We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind space and total chill time...”
Review of Desert Palm Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palm Dubai
Ranked #204 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mind space and total chill time...”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Totally fab few days at this resort, chilling and getting some much needed down time and some uv light! Staff were un-faultable. Best bit was early morning walks around the polo estate before breakfast, truly awesome. Managed to find another glorious lap pool that no one appears to use! Hotel appeared to be know my favourite type of music, CDs in the room were by my favourite DJ. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xerxes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    61
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
51
161
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our first time to Dubai and we also booked last minute. We found this hotel from Mr and Mrs Smith website, so we know it must be a good hotel. We booked straight from the hotel website because they had a great offer at that time - 4 nights stay including airport transfers, breakfast, 3 course dinner and full body massage for 2 people.

The property was situated quite far from Dubai main attraction but we were glad that we chose this hotel. It's quite serene and very relaxing. The weather was perfect for us, sunny 27C and dry. The staff was very polite and friendly. We stayed in the Palm Suite, very big with sufficient amenities, bed was very comfortable.

The pool area was quite small, breakfast was adequate. The 3 course dinner at the main restaurant was amazing.

On Christmas day, we had a surprise in our a room. A bottle of Bollinger champagne complimentary from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaMew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The grounds look nice upon first glance, but the operation of this hotel leaves much to be desired.

First, some general impressions: the domain is expansive and impressive, and everything is of course horse-themed as the Palm Desert is in effect a huge polo club (400 horses) with residences and a hotel attached. Unfortunately, this means lying poolside is not very enjoyable as there are a lot of flies around all the time. The dining options are mediocre, particularly Epicure. The spa had only one availability for one type of massage (that I don't like) over a three-day stretch, which means they might as well have no spa at all as far as I'm concerned.

Since the resort is quite far away from, well, anywhere, I highly recommend renting a car. If you ask the hotel to arrange taxis they will consistently be 45 minutes to an hour late (which eventually meant we came within 10 minutes of missing our flight when we left).

We reserved a room for three with the understanding that they would put in an extra bed, which we asked for repeatedly on the day we checked in. Close to midnight, we insisted they come immediately as we wanted to go to sleep. They then admitted not having any spare beds, so that one of us had to sleep on the sofa. No apologies for this at all.

The final insult was a big discussion about a dining bill when we checked out, where they tried to get us to pay for expensive Wagyu steaks that we were 100% about we never ordered. A British manager came to tell us we were lying, then removed the charge. Not the way we wanted to be treated considering we were only contesting that part of the huge bill which we considered to be unfair.

In the end, I would recommend coming to take a look here, maybe have a drink when there's a polo match on, but definitely don't stay in the hotel - they've got some work to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ispeakbelgianese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I were in Dubai for christmas due to his working commitments. We decided to book a polo suite for Christmas day. Upon arrival we were told that we had been upgraded to a villa with our own pool. During our short stay we couldn't fault the Duty manager and all the staff who just couldn't do enough and were friendly and courteous at all times. No long faces here because they had to work on Christmas day !
The bath and bed were the biggest I have seen in a hotel.
We ate at Rare and the meal was memorable.
A place to relax and unwind, we couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Polo suites and villa are apparently quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger842taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in November for two nights to celebrate her birthday and we booked a Polo Suite. Upon arrival we were advised that as a gift we would be upgraded to a private villa which was a wonderful surprise. The villa itself was amazing and had it's own private pool. We ate at Rare on the first night and we couldn't fault the service or the food. We had a wonderful time and would definitely return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank darylroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

From check in to checkout this was a memorable and life enhancing experience. Style, quality and subtle ness define this location. A separated bathroom cut off by only a curtain, a wonderful queen bed and all over looking a polo field. A place to relax, unwind and appreciate the decadence at a reasonable price. Tip, eat in Rare, amazing.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Winstone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

we arrived at this resort and were very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. although our room was not ready we were escorted to the spa where we were able to shower and change into our swimwear and taken to the outside pool to relax after a lovely breakfast. the health juice on offer every morning really sets you up for the day. we then fell asleep and were woken when the room was ready. a very pleasant surprise was waiting for us we actually booked into a delux room and the hotel upgraded us to a private villa with a swimming pool. how amazing!!! the manager James was fantastic and Edward and his nutrition knowledge will go far!!! exceptional staff all round. shall return for another relaxing 5 days.

Room Tip: villa with pool we stayed in number 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
19.0 mi away
Arjaan by Rotana
Arjaan by Rotana
#158 of 546 in Dubai
543 reviews
18.6 mi away
Anantara The Palm Dubai Resort
21.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel & Residences Palm Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa Dubai
19.8 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace Dubai
Palazzo Versace Dubai
#27 of 546 in Dubai
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palm Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palm Dubai

Property: Desert Palm Dubai
Address: Al Awir Rd, Dubai 119171, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#106 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#172 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Palm Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Palm Dubai is a boutique retreat with 38 rooms, suites and private pool villas. Set on a private polo estate the property offers two award winning restaurants - RARE and Epicure, an internationally acclaimed LIME Spa and an inviting bar which overlooks one of the four championship sized polo fields and Dubai skyline beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palm Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palm Resort And Spa
Desert Palm Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing