We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon proof thus mystical and romantic! Also centrally situated.”
Review of Manzil Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manzil Downtown
Ranked #30 of 547 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Honeymoon proof thus mystical and romantic! Also centrally situated.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Dear readers,

We have been there for a couple of days in the 1st week of October for our honeymoon, after being to the Seychelles. This hotel is centrally based, right in front of the Burj al Khalifa, next to the Address hotel (go to Neos Cocktail bar, top floor) and 5 min from the fountains (must see show! every 30 min in the evening till 11pm.).

The hotel Al Manzil is very romantic, the people and facilities are extremely modern and high tech, however, the ambiance and food is rustic and romantic. You feel like pampered when you see the bomboniere corner with different teas, the American Footbal cafe when you just want to hang out and drink a beer and escape from the heath. There is also a courtyard, with a Lebanese in-house restaurant, accesible for non hotel guests as well, but hotel guests are 'preferred' guests.

Breakfast is wonderful, just wonderful! You are in for a treat! Dont forget the smoothies and deserts.

As for the room, we were kinda upgraded to a nice suite, since we were on a honeymoon and all. This suite had a nice view of the Burj al Khalifa. Btw it was room 409.
I liked that they were very smart about using the space so effectively. The shower and toilet are separated from the bedroom by a milky glass door, but it actually was just one big room. The bed and bathroom is all together, there is no other door. In the beginning kinda strange, but everything is super clean and new and beautifully decorated that you dont actually care. The windows are huge and the view is great.
If i could change something then I would have wanted a bigger room.

All in all, the hotel was not 60 floor high something you see a lot in Dubai, and we dont like that.You still want to feel like everything is tailor made for you. When they call you by your last name where ever you go in the hotel, is what we care about more. That special feeling when you dont have to wait to get advice or help or whatever you need.
Definitely a hotel i would recommend. I would give it a 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Monica S,
Your high praise is truly heart-warming and I am honoured to be able to share it with my team. Thank you for choosing to stay at Al Manzil Hotel on the special occasion of your honeymoon, I am very happy to hear that we managed to exceed your expectations with regards to service, location, dining options and facilities.
We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,616
    439
    70
    24
    4
See reviews for
304
824
221
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coomera, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world and quite frankly I am pretty fussy and conservative with my rating but I could not fault the Al Manzil Hotel at all....from the courteous and friendly check in staff, a concierge team who couldn't do enough for us, to the rest of the friendly staff they made us very welcome and especially made a fuss of my two year old boy. We enjoyed breakfast and a room service meal both of which were excellent and was only sorry we could not have dinner in the Courtyard which looked amazing at night. location fantastic right near the Burj Khalifa with a short (mainly under cover) walk to the Dubai Mall. Very stylish, modern but Middle Eastern as opposed to a hotel that could have been anywhere...I liked the bathroom within the bedroom but it might pose an issue if you were just friends travelling together or a very private person..but personally I loved it. We had a great view, nice early check-in (arrived at 9am and our room was ready after 40 minutes - they gave us complimentary sweets and coffee whilst we waited and i used their business centre free of charge)..I can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: ask for the ones with the view of the worlds tallest building...it's amazing at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Natalie N,

thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated and I will make sure to share your high praise with the Reception and Concierge teams. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, décor, room layout and the view of Burj Khalifa from your room. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, and that on your next visit you will have the chance to enjoy the magic of The Courtyard restaurant.

Kind regards
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Room was nicely appointed, staff was excellent, great facilities and close to Dubai Mall - would highly recommend. The pool area was great and although we checked out at noon we were allowed to use the facilities until 7 until our car took us to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Jayne015,

thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback, I will make sure to relay the same to my team. I am happy to hear that you found our location convenient and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our facilities.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind regards
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've been to Dubai more than 20 times, and this time I was not impressed. At the time of check in, we weren't asked about the smoking or nonsmoking room and the reason was that no nonsmoking room was available. Therefore they gave us a smoking room. The room was so smelly that asked for a different room, whenever possible. After few hours, they gave us the only nonsmoking room which was available. It was a room for disabled people.
The room was right over the entrance and was very noisy. The sound of super sport cars was annoying. Since part of bathroom wall was in glass, if you turn on the light at night, you will wake up your roommate. Bathroom sink was very small and inconvenient. The minibar wasn't working. I told them, and they fixed it. It wasn't fixed and then they change it. The new minibar also wasn't working and I just gave-up. The TV was small too.
The breakfast quality was fine. But one day we were asked four times about our room number! There is a clear lack of training for the staff.
The pool was small and not impressive. The location was nice and very close to Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa.
At the time of checkout the manager showed up. He was a nice gentleman, but we had nothing to ask him.
Overall this hotel is very expensive for a 4 star hotel, and so overrated. A five star hotel close to this price range is a better choice.

Room Tip: The rooms with pool's view are quieter because you don't have the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hamid878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Hamid1972, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for your positive views on our location. I sincerely apologize that your experience wasn’t up to our usual standard. We do try our best to ensure that every guest get their preferred room type and I am sorry that on this occasion we couldn’t provide you with a non-smoking room upon check in. Out of necessity the layout of our special needs rooms are different to the other rooms, but I do regret that it did not meet your approval.

We do hope that you will return again so that we may have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great Hotel just a 5 minute walk to the Dubai Mall. We only stayed for a two night stop over and whilst we booked a room with a king bed the room was not available on our arrival, however they advised that they would move us the next day, which they did without fuss. The staff at the hotel are very professional and attentive, nothing is too much bother.
Both rooms where clean and roomy. The rooms are set out a bit different as there is no wall dividing the bathroom from the bedroom. Clear glass around the bath and frosted glass around the shower and toilet nothng else. Only issue would be if you are in the shower and someone comes to the door they may be able to see your shadow from the door. Other than that we could not fault our room or the service.
We did have breakfast at the hotel which had a good selection, unfortunately the hot food items, such as baked beans, mushrooms and sausages etc. were cold, except for the eggs which were cooked as requested.
Free WiFi was a bonus which worked well during our stay. The Swimming pool was also clean and the pool attendant was also courteous and helpful. We enjoyed our stop over and If you are looking for a nice hotel for a quick stop over in Dubai then we would recommend this hotel as it should should meet your needs. Just be aware of the breakfast issue.

Room Tip: Both room we had were of the same standard. One overlooked the side of the hotel the second room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Yolmac,

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay with us during your recent visit to Dubai. On behalf of the entire Al Manzil team I would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding the hotel, location and staff.

I do apologise for the cold breakfast items. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard and I will make sure it is looked into.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed on numerous occasions over the years. Nice to be in what feels like a smaller hotel. Great location in downtown dubai with good view of sky scrapers and just over from Mall. Rooms are good - recommend a view over the skyline if possible. Fitness club is not in hotel - a two minute walk to an independent club. Local Mall isn't much but has some basics. Everytime hotel has been welcoming and accommodating.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking main road gets best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleEnglandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear MiddleEnglandMan,

Thank you for taking the time to review Al Manzil Hotel. Your positive comments on our location and service standards are much appreciated and I will make sure to share the same with my team.

While there is a fitness club located close to the hotel we do also have a small fitness centre with all the essential equipment located conveniently inside the hotel on the 1st floor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our second visit in three years and just as good now that it is under a different management company. It is like a small boutique hotel with a small intimate feel. We made use of the pool which was hardly used (possibly because it was so hot outside in September). The previous visit we had enjoyed wonderful breakfasts, coffee in the coffee shop/cafe and the pool at the health club next door but didn't have time this visit. The hotel is attatched to a health club and very small parade of shops including a handy supermarket. In the centre of the hotel is a courtyard with waiter service which is very popular at night with hotel residents and locals alike as they have a smoking section with staff assisting with shisha pipes there is also a non smoking section of the courtyard.

The location was ideal for us. We could get from the airport easily by the skytrain and it was a short pleasant walk to through the Souk al Bahar where there are nice shops and restaurants to the Dubai Mall (world's biggest mall) where there are loads of restaurants and the Burj Khalifa (world's tallest free standing tower). We convieniently picked up the Big Bus Company tour bus from the mall too.

The rooms and general feel of the hotel retain a traditional and sophisticated Arabic feel. We slept really well as the bed was so comfortable. In the room there were two free bottles of water replenished daily and each night chocolates were left on our pillows after the complimentary turn down service. We were able to check in early for no extra cost which was a great blessing given our overnight flight and early morning arrival from the UK. The hotel sent up some truffles for being repeat guests and a lovely anniversary cake on our wedding anniversary. We went to the Address Hotel (next to Dubai Mall) for drinks one night and as lovely and stylish as it was preferred the intimate Arabic feel of the Al Manzil rather than the corporate annominity of the vast Address.

We would love to return and love this smaller hotel and location as we find it can be quite isolated when down at Jumeirah Beach which isn't the nicest beach in the world. The proximity to the Dubai Mall ensures that you never run out of places to eat, things to see and there are more locals rather than feeling that you are in a prodominantly tourist only area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_A_Traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan V, General Manager at Manzil Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear B_A_Traveller04,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your comments on our property and services are very much appreciated and I am fortunate enough to have the opportunity to share you feedback with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Stefan Viard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Vida Downtown
Vida Downtown
#59 of 547 in Dubai
2,078 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#71 of 547 in Dubai
1,988 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#38 of 547 in Dubai
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Taj Dubai
#11 of 547 in Dubai
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzil Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil Downtown

Property: Manzil Downtown
Address: Mohamed Bin Rashid Boulevard | The Old Town, Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114822, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Al Manzil Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubai
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#40 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manzil Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manzil Downtown is an upscale boutique hotel with a contemporary Arabesque design offering engaging service based on Arabic hospitality. Centrally located on Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, the gourmet dining district of downtown Dubai, Manzil Downtown is within walking distance of The Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. The hotel provides a stylised hub for today's social explorers, energised by being at the heart of things, combined with a unique and efficient meeting space for business guests looking to make an impression. Technology is embraced throughout the hotel to facilitate the efficiency, convenience and opportunities demanded by an active, modern life. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manzil Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Manzil Dubai
Al Manzil Hotel Dubai
Hotel Al Manzil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing