We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Qamardeen”
Review of Vida Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vida Downtown
Ranked #61 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We arrived at this hotel 9am after leaving the cruise ship Queen Victoria. We were pleasantly suprised that the continued 5 star service was also available at the Quardeen Hotel!!! We were greeted by staff serving freshments.. We were able to go to our room immediately .

This hotel was a dream. Everything and everyone were wonderful. The welcome and the surroundings were lovely. We could not wish for anything more. the breakfast was expensive but a huge variety of choice and service perfect.

I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone. I only hope that it is not too long before we are able to return to Dubia and stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vermont66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,122)
There are newer reviews for Vida Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,592 - 1,598 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

I base all of my hotel reservations on Tripadvisor reviews and my recent stay at the Qamardeen was no exception. Since I am from the USA but currently working in Iraq I met my wife in Dubai for a week long holiday. The Qamardeen and it's staff exceeded my expectations in every way. The hotel is beautiful and and in a great location. The staff are some of the most friendly and helpful I have ever met. There really is no negative worth mentioning about this hotel. In other reviews some people complained the pool not getting sunshine long enough or the rooms having clear glass showers. I loved the exoticness of the showers and the chiq rooms. As for the pool sure it could be in the sun a little longer, but it was never an issue, and a few hours of the Dubai sun is more than enough. If you want an amazing hotel that will insure you have a great stay with the the convenience of the Dubai Mall I highly recommend you stay at the Qamardeen.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripleaelectric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Excellent hotel with friendly and extremely helpful staff. Spotlessly clean rooms and public areas. Lovely atmosphere, very welcoming. Contrary to a previous review, there was a hairdryer, located in a drawer so perhaps not obvious to anyone who didn't read the welcome pack or explore the room thoroughly. Food in restaurant was good. Pool area was nicely laid-out tho more sun-beds would be welcome. Walking distance from Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa with excellent and huge selection of shops. Taxis readily available to explore other locations. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

My Husband and I had spent a week in the Maldives and finished off our vacation with a 4 night stay in Dubai at the Qamardeen Hotel. What a great choice of a hotel. We had never experienced such an amazing staff; helpful, curteous, friendly and attentive. The food was great. John, the General Manager, greeted us when we arrived and was never to busy to say hello. They had a coffee and pasty corner in the foyer that was open 24 hours.We have been to several hotels and have never experience this type of quality. Everyone is happy and get great joy from working there.

Suzanne & Yves

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leidschendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Arrived at 0900 and after the date and juice welcome we were in our room by 0905. No fuss, no problems. Location is no longer a problem for the hotel as it is just a ten minute walk to the Dubai Mall through wide pavements, lit palm trees and the Alhambra like entrance to the Palace Hotel. Soon development in the area will be complete and prices are likely to rise as the Old Town becomes the place to stay.

Breakfast is fine, although tea could be hotter. We only had an evening meal on our last night and it was outstanding. Our travels took us to other hotels and we appreciated the serene calm on our return to the Qamardeen.

Many guests were upset by the lack of sun-loungers, but as early risers we enjoyed the triumph of bagging a pair of chairs. The pool attendant, the most important man in the hotel, offers loungers at siseter hotel the Al Manzil, but surely the answer would be to put some loungers in the supremely well-kept gardens?

We were in the UAE to watch our son play cricket in some remote locations. Not only did the staff help us to get taxi drivers who knew where they were going they also wanted updates on every game!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waybackOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed here just for 1 night, as it was a stop over before going to Malasyia. Arrived in Dubai early in the morning and the check in time was the usual 14:00, but the Hotel staff were so friendly they allowed me to check in at 09:00am.

The location is very close to the Dubai Mall (the biggest shopping mall in the world) and the hotel is just a stone throw away from the Burj Khalifah.

I am planning to go to Dubai again later in the year and will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wh2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This was a great hotel. Quite small on the Dubai scale but it had such a personality. It actually felt like you were in an Arabian country and not just another standard hotel room where you could be in any city in the world.

Rooms are spacious and have a funky design to them. The bathrooms do not give much privacy so may be a little awkward if travelling with a friend but blinds do pull down so its not a big drama. We had room service once and the food was beautiful! We had chocolate dipped strawberries waiting for us when we checked in as well which was a very nice touch.

Great location next to Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. Free scheduled shuttle to lots of main attractions aswell.

Overall a really great find - I would definitely stay in this one again and would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Callie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#28 of 554 in Dubai
2,228 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#67 of 554 in Dubai
2,145 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#39 of 554 in Dubai
2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Downtown Dubai
Address Dubai Mall
Address Dubai Mall
#92 of 554 in Dubai
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Downtown

Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#56 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $171 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Downtown (previously Qamardeen Hotel) takes shape as six floors of fresh, urban styling with bright, airy private and public spaces. Sitting in the Old Town precinct of Dubai just a short walk from Burj Khalifa, eclectic souks, The Dubai Mall and The Dubai Fountain, and a short drive from, The Dubai International Financial Centre, the airport and beaches. This is, literally, the place to be. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vida Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamardeen Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing