We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything”

Leopold's of London The Beach Dubai
Ranked #692 of 9,624 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $13 - $54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Marina
Description: A Cafe during the day, a Brasserie at night, Leopold's of London offers hearty delicious food, extraordinary coffee and inspirational tea. Leopold's of London is one of a kind, we are thinking ahead and developing the future of the modern cafe. We offer more than any other in terms of products and experience. Leopold's of London has food selected from all around the world, the most advanced coffee brewing methods available today. We even have our own coffee laboratory experience. Tea served at Leopold's of London is exceptional. We focus on quality and guest impression, come to Leopold's of London and be amazed.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Location is everything”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This place is right on the beach in the new mall that is part of The Walk. They do a nice job of not being too beachy. They have plenty of shades patio space and the service is good. I liked the food and it is very well presented. I would not go there for the food but if you find yourself in that area then why not. Inside is very loud and crowded. In that way very much like London.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaredDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    96
    59
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced tourist trap”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Located in the heart of The Beach, Dubai's new beach-shopping-dinning-cinema complex, Leopold's will have no shortage of customers over the next few months. I doubt they'll have many repeat customers though.
Ordered fish and chips for 75 dirhams and received two glorified fish fingers and a bucket of hand-cut (and admittedly delicious) chips. Water for 20 dhs per bottle. Blatant rip-off-clearly they're making customers pay for the rent (Leopold has a prime location on The Beach) rather than the food itself. Rather disappointed, as there are ever so many options in JBR offering value-for-money. Would recommend this maybe for a light brunch, but not a full-on meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Omar1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointed on two visits!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Opening a new venue in a big city like Dubai is comparable to London, New York, Los Angeles. If this place opened with the same quality of Management and service they will not last very long once the hipe of its opening passes, this may take a year or so in Dubai as its still a small and growing city, but as competitive as the greats.

To start with and to be very fair I visited this place twice on a Friday morning for breakfast. The hostess was a sweat and helpful lady and she forfilled her role and position well, even going above and beyond when the wait staff never showed up to our table. Once we ordered the food came out at a reasonable time but the staff had come back twice to repeat and confirm our order. You could clearly see there was confusion running wild everywhere. This was within the first week of its opening. The food was well cooked and we were happy with that.

Two weeks later we returned and we're greeted by the same hostess who got us a nice table right away and she was visibly tired from running around carrying the weight of the incompetent wait staff and of course management who just stood and watched the chaos.

After being sat we waited approximately 20min until we flagged down someone who we thought was our waiter as no one did anything or introduced themselves even though we walked by us several times.

After ordering approximately 30min had gone by again and still no drinks or coffee, mind you we were sitting out doors in Dubai weather of about 34deg at the beach with humidity and two children with us. When we became inpatient I approached a manager to ask what was the delay for when the table next to us who sat down 10-15min after us had already received their drinks and food. His reply was blank faced and at the same momment 50% of our order was placed on the table, so he said "there you are", I turned away and sat down to find that the kids food had come first which was great as they were getting irritable without breakfast going on 1130am!

We continued to wait another 10-15min longer as bits of our order arrived in waves, which makes it very difficult to do anything. Toast was served burnt and for a 20aed for two slices it better be very good bread which it was not. They also didn't bring the jams with it like we are paying for, nor were any of the dishes consistent with what we had the last visit. My side of sausages were four last visit and came as three this visit and they also arrived last and not fully cooked.

The lack of organization and caring for the guests is very clear at this establishment and just because they have a prime location on the beach does not give them the right to be arrogant and just passive on the quality of service, guest experience, and overall lack of attention to detail.

I would not recommend this place until they get things straight and prove it. Living in Dubai for 15 years I have seen many come and go. I hope they will pick up the slack quickly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrTarekTawil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A real disappointing experience”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Arriving at the Leopold, we were impressed by the contemporary design and you might think you made the right choice but don't be fooled by the looks:

We sat down about 12:00 noon at the location and the place seemed to be busy but not full. It took us about 10 to 15 minutes to get recognized by a waiter which we were fine with it at the beginning however the big surprise came when we wanted to order our drinks.

The waiter informed us that they run out of still water and offered us large sparling water and took our drink orders and our food orders. We requested from the waiter that we would like to have our starters at least 10 minutes later. However we received half our starters with half of our drinks and the other half of the starters arrived cold or 15 minutes later than other starters. We had to send back the soup as it was between cold to warm temperature.

If you are wondering if we received the sparkling water or not, the answer is no but we did receive still water just 10 minutes before left which they claimed they did not have still water when we sat down.

While we were sitting, we received 3 times double order as there was a massive miscommunication between the service staff and kitchen staff. The staff appeared over stretched and incapable of handling what was obviously a major communication breakdown further up the management chain.

I order a cheesecake and received my cheesecake 30 minutes after I was done with my main course however it took me 4 reminders to the waiter and talking to manager twice.

The whole experience from arrival to departure was absolutely disaster.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelSens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must for breakfast on the JBR”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Yes, the service is a little off here - Drinks can take ages - but Leopolds have the best Eggs Benedict. Its very reasonably priced and is in a great location. I get the impression that the staff are trying and are very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leopold's of London The Beach Dubai also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Leopold's of London The Beach Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing