We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good downtown hotel”
Review of Manzil Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manzil Downtown
Ranked #26 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good downtown hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just got back from Dubai after 8 nights here at Al Manzil. Got a very reasonable advanced rate by booking direct with Al Manzil website (though this did not seem to confer any other benefits such as room upgrade).

Arrived mid-afternoon to a large and cool hotel lobby good but not fierce air conditioning. The staff outside were a touch slow to help us with our bags (we noticed that the staffing levels outside seemed to vary from a crowd to non-existent at different times of the day).

Didn't start well as we were told the room we booked was not ready for 30 minutes - we were offered a twin room which we said no to, did try and get a room upgrade but no chance of that! They did say that the room they gave us was quiet. They sat us down and gave us a free tea and latte which was very good. The room was available within 20 minutes or so.

The room itself was 433 - tucked away in a corner. Nice room - large and roomy. Open bathtub in a studio style bathroom. Glass cubicles for toilet and shower. Privacy is not a theme here and I am sure many couples would find this disconcerting. I would not want to share a twin with a friend!!! One plus was the good speed wifi - and the good signal available in the room. Everything worked well in the room and there was room to put water in the mini-bar fridge (though not the coldest fridge).

The sleep quality wasn't the greatest. After 4-5 nights you realise that the mattress is very firm a touch uncomfortable. Also the light streaming through the sides of the roman blinds might wake you if you are not used to light in your rooms (we prefer it to be dark!). The rooms were cleaned daily and they provide 2 bottles of water and tea/coffee everyday which is a real positive. The room was quiet, I suspect that with the extensive building work taking place in the downtown area, certain sides of the hotel will be prone to noise.

The hotel has a nice pool area which serves food and drink. The courtyard is an excellent place to eat with great atmosphere. There is a nice bar restaurant to watch sport events. The little coffee shop makes great coffee (on the expensive side).

It is a good hotel and we were treated well. Room design is a little odd and a couple of comfort issues need to be addressed. Great location for Dubai Mall, Burj Khalifa and downtown is ideal to explore Dubai as it is central - this makes it good value. A worthy option.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - 433 was great for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjayMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear AjayMV,

Thank you for the very detailed review, we really appreciated the time taken to share your thoughts on your recent stay, we always welcome feedback from our guests, as it is one key way for us to improve on the level of service that we provide to our guests.

We also appreciated the additional comments regarding the staffing at the main door, we have shared this with the team. Our apologies that you didn't have the best sleep, I am not sure whether you made any of the team aware? I have a made a note of your preference for a softer matress, so please rest assured you will receive this on your next stay.

Once again, thank you very much for the review, It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,591
    430
    68
    23
    4
See reviews for
294
819
215
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Just spent two nights at the Al Manzil on our way to Europe we are returning there at the end of our holidays to stay another two nights before flying home to Australia, just great cannot complain about anything it is in the best location for the Dubai mall and Restaurants, we had a standard room with a view to the main road, the bed is one of the best we have slept in and i would like to take it home, breakfast was okay choice for hot food was limited but would recommend, staff were fantastic looking forward to our return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerriejh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Kerriejh50,

Thank you for the lovely review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your two nights with us, it's a great way to break up a long journey from Australia.

Enjoy Europe and we look forward to welcoming you back on your way back through.

Best wishes,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Myself, my wife and our 7 month old baby stayed here for 5 nights and would thoroughly recommend it.

The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive, but not over the top. Provided a travel cot and linen for the baby as well as a car seat when we used their hotel cars. While we didn't use it, they had baby sitting available using either hotel staff in your room or through qualified nurses (60 AER per hour for the latter).

We were upgraded to a burj khalifa view room. while this was good of them, i'm not sure it was worth paying extra. Our room was a good size. Arabian notes to the decor. While the open plan bathroom concept may not be to the taste of some, we really liked it. You could turn the television so you could watch it from the big double ended bath if you fancied it! The toilet and shower were in separate cubicles from the rest of the bathroom area.

Location wise the hotel was ideal for most things though not near a beach. 8 min walk from the Dubai mall and no more than 4 if you wanted to watch the dancing fountains (one of the best sights in town and totally free). Lots of restaurants and cafes within walking distance. If you wanted to go into Bur Dubai or Deira for the souks then it was 20-25 mins in a taxi. About the same to the airport. Just slightly more to the resorts in jumeirah. The hotel offered shuttle buses to help you get around as well, but the taxis were so cheap we didn't bother. The hotel car was roomier, but did cost twice as much (still cheap by London standards though). The metro was also useful though a 25 min walk away through the mall.

The courtyard restaurant in the hotel was excellent and very atmospheric in the evenings with the candle light and shisha pipes.

All in all, a great option if you want to explore the town and go shopping though less good if you plan to spend your time on the beach.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Oliver B,

Thank you for the wonderful review, we were delighted to hear that yourself and the family enjoyed staying with us, congratulations on the relatively new addition to the family.

We also appreciated the time taken on your review, we always welcome feedback from our guests and to receive such a detailed review is great.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great location with nice staff. Reasonable rate. What more could you ask for? !
Our room has the perfect view of the Burj, it's adjacent establishments and the boulevard.
The view is really superb and exceptional.
Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vtc1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Vtc1223,

Thank you for your review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time and that all the team took care of you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meilen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

only spent one night at Al Manzil. Like the location, Downtown Dubai, very close to Dubai Fountain, the Burj and Dubai Mall. Literally across the road from these main attraction which are reached by crossing the courtyard of The Palace Hotel which is especially beautiful at night. Mind you, its about 10 foot minutes but well worth walking the distance. Al Manzil Hotel is popular with tourists and locals. Dinner in the beautifully lit courtyard of the hotel is very special and the food nice. Tried my first Shisha pipe.
Room was ok, bed large and good, can easlily sleep three. Bathtub built into the room without separation - looks a bit funny and offers no privacy at all. Luckily there is a shower cubicle and toilet cubicle but again only separated by a glass door. Room is ideal for young couples much in love. Would nevertheless stay there again because of where the hotel is located.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AngelMeilen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear AngelMeilen,

Thank you for the lovely review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights at the Al Manzil and have nothing but positive feedback.

The location is ideal,the staff were extremely helpful,breakfast was excellent with a vast choice, the gym had modern cardio equipment & the pool area was a perfect place to relax after a days shopping.

Highlight of our stay was the Sheisha and mezze plate in the courtyard.Highly recommend the hummus!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KM540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear KM540,

Thank you for the review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your six nights with us and that all the team took care of you. We were also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Shisha and hummus, please let us know when you will be back.

Kind regards ,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked a suite with transfers and breakfasts included and a view of the Burj Khalifa. Perfect from the moment we were picked up at the airport. Great location to walk to Burj, Dubai Mall and restaurants. Amazing breakfast and incredibly helpful staff. Thank you! We hope to return again and will certainly recommend to our friends.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Kind regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#58 of 545 in Dubai
2,058 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#74 of 545 in Dubai
1,943 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#37 of 545 in Dubai
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Taj Dubai
#12 of 545 in Dubai
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzil Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil Downtown

Property: Manzil Downtown
Address: Mohamed Bin Rashid Boulevard | The Old Town, Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114822, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Al Manzil Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubai
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#40 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manzil Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manzil Downtown is an upscale boutique hotel with a contemporary Arabesque design offering engaging service based on Arabic hospitality. Centrally located on Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, the gourmet dining district of downtown Dubai, Manzil Downtown is within walking distance of The Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. The hotel provides a stylised hub for today's social explorers, energised by being at the heart of things, combined with a unique and efficient meeting space for business guests looking to make an impression. Technology is embraced throughout the hotel to facilitate the efficiency, convenience and opportunities demanded by an active, modern life. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manzil Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Manzil Dubai
Al Manzil Hotel Dubai
Hotel Al Manzil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing