told to take a sheet off the bed and cover the board with this!!
Does this sound like a 5 star to you??? Ha, hardly!
Save your money and stress levels and book someplace else!
P.S.
No CD players, no DVD players, the radio on the TV's does not work, and every morning we wake up to the smell of garlic meat cooking.
I truly can't wait to check out of this sham of a hotel.
A veteran traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank skusderci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

The Royal Ascot Hotel is in the heart of Bur Dubai in a very good location for business men. The "famous2 indian night club Bolliwood at the mezzanine floor has been closed down, it means that the sleeping was perfect.
Nice,wide rooms, new, clean with all the amenities you could ask
Perfect service.
The welness centre is very good. Pool, steambath, sauna, cardio fitness free, and pool free of charge.
What is not going in the right way?
1) Reception staff. They do not know how to work. I have had to ask a confirmation for my special company rate by 3 different managers on duty!!!
2) Internet. 40 Dhs / hour is really a robbery. It must be free!
3) Breakfast. the location in the Korean restaurant near the reception is not convenient, it is a small busy place without the express preparation by the chefs that I was used to have when the breakfas was served in "Troika" restaurant at the top floor of the Ascot Hotel. Ok no windows but much better food!!!
4) dubai become very expensive. 950 dhs / night with a company rate is an amazing amount of money.
Worthy? Yes but no more than 1000 / Dhs per night.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank starcluster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We have been in Dubai 5 times and stayed at many 5 star
Hotels. On this occasion after an recommendation we chose to stay at the Royal Ascot Hotel. When we arrived we asked to have a room on the top floor because we knew about the night club noise next door. Anyway the reception desk came back and gave us a room on 1st floor even though we asked for the top floor. After a long wait we finally was moved to the 5th Floor. The service was very slow and we found the Staff not very friendly as everyone seemed busy. Our rooms weren't cleaned to the standard of a 5 star hotel we had to keep calling room service for them to finish the job correctly. The biggest let down was the breakfast room. It was situated right next to the reception area which we found it bizarre with people walking in and out of the main entrance. The staff were not friendly to greet us in the morning and it was constantly busy. Staff had no idea where to find a table for us it was ridiculous. It is very unlikely we will be going back to the Royal Ascot Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonKiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#47 of 561 in Dubai
1,527 reviews
0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#175 of 561 in Dubai
513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
J5 Rimal
J5 Rimal
#39 of 561 in Dubai
725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ascot Hotel

Address: Khalid Bin Al Waleed Rd | Bur Dubai; 3c Street, 62, Dubai 115160, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#46 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#47 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $75 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive Dubai hotel features 11 food outlets, expansive spa facilities and a rooftop swimming pool with city views. It offers free on-site parking and is situated a 5-minute drive from the Burjuman Mall. All guest rooms at Royal Ascot Hotel have high ceilings and are equipped with an LCD TV with satellite channels. The luxury bathrooms feature marble flooring and signature amenities. Among the 11 bars, cafés and restaurants at the Royal Ascot, the Ok Ryu Gwan serves exquisite Korean dishes, while Mehfil specializes in authentic Indian cuisine. Guests can have a massage and then relax at the Chill Spa or sunbathe on the terrace. The Royal Hotel is a 7-minute drive from the popular Sheikh Zayed Road and a 5-minute drive from Dubai Museum. Dubai Creek is 2 km away. Bur Dubai is a great choice for travellers interested in desert, sightseeing and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ascot Hotel Dubai
Hotel Royal Ascot
Royal Ascot Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing