We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location in heart of Dubai”
Review of Manzil Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manzil Downtown
Ranked #23 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a pool view room and loved every minute of our stay. From the moment you arrive till you depart you are treated like royalty. Service was impeccable and the variety of eating venues on site plus the worlds biggest mall across the road meant never feeling hungry.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieagent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear aussieagent1

The pool view rooms are often a favorite and I'm glad your 5 nights spent with us were so enjoyable.
Our guests are as good as royalty to us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Stefan Viard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 2,326 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location is good by Dubai standards - 10 minutes' walk from Burj Khalifa or Dubai Mall and Fountain, 25 minutes' walk to the nearest Metro station. The room was very comfortable and convenient - soft bed, room safe, pleasant decor, free Wi-Fi, TV with BBC World etc. A quirky design feature is that the bathtub is in the middle of the room, surrounded on three sides by plain glass, the other side open.
The staff were very professional and efficient. I arrived at 9 a.m., but they had a room available and let me check in immediately.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnbms162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear tnmbs16

I am glad to hear that your early check-in was arranged and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope to welcome back in the future.

Kind regards,
Stefan Viard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

As previous reviews have said, the Al Manzil may not be one of Dubai's most chic and glamorous hotels/resorts, but it is a modern, well-appointed hotel with a nice "Arabian" theme and on a smaller, more human, scale than many of Dubai's mega-hotels. The main oddity is the "open plan" bathroom in which the bathtub and washbasins are in full view of the rest of the room. It is unusual, and makes the room look bigger than it really is, but its a matter of personal taste and we would have preferred a "standard" separate bathroom.

The staff were very helpful, and the breakfast excellent, especially as we could eat it whilst sitting outside in the courtyard. There is also a very convenient mini supermarket in the hotel's own "souk", although we didn't discover it until late in our trip.

All that said, the key advantage for the hotel is its superb location, only a 5 minute walk from the souk al Bahar and beyond that, the Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. There are loads of shops and restaurants in within a safe, short, pleasant walk. We ate in the hotel's courtyard hotel one night (very good, nice relaxed atmosphere and good Middle Eastern food, alcholol served!), and then two times in the various restaurants in the souk al bahar/Dubai Mall, some of which have outdoors seating with views of the Burj and its fountains but none of which serve booze. This in our view was a much better location than either the Creek or the Jumeirah beach if you are staying a few days as a "city break" rather than as a "beach break".

Apart from the unusual bathroom (which we knew about before we went, having read the reviews), the only criticism we have is that of road noise. We asked for a quiet room, and got one more or less above the main entrance to the hotel. This had a small balcony with a side view of the Burj. However, even though this is not actually next to the main road, and the main road isnt all that busy, we could hear road noise for much of the night, especially when the air con was switched off. We suspect that the window glazing was not thick enough to keep out the noise. If (like us) you are a light sleeper, a room facing inwards towards the courtyard would probably be quieter.

Dubai itself is a strange place, but we would seriously consider a return to the Al Manzil if we ever came back.

Room Tip: Get one facing the courtyard to avoid road noise if you are a light sleeper, although you would miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Townsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Townsiders

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I trust that the staff certainly would have tried to accommodate your room request should availability have permitted. You have also suggested additional areas that I will look into regarding the road noise.
I am glad that you intend on staying with us again should you return, and I hope we are able to welcome you back to Dubai in the future.

Kind regards,

Stefan Viard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked Al Manzil Hotel by myself, and starting from the first emails, the staff was always very efficient and extremely polite. Once we got to Dubai, I was extremely happy with my choice. The position is great - only a few minutes walk to Dubai Mall in a very nice area. We got a Burj Khalifa view room which I think was worth it. All the staff was extremely helpful. We were very happy with the car service to and from the airport. We also took a 6-hour private car tour of Dubai arranged by the hotel, who took us to all the important places and had us discover the city, as it was the first time for us. In the Conservatory Restaurant we had a buffet lunch upon arrival, and also buffet breakfast - delicious and very varied!! The rooms were beautiful, and interesting with the mid-room bathtubs. My son appreciated the fitness room and the pool. We hope to go to Dubai again soon and we would definitely pick Al Manzil Hotel for our next stay.

Room Tip: A Burj Khalifa view room adds to the fascinating atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielaAvitabile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear DanielaAvitabile

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Dubai. It sounds like you had a great visit to our wonderful desert city and we do hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind regards,

Stefan Viard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Even though the Hotel is located just right at the boulevard with a great view over the Burj Khalifa, its calm and quite.The Hotel offeres a nice pool area, charming rooms with open bathtubs located in the middle of the room. The TV can be turned and one can watch ether form the bed or while having a bath. Funny and a change for once! The room service is surprising fast and reasonable priced and unlike many places, the food was still properly hot when it arrived. The boulevard cafe is a nice place to have breakfast. The serve things like bagel with salmon and egg benedict with ham and sauce hollandaise. Very good!
The rooms come with free (and rather fast) internet.
Dubai mall, Souk al Bahar and the fountain are just 5 min walk away from the Hotel.
The stuff is multi national and very nice.

Its a beautiful Hotel just next to the old town of Dubai. Great place and I will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Burj Khalifa view. The middle east still offers smoking and non smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Sebastian W

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the unique features that our hotel rooms offer, as well as the great meals at Boulevard Cafe.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I do hope to see you back with us soon.

Kind regards,

Stefan Viard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel has a nice arabian flair, a great breakfast buffet, a relaxing pool area, very nice rooms with open bathrooms and is ideally located to the Dubai Mall and the Burji Kalifa. It's quiet, well maintained and the staff was very helpful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Silvia F
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality during your stay.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the staff could not have been more helpful and it was spotlessly clean. The bath in the bedroom was novel but overall a very good room. The location is excellent for downtown Dubai with easy access to the main main sights and the Dubai mall.
We did not eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACF196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear ACF196

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotels proximity to attractions. I hope on your next visit that you will have a chance to try one of our many delicious eateries.

Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#52 of 561 in Dubai
2,198 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#67 of 561 in Dubai
2,406 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#40 of 561 in Dubai
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#72 of 561 in Dubai
2,244 reviews
Taj Dubai
#12 of 561 in Dubai
1,723 reviews
Downtown Dubai
DAMAC Maison Dubai Mall Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzil Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil Downtown

Address: Mohamed Bin Rashid Boulevard | The Old Town, Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114822, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Al Manzil Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $176 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manzil Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manzil Downtown is an upscale boutique hotel with a contemporary Arabesque design offering engaging service based on Arabic hospitality. Centrally located on Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, the gourmet dining district of downtown Dubai, Manzil Downtown is within walking distance of The Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. The hotel provides a stylised hub for today's social explorers, energised by being at the heart of things, combined with a unique and efficient meeting space for business guests looking to make an impression. Technology is embraced throughout the hotel to facilitate the efficiency, convenience and opportunities demanded by an active, modern life. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Manzil Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Manzil Dubai
Al Manzil Hotel Dubai
Hotel Al Manzil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing