We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed rating”
Review of Vida Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vida Downtown
Ranked #60 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mixed rating”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We arrived at this newly rebranded hotel in Down town Burj Khalifa area , previously named Qamardeen hotel I haven't been to this hotel since than . new design and rooms fully re-designed to fit more a European style , talking about arrival experience , arriving on a Friday can be a night mare both for guests and receptionist staff , we arrived at 2.45 pm , we booked 3 rooms and we were informed that rooms can only be available as of 3 pm which we hoped for it to happen , you have to note that on Friday its a weekend and guests on that day tend in majority to ask for late check out which by than will delay your check in process until 4 and 5 pm which I believe management has to find a solution as also our rooms categories had to be changed based on what is available , I have to compliment the friendliness , efforts and sincerity of all the pretty and helpful female FO teams who really went extra mile to help in allocations and ensuring that we do not get more disappointed , however delays are basically in cleaning and releasing the rooms.

Rooms were ok , not so big in size but around 32 sqm I would say , bathroom and shower units separately located in a smart way to make best use of space in the room . after check in we went out for a walk and decided to have dinner in the nearby exceptionally tasty and crowded mezza house , back in hotel late , bed was comfortable and had a good sleep . next day breakfast which I have to say its the most elegantly laid out buffets with all cold items basically and bread selection , main course items to be ticked off from a small menu card on your table and comes in big portions so better not to chose a lot otherwise you end up with a lot of leftover .

Pool is nice but limited in space if you come after 10 am you might not get a sunbed , the main issue is that the place is hidden so you cant enjoy the sun for too long , only few hours a day 10 am -2 pm than sun will disappear.

Same pool area transformed into nice shisha lounge with disco style music at night and was popular.

the only reason to stay in this city hotel would be to enjoy the walk to Dubai mall , but basically we would rather prefer a beach resort which we will do for next stays .

would recommend this place for business stay.

Room Tip: Don't bother to ask a pool view or Garden view, as Garden view overlook the construction of a ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDubai68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hello TDubai68,

Thank you for the detailed review, we were delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I am sorry for the delay getting you into your room, however was pleased to hear that the team took good care of you. We will certainly take your feedback onboard and look at possible solutions to avoid these delays.

Once again, thank you for coming to visit us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Downtown.

Kind regards,

Daniel Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,513
    435
    76
    35
    19
See reviews for
264
693
202
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at Qmardeen more than once. The hotel is new, great position, the service is good and the room rate is not bad compared with other solutions. The hotel has a garage with concierge service, a nice swimmingpool and it is reachable by walk from the dubai mall

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi Nicola D,

Thank you for the wonderful review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the new look and style of the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Daniel Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Quite a pleasant stay and location but be sure not to get rooms next to the elevator as it will bother you all night. Also be advised that even if they said printing is complementary on arrival they charged me 5 AED per page after i printed. Not much but really not a "rip-off" you would expect in a four star hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aRadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi aRadu,

Thanks for the great review, we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, however please accept my apologies for the noise from the elevator. I also appreciated your comments regarding the printing and we will re-look at our pricing.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Kind regards,

Daniel Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a great Hotel. We arrived late afternoon after travelling 15 hours from the land down-under and were greeted with drinks, courtesy and professionalism. Our room was beautiful, clean and a generous size which made our 4 x night stay very comfortable. The staff, all young and energetic and willing to please were fantastic with nothing a problem.

Breakfast was very nice with happy smiles all round !!!!

Our overall rating against our other accommodation on this trip (5 star). Well done Team.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10_Ozzie_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
G'day OzzieJeff_12,

Thanks for the fantastic review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that all the team took great care of you, especially after such a long journey.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Warm regards,

Daniel Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a deluxe room with pool view. The room was spacious enough for a couple. The bed was very comfortable. There was a small balcony where you could see the Burj Khalifa. However, we did not like the layout of the room. The toilet was at the corner of the room right next to the main door. There was only an opaque glass door to it that gives you little privacy. The toilet seat looked a bit dated. The open-plan bathroom again offers you little privacy. Water got out of the shower cabin every time you took a shower and the floor got wet.

The design of the hotel is stylish and so is the staff but they were not very helpful. You might not even be able to tell who works there when you first arrived at the hotel because the staff won’t greet you or take the initiative to see what they could help you with. They just stood there and talked to each other. It almost seemed that they didn’t really care about the guests.

The location of the hotel is quite good. It takes 15 minutes to walk to the Dubai Mall and the Burj Khalifa.

It cost 1400 AED per night. It was not worth the money in view of the average service. We will look for another hotel if we return to Dubai.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello MidcoVincent,

Thank you for your review, I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

In regards to your comments about our bathrooms, they are an open plan design which may not suit everyone tastes, however in regards to the comments about some of the fixtures looking dated, we will be replacing these in the coming months.

We were very concerned to hear your feedback about the service, we place very high standards on the level of service that we deliver to our guests and I can assure you your comments will be shared with the team.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail, if you could please contact me on dkingston@vida-hotels.com.

Thank you again for your review, I can assure you we will take action and I look forward to speaking with you.

Warm regards,

Daniel Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Elegant, cozy, stylish. The check in is seated in a lounge with warm hand towels and fresh fruit juice (very appropriate after a 14 hour flight). Kind and professional staff, good bedroom (luckily mine had a view to Burj Khalifa), very comfortable goose feather pillows and covers. Excellent location (10 minute walk to Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa - 20 minute walk to the metro station). Very good breakfast but a little expensive to my budget - US$ 35 per person. The detail-orientation filosophy makes this hotel more of a boutique hotel. Excellent cost-benefit relation. Definetely coming back.

Obs: they have recently revamped and renamed the hotel. The taxi driver was not aware of the name Vida, but the former name, Qamardeen. Visited October-2013.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi Joe f,

Thanks for the great review, I was delighted to hear that the team took great care of you, especially after a 14 hour flight, ouch!

We apprectiate the feedback regarding the taxi's, we have notified the company of the new name, however will follow up once more.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dubai.

Warm regards,

Daniel Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent hotel from all angles
Junior Suite most pleasant, very clean with high quality bedding.
A short walking distance from Dubai Mall facilities, the in-house French restaurant is worth a detour...
Will certainly come again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMG780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Vida Downtown, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi JMG780,

Thank you for the great review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will be back.

See you soon.

Best regards,

Daniel Kingston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Downtown Dubai
Manzil Downtown
Manzil Downtown
#29 of 546 in Dubai
2,152 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
Ramada Downtown Dubai
#73 of 546 in Dubai
1,986 reviews
Downtown Dubai
Palace Downtown
Palace Downtown
#38 of 546 in Dubai
2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
The Address Downtown Dubai
Taj Dubai
#12 of 546 in Dubai
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vida Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Downtown

Property: Vida Downtown
Address: Mohammed Bin Rashid Boulevard, The Old Town | Downtown Dubai, Dubai 114788, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > Downtown Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dubai
#26 Family Hotel in Dubai
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vida Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vida Downtown (previously Qamardeen Hotel) takes shape as six floors of fresh, urban styling with bright, airy private and public spaces. Sitting in the Old Town precinct of Dubai just a short walk from Burj Khalifa, eclectic souks, The Dubai Mall and The Dubai Fountain, and a short drive from, The Dubai International Financial Centre, the airport and beaches. This is, literally, the place to be. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vida Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamardeen Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing