We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Ascot Hotel
Ranked #59 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Royal Ascot and were quite pleased with our accommodations. The hotel is walking distance to the Metro and a short walk to the water taxis. While not the most modern (the hotel is located in the older section of Dubai), our accommodations were quite comfortable...large double rooms, comfortable beds (not too soft...just right) and a good amount of closet space. Our room was located on the fifth floor, across from the elevators and we were not bothered by the noise one might expect due to our location.

The staff was most accommodating and responsive to our needs and requests. There are several restaurants located in the hotel and the food at all of them was more than adequate. I would highly recommend the Royal Ascot.

Room Tip: It's probably a good idea to not have a room higher than the 6th floor. There is club/restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madicasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    288
    120
    48
    32
See reviews for
364
245
104
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had booked Royal Ascot for our stay in Dubai For 4 nights during 14 th of March 2014 to 18 th of March 2014 . We had requested for a room on a non smoking floor and away from the noise .
As requested we got a room on the non smoking floor ( 6 th and 7 th floor are non smoking floors.)
Our disappointment began as soon as we entered the hotel ,as there was nobody at the entrance we had to carry our own lauguage inside the hotel . The check-in was relatively smoother and we were given early check-in . But when we entered our room we saw the table top in our room was not cleaned ..the carpet in the room was worn out .Though the room was clean there was lack of crispness and newness to it. .Also the room was on the back side of the hotel . We could see only the low class residences from the windows .. As one goes to Dubai , there some sort of expectation in terms of the classy feel n the grandeur of the City . The location of this hotel does not fulfil that at all ..
After we complained about this , they offered us an upgrading to the suite room on the 7 th floor . Again here the bed room was very small for a family of 3 . Except there was a living room with Kitchenette attached to it , but it was non functional. The sofa covers in this room were totally old n faded. Till we shifted to that room we were constantly bombarded with the phone calls from the reception to shift fast .
Now the house keeping part . The requests for extra bath towel would take at least half an hour and room would not be cleaned even if we place a request card on the door or orally instruct the floor staff and leave for a day .. Is this a kind of service we get after paying so much ?
The breakfast was tasteless in terms of basic Indian veg food ..We had to make with whatever was offered by the Hotel . The staff was serving generally ,without a warm smile or politeness either , forget about catering to the individual needs of the guests .At times they would get overwhelmed if there would be a rush of people for food .
Overall our experience of this hotel was totally disappointing .. I will definately would go for better options like Oberoi or Four Points Shereton by spending the same amount or little more
than that . One can also think of an accomodation in a service apartment .
The only plus point of this property is its proximity to Indian Veg Food joints like Puranmalka , Rangoli , Mini Punjab and Kamat ,which are all located in and around Meena Bazaar . But one can get a lot of veg food options in Dubai , be it in Malls or other popular tourist spots .
So total thumb down for Royal Ascot ..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devtej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I had been to this hotel after spending 4 nights at the Mariott Harbour Suites, just wanted to live in a different part of Dubai. Needless to say it is not Mariott, however I feel there were more issues that could have been easily taken care of.

Location:
I was disappointed with the location of the hotel, as it is in very old part of Dubai, very close to Mina Bazaar. The view from our room, on the back of the hotel, just made our decision to keep the curtains closed much easier.

Staff
To start of with, while checking into the first room we were assigned, we found that the bed was not made up by housekeeping and it really did give a very bad first impression of the hotel. However the front desk staff was very nice to upgrade us to a Suite room on the 7th floor. Overall our experience with the staff was very nice and probably the best selling point of the hotel.

Rooms:
Visually, our rooms were very clean and neat, however, there is a strange smell that emanates in all the corridors and rooms, representing a place where there is not a lot of ventilation. I was glad our stay at the room was just a single night.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was OK with Indian choices in vegetarian and non vegetarian food items. While the staff was trying their best to keep up the pace with, but with the present of a lot of tours staying over at the hotel, it was a very busy place. Did take some charm out of a relaxing breakfast.

Overall, while the staff was great, I wouldnt personally go back here. It is probably more for Families coming for their first trip overseas and would like a lot of Indian dining and shopping options close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siddpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed here 7 nights as part of a Gate 1 travel package. Our room on the 6th floor was quiet and conveniently located across from the elevators. The location was fine.....we are 60ish women who were totally comfortable walking the area at night and we were happy that the Metro was only 4 blocks away....also found inexpensive shopping at the same corner. The breakfast buffet was always good, however, we were frustrated by the staffs inability to keep the coffee flowing. The coffee in the room was instant, but not horrible....when they left some. The wifi was the biggest disappointment.....we paid one night for an hour and never had a good connection.....even went down to the front desk about it....they took it off our bill when I complained at check out. We received washcloths after we requested them and they were prompt about providing towels when we were lacking. Basically, we got what we paid for and I've stayed in much worse.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shariej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We took a tour through Gate1travel, and we were staying at the Royal Ascot Hotel, we really enjoyed our stay there. They had restaurant at the Roof Top, and the food was amazing, we were staying in the 1 bedroom suite which was excellent and the location was great walking distance to the spice and gold market and the electronic shops.

Room Tip: We were staying at the 1 bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajesh K, Front Office Manager at Royal Ascot Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Your recognition of our product, customization and service is appreciated by all of us.

It is our endeavor to provide our guests with the highest levels of service and comfort to make their stay truly memorable. The hotel’s location is an advantage as we are in the heart of city is convenient for both business and leisure.
Your kind appreciation has been duly conveyed to the team and it’s a great motivation for them.

We look forward to welcome you back soon with us.

Thanks & Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotels location is in slum. Rooms are clean and big and the service was good for the price we payed.

Hotel is noisy and in our non smoking room you could definitely sense the smell of cigarets.
If you decide to wash your laundry here be prepared to pay more than you should and more than beyond any reasonable price.
For around 3kg we payed 150 US$.

We felt our stay at this hotel was nothimg more than OK until our chek-out.
We left with feeling of being ripped off.
We should have checked the price before we handed our clothes to them, but we had done laundry 3 times prior to this and we never payed more than 10 US$.

In the city with so many choices of hotels this should not be your first choice.


Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AmiMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

the hotel is fairly good the rooms are spacious and the room servive is good. the location is very convenient with maany night clubs around like THe Velvet and many Bars , you can buy all the local and cheap stuffs there in the market around . and the Gold Souk is also very close just a Boat ride away which take 2 Dhirams . the hotel has a roof top pool and not so great fitness center . Alcohol bottles are put in your fridge, and on your TV table...which was not nice at all. The hotel has a garage, which was also convenient...though the garage itself is a mess

Room Tip: get a room facing the road , and if you want a WiFi connection which is paid WiFi do get it for 24 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeeshanmehraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Ascot Hotel
#163 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Sea View Hotel
#63 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
The Creek
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ascot Hotel

Property: Royal Ascot Hotel
Address: Khalid Bin Al Waleed Rd | Bur Dubai; 3c Street, 62, Dubai 115160, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#44 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#56 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive Dubai hotel features 11 food outlets, expansive spa facilities and a rooftop swimming pool with city views. It offers free on-site parking and is situated a 5-minute drive from the Burjuman Mall. All guest rooms at Royal Ascot Hotel have high ceilings and are equipped with an LCD TV with satellite channels. The luxury bathrooms feature marble flooring and signature amenities. Among the 11 bars, cafés and restaurants at the Royal Ascot, the Ok Ryu Gwan serves exquisite Korean dishes, while Mehfil specializes in authentic Indian cuisine. Guests can have a massage and then relax at the Chill Spa or sunbathe on the terrace. The Royal Hotel is a 7-minute drive from the popular Sheikh Zayed Road and a 5-minute drive from Dubai Museum. Dubai Creek is 2 km away. Bur Dubai is a great choice for travellers interested in desert, sightseeing and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ascot Hotel Dubai
Hotel Royal Ascot
Royal Ascot Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing